Theoldjaffa Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:16 PM, Soya said: Tharman for President! I see what you did there. yup he’s Da Man for President 🤭 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:20 PM, Theoldjaffa said: I see what you did there. yup he’s Da Man for President 🤭 For once I don't mind a walkover.....lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:19 PM, 13177 said: If he becomes president, so next GE who will lead the Jurong GRC siah? Why u worry? PAP best at parachuting people in to whatever positions one. 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:15 PM, Cheesey74 said: Hopefully we well see how smart Tharman is if he become president, will he perform as an independent President that safeguard our nation or just another miw yes man, i can't wait 😇... What do you think. Even if he want to challenge the Govt, PAP will try all sorts of means to stop him (like they did with OTC). 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:19 PM, 13177 said: If he becomes president, so next GE who will lead the Jurong GRC siah? I nominate 13177...... 1 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 Isn't he kinda wasted as a president though? I'd rather he stay on and advise the younger generation on economics. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/tharman-shanmugaratnam-singapore-presidential-election-candidate-3547586 SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam intends to run for the Singapore presidency in an election that must be held by Sep 13. Mr Tharman on Thursday (Jun 😎 informed Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong of his decision to retire from politics and all his positions in government. He also said he intends to resign from the People's Action Party. "I plan to do so a month from now, on Jul 7, 2023, so that I can first fulfil my immediate official commitments in Singapore and internationally, and ensure that arrangements are fully in place for constituents of Jurong GRC to be well-served for the rest of the electoral term," Mr Tharman wrote in a letter to the Prime Minister. He will also step down as chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), deputy chairman of GIC, chairman of the Economic Development Board's International Advisory Council and other responsibilities he has been undertaking in his ministerial capacity. Mr Tharman, 66, said he has been "humbled" by the requests he has received in recent months from Singaporeans who want to see him stand in the Presidential Election if President Halimah Yacob decided not to seek a second term. "It has been a difficult decision," he said in his letter. "I have consulted my family, and given careful thought to how I can best serve the country in the years ahead." Mr Tharman was first elected Member of Parliament in 2001, in Jurong GRC. An economics graduate, he spent most of his earlier professional career at the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), where he served as chairman from 2011. Mr Tharman had been Senior Minister since May 2019, after serving for several years as Deputy Prime Minister, Finance Minister and Education Minister. He was Coordinating Minister for Social Policies and also advised the Prime Minister on economic policies. On the global stage, Mr Tharman is chair of the G20 Eminent Persons Group on Global Financial Governance. He was also the first Asian chairman of the International Monetary and Financial Committee. Mr Tharman said on Thursday that he believes he can now best serve Singapore in a different role above politics. "If I am fortunate enough to be elected as President, I will represent the unity of Singaporeans, of all races and religions, social backgrounds and political leanings, at a time when views in the population are becoming more diverse," he wrote. "I will be thorough and impartial in fulfilling the constitutional duties of the President with regard to the prudent use of the nation's reserves and the key appointments which preserve the integrity of the Singapore system." Mr Tharman added that his "greatest sadness" is in retiring as an MP in Jurong. "I am assured that my dedicated fellow MPs in Jurong will work doubly hard to serve all our residents fully during the current electoral term." CNA Explains: What you need to know about Singapore's upcoming Presidential Election Timeline: What to expect in the event of a contested Presidential Election Madam Halimah, 68, announced on May 29 her decision not to seek a second term. She is the country's eighth president and first female president. Her six-year term ends on Sep 13 this year. This will be Singapore's first Presidential Election since 2011. The 2017 presidential poll was a reserved election, in which only members of the Malay community were allowed to contest. Mdm Halimah was named president then as there were no other candidates. The coming Presidential Election is open to all races. In his letter to Mr Tharman, the Prime Minister said the role of the president requires one to exercise custodial powers independently to protect Singapore's past reserves and the integrity of the public service as specified in the Constitution. "This is a vital function in the Singapore system of government. I am confident that you will carry out these duties scrupulously and with the independence of mind you have always displayed," Mr Lee said. Source: CNA/gs(jo) 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:26 PM, Lala81 said: Isn't he kinda wasted as a president though? I'd rather he stay on and advise the younger generation on economics. Simi economics? Younger generation onli wanna be youtuber.... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Supercharged June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:16 PM, Mkl22 said: wonder how he was convinced? 🤣 he surely doesnt need the money or power or recognition. Maybe he wan a bigger house than Sham and Vivian... 😁 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:30 PM, Soya said: Simi economics? Younger generation onli wanna be youtuber.... haha younger generation of ministers lah. those your age group lol. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 So that Ivan Lim replace him ? 😬 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:31 PM, Lala81 said: haha younger generation of ministers lah. those your age group lol. Dun worry. Got lots n lots of scholars in gahmen 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 No need to waste time contest. It will be the shiny new president. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 👍Tharman as 9th President of Singapore. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:32 PM, RH1667 said: So that Ivan Lim replace him ? 😬 Finally starship trooper going to launch in Jurong... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:21 PM, Soya said: For once I don't mind a walkover.....lol You mean no one else want to run for the president ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Author Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:31 PM, Tkseah said: Maybe he wan a bigger house than Sham and Vivian... 😁 Double win liao loh... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 8, 2023 Share June 8, 2023 On 6/8/2023 at 2:38 PM, Watwheels said: No need to waste time contest. It will be the shiny new president. There goes my extra PH. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...