BREAKING: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam announces intention to run for Singapore's presidency.

Tohto

On 8/30/2023 at 8:17 AM, Soya said:

Walter Woon for President!

Heavily edited...i tink I'd switch channel by 2 minutes mark if watch unedited in realtime...my boss also talk very very slow these days...processor spins slow liao...meeting with him is a dreadful thing...😂

Also...one on one fight may not produce a "at least 50%" winner...must factor in the votes in rubbish bin...1% also can win a 0.8% when 98.2% wasted their chances...😁

Interestingly I think there is an increasing number of voters switching from intending to spoil their votes to the only candidate who kena hammered by the media.

On 8/30/2023 at 9:06 AM, Throttle2 said:

basically, the act of low class people.  PLenty in Singapore.

even as kids, we learn to compete not boo nor bully…..Oh well, whats new?

Hahahahaha Singapore lang…

The cynical me is thinking that this could be orchestrated by pro-establishment people.

1. Intimidate NKS 

2. show others that Oppo supporters are low class (this guy mentioned TKL who is indirectly associated with Oppo)

this will swing votes of those still sitting on the fence to u know who. 

If only everyone explained everything in such a logical way life would be so nice.

Even when he said TJS is his ex classmate whom he knew for a long time but didnt bother to vote for him is subtly mentioned.

On 8/29/2023 at 10:49 PM, Confusedboi said:

NKS kena heckled when doing walkaround 

Not surprising cos NKS has got the kiam pah face when he speaks.

On 8/30/2023 at 9:16 AM, Volvobrick said:

Interestingly I think there is an increasing number of voters switching from intending to spoil their votes to the only candidate who kena hammered by the media.

I still think why people want to spoil their votes. It is not easy and also rare chance to get to vote lo. Even all the candidates cmi, i will still pick one to vote. Would not waste my precious vote. 😂

On 8/30/2023 at 7:13 AM, Victor68 said:

I would appreciate the PE candidate that have sound knowledge in investment comment on this. Did he or he wasn't aware? 

IMG-20230829-WA0005.jpg

Haha stock market up n down these past months, what's the big deal, run of the mill news leh..

On 8/30/2023 at 9:25 AM, Watwheels said:

Not surprising cos NKS has got the kiam pah face when he speaks.

Even though NKS has the kiam pah face when he speaks, but he seems to look friendly when he speaks and photoshoot with people during the walkabout. 

On 8/30/2023 at 9:17 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

The cynical me is thinking that this could be orchestrated by pro-establishment people.

1. Intimidate NKS 

2. show others that Oppo supporters are low class (this guy mentioned TKL who is indirectly associated with Oppo)

Yeah sounds possibly all part of the puppet show orchestrated by pappy overlords.

He said consider a hypothetical scenario if the PM decide to use reserve to fund movie film.. LOL...  Think it happened in real life not far from here.

Edited by Ender

On 8/30/2023 at 8:46 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

He left out the CPA and 2/3 parliament overriding.

PM want to appoint his good friend to be Lim Kopi Director (CPIB)

Prezzie veto.

2/3 parliament majority needed to settle the fight.

(enter the party whip).. ruling party members need to vote yes.

PM still get his way 🤷‍♂️

I really don't know what the prez can and cannot do,.. How to be an informed voter?  Roll dice lor..

On 8/30/2023 at 9:17 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

1. Intimidate NKS 

😁theres already too much conspiracy theories 

Sometimes things are simple, people’s minds arent.

anyway, you always hear me say “good luck Singapore good luck” we need it. 

On 8/30/2023 at 9:33 AM, Confusedboi said:

Yeah sounds possibly all part of the puppet show orchestrated by pappy overlords.

actually, i would certainly think otherwise in todays context.

maybe back in the 70s 80s, maybe…..

No office bearer or high level person will be that stupid to mastermind something so low level.

perhaps the low level ones might , but the low level ones dont matter in real life. 

much like idol fans……they do all sorts of nonsense in the name of the idols becos they are sick in the mind. Weak too.

But is it the fault of the idols? Nah…  

Edited by Throttle2

Ravi ...😁

Quoted.

"I just filed an application in the Supreme Court Registry for a declaration that Tharman Shanmugaratnam has breached several articles of the Constitution, including Article 19, that disallow a president (sic) who has a criminal conviction to stand for election."

He stated that Tharman has been previously fined for "disclosing state secrets", which should disqualify him from the presidential race.

Tharman was convicted under the Official Secrets Act (OSA) in 1994 for his negligence in allowing sensitive government data to be communicated to the media.

Unquoted.

https://mothership.sg/2023/08/m-ravi-file-supreme-court-tharman-disqualify/

Sucker punch!😁

Edited by Kopites
  • Haha! 10

for me, the question you should ask is :

what is the purpose of the second keyholder, when they both belong to the same owner ?

you might as well eliminate the second keyholder.

vote wisely, make your vote count.

Mr T did hinted it is about the r/s between pm and president. If they are kaki, kawan kawan, the president can "influence" decision/policy making. If they dont want to friend each other then it will likely become some kinda political drama. I think this is also the "soft power" they had mentioned purely depending on who is the president(to the pm). Whoever wanted and said president to be non-political and non-partisan is purely BS. It is just a technical rule, integrity not tested in any way. Looking at past and previous presidents you know it is all about politics. Even just qualifying to be a candidate he/she has to be a civil servant. A truely independent candidate doesnt even stand a chance as we had witness. Such is our PE. 

As Mark Twain would say and I quote, “if voting made any difference, they wouldnt let us do it." end quote. How true this quote is.

On 8/30/2023 at 9:28 AM, 13177 said:

Even though NKS has the kiam pah face when he speaks, but he seems to look friendly when he speaks and photoshoot with people during the walkabout. 

He juz got the angry old man resting face. We'll all reach there.....lol

On 8/30/2023 at 9:38 AM, Ender said:

He said consider a hypothetical scenario if the PM decide to use reserve to fund movie film.. LOL...  Think it happened in real life not far from here.

And appoint cronies & supporters into key positions 

Ouch!