BREAKING: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam announces intention to run for Singapore's presidency.

Tohto

On 6/12/2023 at 8:33 PM, Tohto said:

Too far off, how to even qualify. Pappies set the ceiling in flavor for themselves. 

No need to have any PE lah, waste money and people time. Just appoint one easier. 

I give up hope for my extra PH already.

Yeah. You think Milo gao can run a big company on her own? The "qualification" is highly skewed towards their own people.

On 6/13/2023 at 9:57 AM, Stratovarius said:

Yeah. You think Milo gao can run a big company on her own? The "qualification" is highly skewed towards their own people.

That was literally a farce la… to prevent tcb from

running…. The fear that is in them

On 6/12/2023 at 6:43 PM, Tkseah said:

Yeah.. vote George for president!!!

Got Harvey Norman presidential sale to sweeten the ground? Asking for fren looking to buy PS5

On 6/13/2023 at 9:18 AM, Kxbc said:

so George = 13177?

13177 super sub for Jurong GRC liao

Never believe in what the politicians say but only on what they eventually do...also don't be too concern on who's who contesting who...always remain focused on what really matters to you...😁

FB_IMG_1686571355673.jpg

On 6/13/2023 at 8:40 AM, Fcw75 said:

You are right, was too excited. Foolish me…

I think it’s more like he’s probably in the circLEE too.

If he’s not in the circle then he will probably not get his COE.

And on Sunday, Tharnan said he would like some contest then Monday this guy stepped out and say he will be running. 🙄

Oh well, at least we get a PH.

I would say look at how KFC "win" despite being rejected by 70%. If there had been a second round.... he'd probably be lucky to get even 25% vote. So we got a president no one wanted... but held great powers over us.

The tactic is 1 "approved" candidate,  with several "undesirable" one. This way,  vote split will ensure good chance for the one approved candidate. Our SPH will let us know who is the one. 

That's why a 2 round format is needed. Tharman is a respectable performer but it's not about him, the same cannot be said of the system.

On 6/13/2023 at 12:10 PM, Playtime said:

I would say look at how KFC "win" despite being rejected by 70%. If there had been a second round.... he'd probably be lucky to get even 25% vote. So we got a president no one wanted... but held great powers over us.

The tactic is 1 "approved" candidate,  with several "undesirable" one. This way,  vote split will ensure good chance for the one approved candidate. Our SPH will let us know who is the one. 

That's why a 2 round format is needed. Tharman is a respectable performer but it's not about him, the same cannot be said of the system.

2 round format is a waste of time and money.

Winner takes all is the correct way

one brave soul/. he also know outcome

hope he get back his deposit. if he qualifies

Cover-image-20.png

thank for the PH 🙂

353824283_644376274403775_43894876207101

Edited by Vidz

On 6/13/2023 at 1:02 PM, inlinesix said:

2 round format is a waste of time and money.

Winner takes all is the correct way

i disagree.

KFC is the perfect example of how an "election" is totally opposite of what people want. Unless we say the position is useless, then never mind.

want to do an election  for Prez, do it properly or dont do. 

On 6/13/2023 at 1:45 PM, Playtime said:

i disagree.

KFC is the perfect example of how an "election" is totally opposite of what people want. Unless we say the position is useless, then never mind.

With 95% votes casted, KFC won by margin 7k.

The message from this election is ppl don't want any one from previously PAP.

Unfortunately, the rest of the candidate split the vote.

Having 2 rounds of Presidential Election is really waste of time and resources in a winner take all system (Our parliament also like that hor)

On 6/13/2023 at 1:45 PM, Playtime said:

i disagree.

:grin:

@Actan72 I have faith...even tho I'm like you...TCB is one that has instilled faith in me...white or otherwise, when it's time to right the wrong...do the right thing...😁

On 6/13/2023 at 1:51 PM, inlinesix said:

With 95% votes casted, KFC won by margin 7k.

The message from this election is ppl don't want any one from previously PAP.

Unfortunately, the rest of the candidate split the vote.

Having 2 rounds of Presidential Election is really waste of time and resources in a winner take all system (Our parliament also like that hor)

I belive the raw results explains better. The loser actually given the crown. 

Screenshot_20230613-135847_Chrome.jpg

On 6/13/2023 at 2:06 PM, Playtime said:

I belive the raw results explains better. The loser actually given the crown. 

Screenshot_20230613-135847_Chrome.jpg

In a winner takes all system, the other 3 candidates are losers.

We are in a winner takes all system.