COE Bidding – May 2023 and new COE measures

ER-3682

On 5/9/2023 at 9:00 AM, Jamesc said:

Now if we want to make cars for the young families with kids then decrease Cat B and give it to new Cat F.

Cars with 95 HP or below.

Like Attrage with big boot can put kid stroller inside.

i was thinking they will come up with a plan like this - remove those PHV to a new cat and let them fight it out...for typical ordinary users should not be in the same cat as PHV lah...

Its completely messed up now becos there is no IRON. 
you need IRON to lead this country!  

2 of the biggest purchases in life, property messed up, car ownership messed up.

good luck Singapore good luck

Edited by Throttle2

On 5/9/2023 at 9:26 AM, Throttle2 said:

2 of the biggest purchses in life, property messed up, car ownership messed up.

IRON means tio POK.

Following your footstep.

Edited by inlinesix

On 5/9/2023 at 9:27 AM, inlinesix said:

IRON means tio POK.

Following your footstep.

Iron means dont spare the rod and spoil the child

On 5/9/2023 at 9:19 AM, inlinesix said:

POP

after watching my heart went pop! pop! pop! :yeah-im-not-drunk:

old banger cannot take such pop hor!

I am not as talented like bro @Tianmo but l also a song for the high COE. This is the voice of our million dollar mini$ter$. Appropriate bo?

The modified lyrics as follows.

I'm trying to hold my breath
Let it stay this way
Can't let this moment end
You set off a dream in me
Getting louder now
Can you hear it echoing?
Take my hand COEs
Will you share this with me?
'Cause darling, without you

All the shine of a thousand spotlights hundreds thousand COEs
All the stars billions we steal the night sky earn from the biddings
Will never be enough
Never be enough
Towers of gold Income from COEs are still too little
These hands COEs could hold the world earn us billions but it'll
Never be enough

For me
Never, never
Never, for me
For me
Never enough
For me
For me
For me

All the shine of a thousand spotlights hundreds thousand COEs
All the stars billions we steal the night sky earn from the biddings
Will never be enough
Never be enough
Towers of gold Income from COEs are still too little
These hands COEs could hold the world earn us billions but it'll
Never be enough

For me
Never, never
Never, for me
For me
Never enough
Never, never
Never enough
Never, never
Never enough
For me
For me
For me

For me

On 5/9/2023 at 9:23 AM, Spidey10 said:

i was thinking they will come up with a plan like this - remove those PHV to a new cat and let them fight it out...for typical ordinary users should not be in the same cat as PHV lah...

yes and no .. my small brain tells me that if this is done, this category will have to take numbers from the normal cars, so normal cars will have fewer numbers which may mean high coes too .. smaller supply same demand ..

and also this new category will only be played by a handful of players so it is relatively not as difficult to collude and all bid low .. can be a situation of this month your company bid all next month my turn, or they work out a percentage each company takes and all just bid low ..

normal car coes almost impossible to collude because too many players (as in car dealers/companies bidding) ..

but then what do i know .. 

On 5/9/2023 at 9:26 AM, Throttle2 said:

2 of the biggest purchases in life, property messed up, car ownership messed up.

Exactly. And it just happens both MPs responsible for those are in same GRC...LOL

Edited by daffodilistic

On 5/9/2023 at 10:08 AM, daffodilistic said:

Exactly. And it just happens both MPs responsible for those are in same GRC...LOL

So we should just vote them out and new ministers come in. Who's staying in West Coast GRC? Please do your part. 

got to say this COE thread is the hottest in recent months 😁

Edited by Scion
  • Haha! 8

On 5/9/2023 at 10:08 AM, daffodilistic said:

On 5/9/2023 at 10:16 AM, Daniu82 said:

So we should just vote them out and new ministers come in. Who's staying in West Coast GRC? Please do your part. 

Did anything change with the loss of Sengkang GRC?

On 5/9/2023 at 10:26 AM, inlinesix said:

SK GRC all small prawns, nothing will change with that loss. Don't think MIW will win back next elections. 

On 5/9/2023 at 8:36 AM, Kar_lover said:

Talk about kicking cans down the road, i am not sure what the point of bringing forward the future COEs that will be scrapped - wouldn't that mean that when that future comes, there will be less COEs returning to the market since some of them were pre-returned today? Isn't this going to cause more volatility later on? We are still 1:1 vehicle growth basis after all....

It's his way of offering an olive branch to the car market without impacting the zero growth policy. Take it or leave it.  😤 

On 5/9/2023 at 10:26 AM, inlinesix said:

Rome wasn't built in a day..