MAS unveils commemorative S$10 coin to mark Lee Kuan Yew's 100th birth anniversary

SGMCF328

On 5/16/2023 at 1:00 PM, Ahwhye said:

my fiend asked me whether the value will appreciate over time or not... me answered up to 5 pieces per person, probably will appreciate after 500 years bah....:grin:

you sure, i tot got more value as melted metal.😁

Edited by Mkl22

On 5/16/2023 at 6:39 PM, Loki said:

I thought only countries like North Korea do this sort of thinga

image.png.674023ef5923e1d8577eaa99b8c8bf60.png

• Haha! 8

On 5/17/2023 at 7:14 PM, Fcw75 said:

His son never fail to use his father legacy whenever he can. Please la, what era already? LKY already said he doesn’t want all those stuff.

LKY, GKS, TCC did a lot for the formative years of Singapore…that we cannot deny.

i think GKS was the true brains. but seems like all was forgotten.

I think it's important to recognise and pay tribute to what Singapore has achieved post-independence, but Singapore is more than just about one person. It's the collective effort of many that has brought us to where we are today.

On 5/18/2023 at 4:55 PM, Benarsenal said:

I think it's important to recognise and pay tribute to what Singapore has achieved post-independence, but Singapore is more than just about one person. It's the collective effort of many that has brought us to where we are today.

LKY stays too long in that position.

Ppl only rem him now

On 5/17/2023 at 7:14 PM, Fcw75 said:

His son never fail to use his father legacy whenever he can. Please la, what era already? LKY already said he doesn’t want all those stuff.

LKY, GKS, TCC did a lot for the formative years of Singapore…that we cannot deny.

But many people still buy his son story on his father legacy lo, even now what era liao. 

On 5/19/2023 at 11:03 AM, Chris788 said:

Correct, might as well build these and make it gold, one up NK, like a Buddha statue...

1024px-The_statues_of_Kim_Il_Sung_and_Kim_Jong_Il_on_Mansu_Hill_in_Pyongyang_(april_2012).thumb.jpg.9f552ccc4e87163918d7b78fce1fac92.jpg

Orchard road or Oxley Rd? 😆

On 5/18/2023 at 4:16 PM, Mkl22 said:

you sure, i tot got more value as melted metal.😁

you thought gold huh? aluminum bronze niah niah, may be just as valuable as a discarded alu drink can only.... :grin:

It would be more meaningful to print a series of notes of the founding group of ministers. When we have 11 efficient and down to earth and hard working MPs. They didn't ask for $million salary or own big houses or biz. 

On 5/25/2023 at 2:52 PM, Victor68 said:

It would be more meaningful to print a series of notes of the founding group of ministers. When we have 11 efficient and down to earth and hard working MPs. They didn't ask for $million salary or own big houses or biz. 

https://www.roots.gov.sg/stories-landing/stories/lim-kim-san/story

No nonsense approach to public housing

In 1959, Lim was approached by Lee Kuan Yew, Toh Chin Chye and Goh Keng Swee — — members of the People's Action Party (PAP) — to serve in the Public Service Commission. Later, Goh, the finance minister, asked Lim to chair the newly-formed Housing Development Board (HDB) which was established to rehome hundreds of thousands living in squalor. Lim, who took up the role, did not draw a salary for four years.

IMG_2233.jpeg

IMG_2234.webp

Edited by Mustank
  • Praise 12

On 5/25/2023 at 3:36 PM, Mustank said:

https://www.roots.gov.sg/stories-landing/stories/lim-kim-san/story

No nonsense approach to public housing

In 1959, Lim was approached by Lee Kuan Yew, Toh Chin Chye and Goh Keng Swee — — members of the People's Action Party (PAP) — to serve in the Public Service Commission. Later, Goh, the finance minister, asked Lim to chair the newly-formed Housing Development Board (HDB) which was established to rehome hundreds of thousands living in squalor. Lim, who took up the role, did not draw a salary for four years.

IMG_2233.jpeg

IMG_2234.webp

Yes he is indeed a true leader and role model. 

Another one. Why not just Lee Kuan Yew Student Fund instead??🙄

From the news article, seems like there are more activities planned for his 100th anniversary. I thought only communist country will do this.

Lee Kuan Yew Centennial Fund launched to support students and develop young leaders

Source: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/lee-kuan-yew-centennial-fund-support-students-develop-young-leaders-100th-anniversary-3524846

SINGAPORE: A fund that will support about 2,000 students each year to develop young leaders in Singapore was launched on Tuesday (May 30) to commemorate the 100th anniversary of former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew's birth.

Called the Lee Kuan Yew Centennial Fund, it was established with donations from private and people sectors and has collected over S$82 million (US$60.6m) to date.

The late Mr Lee was born on Sep 16, 1923. He died at the age of 91 in 2015.

Through the activities marking the 100th anniversary of Mr Lee's birth, Singapore can reflect on Mr Lee's values and principles and that of its founding generation of leaders, said Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong in his opening address at the launch.

On 5/30/2023 at 5:51 PM, SGMCF328 said:

Another one. Why not just Lee Kuan Yew Student Fund instead??🙄

From the news article, seems like there are more activities planned for his 100th anniversary. I thought only communist country will do this.

In Politics... anything goes... as long as the end justify the means

election coming leh

Yet another branding exercise. What next? LKY Ashes Memorial Museum?

Edited by Kklim