ER-3682

On 5/9/2023 at 8:27 AM, Ingenius said:

This week you very free hor ?  No wear coat and tie ah ? 😄

finis aldy la

On 5/8/2023 at 6:31 PM, Macrosszero said:

To me, the G is managing COE pricing with the same objective as property market - to reduce wild fluctuations that make people unhappy while ensuring a steady increase. 

So we can forget about hoping for cheap COE, just hope the prices will come down from these frenzied times and focus on working harder to buy that COE when it’s time to renew.

Or just accept you’ve been priced out of the market; mobility is an entitlement, car ownership is not.

To me, G has created a monster in the Property market that they cannot control....they can't move backwards anymore, if they do a lot of pple will die...we are heading the way of HK........huat ahhh, those who falls under the crack is not gonna be rosy....can forget about buying a prop....

and now, for COE is the beginning of the end for low prices COE .. is going the same was as Prop Mkt....good luck everyone...we are truly Singapore Inc!! 

Edited by Spidey10
  • Sad 1

On 5/9/2023 at 8:28 AM, Spidey10 said:

To me, G has created a monster in the Property market that they cannot control....they can't move backwards anymore, if they do a lot of pple will die...we are heading the way of HK........huat ahhh, those who falls under the crack is not gonna be rosy....can forget about buying a prop....

and now, for COE is the beginning of the end for low prices COE .. is going the same was as Prop Mkt....good luck everyone...we are truly Singapore Inc!! 

We have always been Singapore Inc.

1G has a bigger blanket to disguise it

😜

On 5/9/2023 at 8:17 AM, RadX said:

Delusion at its best!

this also another kicking the can down the road

Talk about kicking cans down the road, i am not sure what the point of bringing forward the future COEs that will be scrapped - wouldn't that mean that when that future comes, there will be less COEs returning to the market since some of them were pre-returned today? Isn't this going to cause more volatility later on? We are still 1:1 vehicle growth basis after all....

On 5/9/2023 at 8:28 AM, Spidey10 said:

Open legs wide wide sure will drive up property and car prices. 

Fits the objective to collect more and more so can pay themselves more too. 

On 5/9/2023 at 12:57 AM, Benarsenal said:

I think that's kinda hard to predict. The fact that Govt isn't really controlling these companies indicates that they actually are encouraging their growth. Today's statement kinda indicated as much already.

As I mentioned earlier, Govt actually likes PHVs, because they perform somewhat of a useful function (driving people around), instead of a personal car which mostly sits around at home or office. If they can push more people to take ride hailing services instead of drive their own personal car, that already helps them towards their 'car-lite' ideal.

To our government, PHV offers so much more:

- Gig economy model solve part of the employment issue but do take note that these group of people might become a social problem once they stop driving many years down the road since most if not all have no CPF contribution / income;

- More PHVs means more traffic on our road at any point of time, which translate to more income from fuel tax, ERP, parking charges (since most EV chargers will be installed in public carparks), etc.

- PHVs are mostly owned by PHCs and so income tax (from drivers) and corporate tax (from PHCs and related industries such as workshops, insurers or even stockists)

- And of course much higher revenue from each COE bidding exercise

I agree with what @Carbon82 has said in his earlier post, government is simply making money out of problem (high COE) faced by the general public. And yes again, whatever the gains by the government will become a cost to us eventually (even though I don't own a car) as I have seen my grab trip cost increasing by ~20% since last year.

• Praise 10

On 5/9/2023 at 8:36 AM, Volvobrick said:

Open legs wide wide sure will drive up property and car prices. 

Fits the objective to collect more and more so can pay themselves more too. 

their bonus is tied to growth....SMLJ increase means growth.

Why make PHVs more expensive?

Who drives PHVs?

People who lost their jobs with lots of financial worries?

Who buys Cat B?

Rich people with no financial worries.

So want to make it more expensive for the poor guy that lost his job to make cars cheaper for rich people that pay cash for COE?

Edited by Jamesc

Now if we want to make cars for the young families with kids then decrease Cat B and give it to new Cat F.

Cars with 95 HP or below.

Like Attrage with big boot can put kid stroller inside.

Most people buy car because of status and to show off.

Nobody buys an Attrage or a Bezza to show off 

Hence Cat F

F for families 

Edited by Jamesc

On 5/9/2023 at 8:37 AM, yishunite said:

If you think country should never let ppl get hurt by downturns let me introduce you to the concept of moral hazard. It actually encourages worse behavior and makes the crash when gahmen can no longer control these forces much much much worse

classic example was the greed of big US banks that led to the 2008/9 Great Recession

govt saved and bailout them with taxpayers money, they recovered then paid themselves big bonuses, and 14 years later, history may repeat itself again

Young families with babies complain cannot use public transport why must buy entry BMs or Mercs?

Buy Attrage and Bezzas lah.

2 cars I loves.

A to B cars

Edited by Jamesc

Normal country will have property bubble pop every now and again. The people who get hurt are not ordinary people but wealthy investors and property agents.

If you think country should never let ppl get hurt by downturns let me introduce you to the concept of moral hazard. It actually encourages worse behavior and makes the crash when gahmen can no longer control these forces much much much worse

i will dread the day comes when we hear the pop....

Normal country will have property bubble pop every now and again. The people who get hurt are not ordinary people but wealthy investors and property agents.

Absolutely. 

its like getting your kid out of trouble when he does wrong every single time.  He takes for granted that, he will be helped even when he knows he is wrong.  Over time, bochup already,just do as he wishes.  In Big trouble only light consequences.  

On 5/9/2023 at 9:08 AM, Spidey10 said:

Quickly pop better

On 5/8/2023 at 4:33 PM, Benarsenal said:

If you listen carefully to his statement, PHC is part of their plan. They want to reduce private car ownership. The more PHC, the better.

I only listen to you. hahaha. you can TL;DR me mah. hahahah 

On 5/9/2023 at 9:08 AM, Spidey10 said:

POP

Edited by inlinesix