Markets and Hawker Centre Chat - It's Really Quiet?

therock

I usually do the marketing and also get food for my family. In the past couple of weeks I have noticed that it’s been really quiet, at the hawker centre, markets and town centers..

I wonder if anyone noticed the same thing?

this is AMK and normally it’s packed to the gills but I was in and out in 30 minutes! 

oh that’s Xiang Ji - best porridge 🥣 

normally the queue is at least 10 deep ..

IMG_8034.jpeg

IMG_8035.jpeg

IMG_8036.jpegI also visited Lao San and again the car park was almost empty and there was no queue 

the fresh uncooked Yong Tau Foo in the AMK market is the best hand made stuff and I drive across SG to go there - ate there since I was in school 

normally it takes 15 minutes but I was done with my purchase in 5 min. He’s also noticed it and doesn’t know why?

heat ?

economy? 
high COE? 
cooling measures 😉 

IMG_8038.jpeg

I also visited Redhill market and a few others and they were all quiet

(been doing the kway chap hunt this past couple of weeks)... 

Edited by therock

xiang ji usually not much queue one lah. Cos its just take order and wait for your food. 

628 wet market is more expensive compared to other markets. Usually other than sat/sunday is not many people.
That's when people come out to buy stuff. 

Wet market is getting expensive for protein. 

On 5/17/2023 at 10:01 AM, Soya said:

All tio covid? 

These days, tio covid also go out one lah. Those wear masks one, just stay away from them, high chance is covid still come out ones.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

Its because they put up the price of coffee and tea and everything else.

We are all at home now with our Nespresso machines and nanyang siangpau coffee capsule.

Why pay $4.50 for a bit of mee pok with a couple of slices of fish cake and 2 small fish balls when I can have this at home?

image.png.bb4f18c241bbf1f230ad8264427775e1.png

Fresh chicken expensive. 

Fish is expensive.

Fresh pork more expensive now due to the swine flu thing.

I used to go also. But if u don't need to buy protein from the market, the reasons to go really drop a lot.

There won't be wet markets in another 20-30 years time. 

• Sad 2

Wet markets and hawker centers are for the distinguished generation.

The young and restless are in the cafes, restaurant and do their marketing in aircon supermarkets and online!

I was queuing here because MIL and kids love these wallet busting burgers.

I left a broke man.

image.png.f28337d46c862a995252aef475469d4b.png

image.png.fcee50a656895443c7dfb09aa9ea68bd.png

image.png.87bb23188ac805d985d8ce558e8d1c27.png

image.png.a74167ba42f2985fce31bd2c4c03f4c9.png

On 5/17/2023 at 9:59 AM, therock said:

I usually do the marketing and also get food for my family. In the past couple of weeks I have noticed that it’s been really quiet, at the hawker centre, markets and town centers..

I wonder if anyone noticed the same thing?

this is AMK and normally it’s packed to the gills but I was in and out in 30 minutes! 

oh that’s Xiang Ji - best porridge 🥣 

normally the queue is at least 10 deep ..

IMG_8034.jpeg

IMG_8035.jpeg

IMG_8036.jpeg

Maybe it is a weekday, so lesser people. :huh: On weekends, everywhere is crowded. Some places default always crowded no matter weekday or weekend. 😅 So still must depends which area la.

On 5/17/2023 at 10:18 AM, 13177 said:

Maybe it is a weekday, so lesser people. :huh: On weekends, everywhere is crowded. Some places default always crowded no matter weekday or weekend. 😅 So still must depends which area la.

Tink many lining up at new condo launches la

How to convince MIL and the kids hawkeye centres and wet markets are where the action is?

Forget the crowds and these expensive burger and ramen and sushi and tim sum places!

How about a nice and now increasingly expensive laksa or chye teow kway at the local hawkeye centre?

On 5/17/2023 at 10:11 AM, Lala81 said:

Fresh chicken expensive. 

Fish is expensive.

Fresh pork more expensive now due to the swine flu thing.

I used to go also. But if u don't need to buy protein from the market, the reasons to go really drop a lot.

There won't be wet markets in another 20-30 years time. 

In supermarkets, IIRC, ntuc and giant  have only the fresh fish/ seafood section/stall. SS has fresh fish/seafood and chill pork section/stall. Prime is the only one with fresh fish/seafood, chill pork and fresh chicken section/stall in the first half of the day. 

So if you want animal protein wet market style from supermarkets,  Prime is the closest,  and clean environment.  No other stalls to choose is the down side. 

In future, if the rest follow Prime style, wet markets really Hong kan earlier than later. I think ppl your age probably last batch of wet markets supporters. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/17/2023 at 10:03 AM, Lala81 said:

xiang ji usually not much queue one lah. Cos its just take order and wait for your food. 

628 wet market is more expensive compared to other markets. Usually other than sat/sunday is not many people.
That's when people come out to buy stuff. 

Wet market is getting expensive for protein. 

Actually I found the selection very wide and cheaper than Ghim Moh market + Holland Drve.

The cheaper places are Mei Ling St and Commonwealth Crescent or Telok Blangah... Mei Ling is the least crowded when I'm in a hurry, but the selection is modest..

If MIL dare say why I always take her to cheap dirty hawker centres again

I will not stand for it and correct her.

Where got cheap?

Has she seen the price of kopi si and mee pok these day?

Cheap my posterior!

I support @therock

Multi million dollar supermarkets and billion dollar fast food chains don't need my money.

The uncles and aunties in the hawker stalls and wet markets do!

Please up the aunties and uncles!