Right-side PIE exit moved to the left from May 28, 2023 at 5am

Actually, a flyover was already built over it .. it's called Newton Flyover. A Newton->Scotts Road tunnel would be nice.

Going to Scotts Road, 2 lanes turning left leh. What's dangerous is leftmost lane kuku not turning out and driving on. If they are not exiting they should not be taking leftmost lane. But of course, when traffic is heavy and nobody gives a f*ck then it's a cluster f*ck.

your scenario is legit cos there are arrows indicating that its ok to turn from the second lane.

post-1798-0-20510500-1540353811_thumb.jpg

i'm referring to this one, coming from Scotts towards Novena where cars always cut from the 2nd lane into Dunearn. this is a perfect (negative) example. there's no arrows indicating that it's ok to filter left.

so if i'm coming from Scotts and am at the leftmost lane, and i want to go towards Novena, naturally i will keep in lane to be at the left most and proceed in the same lane to "exit" into Newton Road. But many times, i get cut by cars in the middle lane who want to turn into Dunearn Road. it's pretty dangerous and by right they shouldn't exit from that middle lane.

post-1798-0-72002400-1540353889_thumb.jpg

..Good observant as they are still selling more coe than the road can accommodate..Reduce the vehicles population to 600k..I'm sure we can drive smoothly everyday...

Why not instead improve the infrastructure - build more roads and underground/elevated ones?

your scenario is legit cos there are arrows indicating that its ok to turn from the second lane.

attachicon.gifTo Orchard.JPG

i'm referring to this one, coming from Scotts towards Novena where cars always cut from the 2nd lane into Dunearn. this is a perfect (negative) example. there's no arrows indicating that it's ok to filter left.

so if i'm coming from Scotts and am at the leftmost lane, and i want to go towards Novena, naturally i will keep in lane to be at the left most and proceed in the same lane to "exit" into Newton Road. But many times, i get cut by cars in the middle lane who want to turn into Dunearn Road. it's pretty dangerous and by right they shouldn't exit from that middle lane.

attachicon.gifscotts to bukit timah.JPG

I don't think it is illegal for them to exit from the middle lane - just look at the slip road, There are 2 lanes leading to Bukit Timah Road, meaning it is meant for 2 vehicles to exit side byside.

Actually in a circus it is not so clear cut who has absolute right of way.  Cars are changing lanes to exit all the time.  Just signal your intent, exercise caution and commonsense and not insisting right of way.

Edited by Volvobrick

Elevated: Ugly

Underground: Expensive.

Practical over looks. A concrete jungle is already ugly.

Expensive? So much revenue from COE, ERP, VES, road tax, etc.

Practical over looks. A concrete jungle is already ugly.

Expensive? So much revenue from COE, ERP, VES, road tax, etc.

From ugly to uglier?  Mai la.

According to FM, those revenue you mentioned are not used specific to transport sector.

the issue with newton circle round about is just stupid drivers driving on a normal road. 

I dont know what so different a round about newton circle is comparing to other round about in Sg, but I use enough round about to know  the design is all the same, except they have traffic lights to control newton circles. 

The issue is ppl dont know, dont plan for their exit, many depends on GPS and driving blindly, reacting at the very last min. 

I use the pioneer road north round about and the one outside jurong island quite often. During morning and evening peak hours, the traffic is no different to what we get at newton circles, but the drivers using these round about all so much better.  Try using the one outside jurong island in the evening peak hours, and see how you feel surrounded with vehicles double your height, and still having no issues getting out of the round about without much stress..

Its the drivers lah!!  <_<  [laugh]  [laugh]

the issue with newton circle round about is just stupid drivers driving on a normal road. 

I dont know what so different a round about newton circle is comparing to other round about in Sg, but I use enough round about to know  the design is all the same, except they have traffic lights to control newton circles. 

The issue is ppl dont know, dont plan for their exit, many depends on GPS and driving blindly, reacting at the very last min. 

I use the pioneer road north round about and the one outside jurong island quite often. During morning and evening peak hours, the traffic is no different to what we get at newton circles, but the drivers using these round about all so much better.  Try using the one outside jurong island in the evening peak hours, and see how you feel surrounded with vehicles double your height, and still having no issues getting out of the round about without much stress..

Its the drivers lah!!  <_<  [laugh]  [laugh]

I believe most drivers here doesnt know how to use roundabout correctly lo. Even the roundabout at Marine Parade Rd also can find drivers anyhow exit on the wrong lane.  [sweatdrop]

I dont know what so different a round about newton circle is comparing to other round about in Sg, but I use enough round about to know the design is all the same, except they have traffic lights to control newton circles.

I use the pioneer road north round about and the one outside jurong island quite often. During morning and evening peak hours, the traffic is no different to what we get at newton circles, but the drivers using these round about all so much better. Try using the one outside jurong island in the evening peak hours, and see how you feel surrounded with vehicles double your height, and still having no issues getting out of the round about without much stress..

Its the drivers lah!! <_<[laugh][laugh]

I still think allowing exits from the middle lane in a roundabout is dangerous and against common sense.

It causes "criss crossing" of traffic which is pretty dangerous.

it was there for the longest time lah before roads were converted to expressways and traffic lights removed.

who can still remember the time when ecp had traffic lights?

This is why traffic junction with no lights will not work here. People here are trained to follow lights and markings and forgot what they learn in basic theory.

So the correct way will be to form up in the leftmost lane when approaching the roundabout *only if* the intention is to exit the roundabout at the first exit.

If the intention is to exit at the second or subsequent exit, form up in the middle lane, give priority to traffic already moving inside the circus, check clear that the right side is clear, drive into the middle lane, navigate past the first exit and then exit in the same lane out to the 2nd exit, or attempt to filter safely into the left lane after the first exit and then exit immediately into the 2nd exit.

Correct?

I still think allowing exits from the middle lane in a roundabout is dangerous and against common sense.

It causes "criss crossing" of traffic which is pretty dangerous.

yes, I also agree. 

Right of way may not always be the safe of way. I have seen many kukus going round and round the round about on the left lane, trying to decide which exit to take. This is just an accident waiting to take place. 

Allowing middle lane to turn left is to allow more cars to turn in order to ease traffic, otherwise all will be forming up in 1 single lane to turn left. Its no different from cross junction turning right, the far right is turn right only, while the lane on the left is turn right and/or go straight. if the far right driver decides to go straight and not turn right, he bang into the one turning right on the left. So if you are on the left most lane in the round about, you just have to turn left on the next exit, dont care if the middle lane going straight or turning left.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

In some countries such as in the US and China, one can turn right on RED on all traffic junctions unless signs prohibits. For us, this is turn LEFT on RED.

I remember at one time some years ago, this was introduced here at many junctions with a sign so you can turn LEFT on RED when sign allows. You cannot do so if no sign. This was mostly in neighbourhood roads where traffic mostly light.

Properly designed junctions should have slip roads for left turning traffic (for places with heavy traffic which is all over Singapore).  This is safer.  Only if there is land constraints, or c@ck-up design forgot to incorporate a slip road despite having the space, then the left turn on Red are sometimes installed.

In China I have not come across a right turning slip road.  It's very dangerous for pedestrians.  US in my memory also the same.

Reminder,

The new left exit will start in about 4 days time.

All the decades of keeping to the right, and now you need to change your behaviour. If not, sure kena accidents. [laugh]

For the first few weeks, better keep to the left.

Reminder,

All the decades of keeping to the right, and now you need to change your behaviour. If not, sure kena accidents. [laugh]

So fast the new exit ready liao?

Reminder,

They announce already?