BREAKING: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam announces intention to run for Singapore's presidency.

Tohto

In this tough economic climate, why not just merge Prez cum PM as those JLBs 4G/5G simply not ready or not suitable yet but ……

• Haha! 8

  On 6/8/2023 at 12:51 PM, Ahwhye said:

I am really amazed by some of you, who wanted tharman to do all the impossibles... come on, whoever take up this position can only walk around, smile and wave, shake some hands, give a few little speeches, and sign-off whatever gov push to him, that's all, he is powerless to do anything that gov has not advised him to do.

I don't mind him  or rather anyone to be there, it is just a farce and I just want PH!

Expand  

Has he spoken anything in parliment that is against his boss even morally he knows it wrong? I think some others, including NMP which were eventually 'removed' spoke more than him lah. So how would we expect him to turn into a completely new leaf when he is president? Would he now declare what he is able to do as a president if elected? 

Choose an older one for this role since it is just to hello here and there. 

inside news that Tharman, has sth up his sleeve...and note that he has a big following overall, this is hearsay in the circles...as we know his ahem.........'rebel inside'

But I am sure they still have a leash on him as well as ISD watching his every track and move...case in point, I bring up again Devan and OTC......

left to be seen if moral compass prevails......

• Praise 10

On 6/8/2023 at 11:49 PM, Freeder said:

In this tough economic climate, why not just merge Prez cum PM as those JLBs 4G/5G simply not ready or not suitable yet but ……

Expand  

Or 3G NOT retiring (like his dad)

  On 6/8/2023 at 11:49 PM, Freeder said:

Expand  

Before that, remove the mayor first . 

On 6/9/2023 at 12:16 AM, RadX said:

inside news that Tharman, has sth up his sleeve...and note that he has a big following overall, this is hearsay in the circles...as we know his ahem.........'rebel inside'

But I am sure they still have a leash on him as well as ISD watching his every track and move...case in point, I bring up again Devan and OTC......

left to be seen if moral compass prevails......

Expand  

He once rated ah wong highly for "his heart is at the right place" ...hope his own is also at the right place where we have placed our trust upon...

  On 6/8/2023 at 10:38 PM, Throttle2 said:

I believe Singapore has been ready for a non Chinese PM.  I know i am.  Race really isnt the issue but heritage and character (in addition of course to brains, vision, etc etc)  

Tharman is pretty popular with all races and he is a qualified candidate so it should be a “walkover” for him

Expand  

agree...one of the most respectable MPs around...i love it when he was the FM....the way he present the budget and articulate on the reasons why certain policies/action  need to be taken ...i always glued to the screen listening to him when he was the FM. After his stint, no one come close to him....i dun even bother to listen to the budget presentation anymore. 

one word....he has that natural born Leadership Charisma when he speaks! :yeah-im-not-drunk:...i dun mind him being our President or the PM actually....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 6/9/2023 at 1:16 AM, Spidey10 said:

agree...one of the most respectable MPs around...i love it when he was the FM....the way he present the budget and articulate on the reasons why certain policies/action  need to be taken ...i always glued to the screen listening to him when he was the FM. After his stint, no one come close to him....i dun even bother to listen to the budget presentation anymore. 

one word....he has that natural born Leadership Charisma when he speaks! :yeah-im-not-drunk:...i dun mind him being our President or the PM actually....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Expand  

totally, he has that gravitas...see how he represents SG at DAvos, really puts the rest of the clowns aka cabinet to shame...

but u can see this was a real masterstroke to convert the antis to the pros.....but the hardliners would see thru that is a null effect, as Pres, is just symbolic.....Hello Kitty

• Sad 1

  On 6/8/2023 at 10:38 PM, Throttle2 said:

I believe Singapore has been ready for a non Chinese PM.  I know i am.  Race really isnt the issue but heritage and character (in addition of course to brains, vision, etc etc)  

Tharman is pretty popular with all races and he is a qualified candidate so it should be a “walkover” for him

Expand  

1. Same like you, but how many same like us?

2. Singapore may be ready for non chink PM but is non chink PM ready for Singapore? Its teamwork not group work. Some go bitch siao liao.

3. My GTR is always ready to go, I go in my GTR, car accident. 😁

4. You think T vs SRN, who has better mileage? SRN. Go ask the see see lee boys. Ask me.

5. Field him and he wins, means some finagling done, the better man does not always win unless rigged in this anxious and angry climate.

6. T is pleasant enough but look what happen at RVhigh. The curse of Jurong.

I don’t tink it’s gonna be a walkover…no walk in the Istana park without contest…and who doesn’t want another ph corright?😁

• Haha! 7

Interesting that they describe Tharman as "PAP's nuclear option"

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/sm-tharman-could-be-government-s-winning-formula-in-presidential-election-say-political-observers

It's like they know there could be potentially fierce contest, so they send out their so-called strongest choice to make sure that even if got contest they sure win.

On 6/9/2023 at 1:30 AM, Benarsenal said:

Interesting that they describe Tharman as "PAP's nuclear option"

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/sm-tharman-could-be-government-s-winning-formula-in-presidential-election-say-political-observers

It's like they know there could be potentially fierce contest, so they send out their so-called strongest choice to make sure that even if got contest they sure win.

Expand  

again, depends, as ppl, and the electorate may also know tht the P is just a figurehead, so sending a strong message to vote agst him, is another signal to the ruling party of the ground sentiment

OTOH.....if he is not voted in, then they might use that defunct excuse 'not ready for Indian P, how to be ready for Indian PM'...and we all know that is a redherring in the making as we all along have had various ethnicities as P....but they may still use that excuse

On 6/9/2023 at 1:31 AM, RadX said:

again, depends, as ppl, and the electorate may also know tht the P is just a figurehead, so sending a strong message to vote agst him, is another signal to the ruling party of the ground sentiment

Expand  

Of course there will always be people to vote against.

But by and large for majority of Singaporeans, if you ask them which of the Pappies they die die have to choose, most will pick Tharman.

• Sad 1

On 6/9/2023 at 1:33 AM, Benarsenal said:

Of course there will always be people to vote against.

But by and large for majority of Singaporeans, if you ask them which of the Pappies they die die have to choose, most will pick Tharman.

Expand  

yes...the margin, is what we need to see to analyse, Jurong 78%, may not translate to SGP 78%