Right-side PIE exit moved to the left from May 28, 2023 at 5am

it was there for the longest time lah before roads were converted to expressways and traffic lights removed.

who can still remember the time when ecp had traffic lights?

ð

Don't bluff leh, all of ECP was on reclaimed land built in 80s.

Never had traffic lights.

Newton circus is dangerous not only because of people who don't know or don't care about roundabout driving etiquettes, it is also because of the massive load that it is handling for a n uncontrolled junction (previously).

Granted I only use the Newton Circles during the weekends ie. peak periods, when everyone is going to town. The bumper to bumper jam within the roundabout itself and the tailback into each of the many feeding arterial roads cannot be explained by ONLY kuku drivers slowing down the traffic. 

Then we come to road design in the vicinity of the roundabout. 

For a roundabout to work smoothly, you cannot have roads leading away from the roundabout to have pedestrian crossings, especially a timed signalised pedestrian crossing. That will cause a traffic tailback into the round about messing up the flow and affecting almost every other exit. 

Once again I reiterate that kuku drivers here contributes most to the failure of Newton Circles roundabout, just highlighting the other contributing factors of overloaded and badly conceptualised roads design immediately outside of the roundabout. 

Newton Circus is dangerous only because there are too many boh lesen drivers who don't know how to use a roundabout. Left lane to go 1st exit, middle lane to go 2nd exit, right lane to go 3rd/4th/5th exit .. but majority use the bloody left lane for anything, and those who use the right lanes cannot filter left safely into their 2rd/3rd exit.

Edited by Vratenza

Don't bluff leh, all of ECP was on reclaimed land built in 80s.

Never had traffic lights. ð

East Coast Road on upper East Coast Road have traffic lights

Some people like to be banged from behind.

got lah...

ecp was a highway before being upgraded to expressway

something like nicholl highway with traffic lights one

Why do we have to sanitize our road design for idiots?

If they don't learn how to drive it, they will have to pay an expensive lessons for it.

Innocents (the ones who know the rules but are suay to encounter an "idiot") may well pay for those "expensive lessons". Edited by Turboflat4

You see, it's a LPPL question. If the intention is to do away with roundabout like in the U.S. cities (few still exists on the East Coast, D.C., Boston, older cities), then just remove it and replace it with a cross junction. If not, then make sure people understand how to use it, in their TP test, theory test, whatever.

I like roundabouts, I think they serve a practical purpose such as in the case of Newton Circus, there are multiple exits going different directions. If you miss one, you just continue on one more round on the rightmost lane, but there's too many boh lesen one, going round on the leftmost lane.

Unlike in the U.K. where there is roundabout at every bloody corner, our new roads are always modern cross junctions. The roundabouts here are more like "heritage", or they just stay because nobody bother to do anything about it.

Why cant they replace the roundabout with a traffic junction at the newton circus le?

Agree on the bo lesen part. I once saw a female driver jam brake in the middle of the circus. Luckily no accident. Seriously don't know why she jam braked when there was no car in front of her.

Maybe she missed her exit or unsure where to go, so just jam brake lo.

The thing about roundabouts is that you cannot have a large structure right smack in the centre of the roundabout to block the view across the whole roundable, especially when the circumference is tight (ie. small roundabout). IIRC the centre of the Newton roundabout is occupied by the supporting structure of the flyover and loads of shrubbery to "beautify" the area....which in my view, makes it more dangerous because what you are essentially doing when trying to join the roundabout is to take a chance that no idiot race into view from behind the obstructed view round the bend. It is made worse with alot of car drivers who do not know how to accelerate smoothly and confidently into the roundabout (car my be underpowered or driver underpowered :D )

Have not driven in London or Washington, but the roundabouts in Malaysia are pretty big and have unobstructed view across the other side. So it is easier for cars joining the roundabout to look further ahead to see any approaching vehicles  and leaving a safe distance for the other vehicles when they join the roundabout.

Cities such as London, Washington D.C. got many more roundabouts, circles, than we do and they also got a lot of crazy traffic. I've driven in roundabouts in both countries extensively, traffic slows down during peak hours but I wouldn't say dangerous because generally people follow traffic rules. Some of their circles are crazily massive, going in 8-10+ different directions. So I still say, it is majorly a driver's problem.

Cross junction rules are simple, but also not really safer as we also see a lot of serious accidents in SG at cross junctions because lousy drivers even simple rules also can ignore. Often I see it could be due to speeding, turning right without checking for traffic, with changing lanes without checking blindspot, etc.

Cos erections coming soon, and they ran out of carrots to dangle? :D

Always see the public bus have to filter from left lane to right lane early and crawling slowly on the road to exit. Very dangerous when cars are travelling very fast on lane 1.

But this exit have been there for dont know how many decades liao, how come now then they do something about it le?

Newton Circus is really f**ked up.. the number of lanes in it does not correspond to the lanes at any of the exit or entry points.

A real mindf**k for noob drivers :D

The Clementi exit never bothered me much. Maybe because I never encountered a peak hour jam there.

But if they're fixing historically bad designs, I wish they'd start with Newton Circus. That's probably one of the most hazardous junctions in Singapore. Any analysis of the accident stats and near misses there?

About time this is being done..

Newton Circus is really f**ked up.. the number of lanes in it does not correspond to the lanes at any of the exit or entry points.

A real mindf**k for noob drivers :D

If me, i would just remove the whole round about and convert into tunnels/normal junction..

Why cant they replace the roundabout with a traffic junction at the newton circus le?

Because Newton Circus is an iconic name.

If the roundabout is replaced with a junction, then it will not be called Newton Circus.

A massive exercise to get citizens to submit their suggestions for a fresh, innovative name will be called.

And end up the new name called Newton Junction.

Just like #budgetterminal

Much of SG's history will be erased.

Anyway there's already signalised traffic lights there.

I see many people exiting from the middle Lane. It's very dangerous.

LoL...don't praise LTA too early. Look at the road design again. It's connecting back to the existing traffic junction. Means the potential to cause jam to tail back. And the BKE exit PIE towards tuas isn't that far away. The tail back can possibly jam the BKE as well. Especially during peak hours.

LTA is just moving the jam from one place to another. Much like what they do with ERP. Don't think they deserve the praise. Get ready for face palm instead. [laugh]

..Good observant as they are still selling more coe than the road can accommodate..Reduce the vehicles population to 600k..I'm sure we can drive smoothly everyday...

PAP already tore down so much of SG's historic icons, I don't really give a flying f**k about Newton Circus :D

Because Newton Circus is an iconic name.

If the roundabout is replaced with a junction, then it will not be called Newton Circus.

A massive exercise to get citizens to submit their suggestions for a fresh, innovative name will be called.

And end up the new name called Newton Junction.

Just like #budgetterminal

Much of SG's history will be erased.

Anyway there's already signalised traffic lights there.

I see many people exiting from the middle Lane. It's very dangerous.

OMG! such small project plan 3 years (Surely cannot be completed in time), actual completion at least 4 years above, this is typical Singapore speed,

Singapore is such a small country yet the speed at which the works proceed really big ???