therock Supersonic May 18, 2023 Author Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:08 PM, Karoon said: My mom was once a very good and enthusiastic cook, could cook anything, tried all kinds of recipes etc. But once all kids have moved out, I realise she only cook once a week (on weekends when we come visit them) and the rest of the week my parents survive on leftovers and tabao from events/weddings etc. I guess it has to be worthwhile to bring out the pots and pans. Do try and visit them... letting them cook is a labor of love.. My mum lives with me and she relishes my cooking each time. The smile is golden and my baby has inherited the same smile... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 11:04 AM, Playtime said: its hard to find good kambing soup these days. even chinese one also hard to find The more famous one is the Beauty World rooftop I think. They now have another branch across the road at the hawker centre. It's an acquired taste though cos the herbal flavour is quite strong. But I used to go there a lot when I was a kid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 7:37 AM, therock said: The issue is the oil, salt and often the lack of veggies and fruits when we takeaway or eat out .. I love hawker food too but being a laopek I gotta watch what I eat 😅 Bro...eat cai png la.....it has all the different veggie that you need. I eat it for decades almost everyday since nobody cooks...lol. It is simple, under-rated, but far healthier than most other food out there. Edited May 18, 2023 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic May 18, 2023 Author Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:33 PM, Starry said: Bro...eat cai png la.....it has all the different veggie that you need. I eat it for decades almost everyday since nobody cooks...lol. It is simple, under-rated, but far healthier than most other food out there. Bro, you know it, I know it, and so do many others, but if we all did that, the cardiologists and even the poly drs will be out of a job lol... Look where the queues are.... it's often the prata / CKT stalls.... haha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 11:04 AM, Playtime said: its hard to find good kambing soup these days. even chinese one also hard to find Upp Boon Keng hawker centre got! Chinese one used to have one at Tampines opp Poly clinic on Ave 4 coffee shop below Prime supermarket and that place also had good chicken rice. I live there when I was young and opp my block got a flat rent out to SIA stewardess. They come back at 2 am I hear the noisy taxi diseal engine and first they they do when they get home is take off their kabaya because very hot and sweaty and sit in front of the mirror and 30 minutes remove their make up. 5am they wake up and spend 30 min putting on ICI and then last thing is put on kabaya so don't get it dirty. I was late for school everyday and teacher always ask me why I got panda eyes. That year I ask my parent for a binoculus for Xmas. They ask me what for and I said bird watching! Edited May 18, 2023 by Jamesc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 11:04 AM, Playtime said: its hard to find good kambing soup these days. even chinese one also hard to find i used to like the kambing soup, together with the mutton satay at satay club. After they moved, I don't have much kambing soup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:17 PM, inlinesix said: Upper Boon Keng Market. These 2 stores operate at night. Once you cross car park, you can see these stores. You also can jio me along😜 Speaking of the Upper Boon Keng Market. When i was there at 6pm plus for dinner the other day, saw one fried hokkien mee stall which is same row as the fish soup stall facing the HDB blk side. You got eat their fried hokkien mee before ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 2:45 PM, Kxbc said: i used to like the kambing soup, together with the mutton satay at satay club. After they moved, I don't have much kambing soup. satay club ah.... your age is showing 🤣 aiya... me too la.... good memories there. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 3:01 PM, Playtime said: satay club ah.... your age is showing 🤣 aiya... me too la.... good memories there. i never intended myself to be young grass so it's ok. old flower eyes getting worse. more white hair. harder to lose fat. skin getting wrinkly. getting more forgetful. see doctor everytime scared will get referred to specialist. haiz......... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:31 PM, Benarsenal said: The more famous one is the Beauty World rooftop I think. They now have another branch across the road at the hawker centre. It's an acquired taste though cos the herbal flavour is quite strong. But I used to go there a lot when I was a kid. i no problem with the herbal. actually i never understood the "goat taste" some people say about kambing either 😂 i remember toa payoh center used to have a very very popular chinese herbal one back in the 90s next to the library. but dunno where it shifted to. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 2:55 PM, 13177 said: Speaking of the Upper Boon Keng Market. When i was there at 6pm plus for dinner the other day, saw one fried hokkien mee stall which is same row as the fish soup stall facing the HDB blk side. You got eat their fried hokkien mee before ah? Never. For dinner, i only eat that Zher Char store call Kwang Tung (sometime like that). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 5:01 PM, inlinesix said: Never. For dinner, i only eat that Zher Char store call Kwang Tung (sometime like that). That zi char stall nice? Maybe i try if i go there again for dinner. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 6:21 PM, 13177 said: That zi char stall nice? Maybe i try if i go there again for dinner. The food is nice 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic May 18, 2023 Author Share May 18, 2023 Bros The Seah Im hawker centre has reopened... time for a MU and catch up with good friends and good food? https://www.lifestyleasia.com/sg/dining/food/best-hawker-eats-renovated-seah-im-food-centre-at-harbourfront/ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 3:18 PM, Playtime said: i no problem with the herbal. actually i never understood the "goat taste" some people say about kambing either 😂 i remember toa payoh center used to have a very very popular chinese herbal one back in the 90s next to the library. but dunno where it shifted to. Drink kambing soup always get ulcer or feel heaty. I can't drink all these. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 8:35 PM, Lala81 said: Drink kambing soup always get ulcer or feel heaty. I can't drink all these. I've heard kambing is heaty but never really had problem. But my lasting memory of "heaty" is ginseng chicken. I was feeling just a little scratchy cough, but saw ginseng chicken soup during lunch and ordered it.... damn it, by 3pm, my throat felt swollen shut and could barely speak. 🥵 It was stupid of me on hindsight. But damit it was good ginseng chicken soup 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:25 PM, Playtime said: I've heard kambing is heaty but never really had problem. But my lasting memory of "heaty" is ginseng chicken. I was feeling just a little scratchy cough, but saw ginseng chicken soup during lunch and ordered it.... damn it, by 3pm, my throat felt swollen shut and could barely speak. 🥵 It was stupid of me on hindsight. But damit it was good ginseng chicken soup 🤣 Sekali that tonic chicken died of heatiness after eaten a raw ginseng...then kena boiled in ginseng soup...and then the rest is history...😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:25 PM, Playtime said: I've heard kambing is heaty but never really had problem. But my lasting memory of "heaty" is ginseng chicken. I was feeling just a little scratchy cough, but saw ginseng chicken soup during lunch and ordered it.... damn it, by 3pm, my throat felt swollen shut and could barely speak. 🥵 It was stupid of me on hindsight. But damit it was good ginseng chicken soup 🤣 You sound until like ginseng chicken soup is like poison, after drinking immediately throat swollen until cannot speak! 😅 But some foods really like poison to some people. After eating really can have immediate effect on the body, and yet it is not consider food allergy. ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...