Mkl22 Supersonic May 12, 2023 Share May 12, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 6:43 PM, Lethalstrike said: LTA added AFC on top of the already marked up road tax for EVs. AFC is to make back the lost petrol excise duties, as explained by Heng Swee Kiat in his budget before his runway ran out. Net net the amount u saved in servicing and petrol, you pay it back in depreciation (cause EEAI & VES makan from PARF) and higher road tax. Only in Singapore u kanna penalized for driving a zero exhaust emissions VES A1 230hp EV, and pay more road tax than a VES C1 230hp 2.0L turbo petrol. Wonder how the ADs are going to support their servicing department given that there are less things to break vs a ICE car. what’s there to service anyway. Maybe change brake fluid at most. I doubt one would even need to replace brake pads within 5years. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 12, 2023 Author Share May 12, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Wonder how the ADs are going to support their servicing department given that there are less things to break vs a ICE car. what’s there to service anyway. Maybe change brake fluid at most. I doubt one would even need to replace brake pads within 5years. Change to charging hub lo and restaurant 😂😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 12, 2023 Share May 12, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 7:54 PM, RadX said: Change to charging hub lo and restaurant 😂😂 Aircon filter $200 I think. Wiper $300? 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 12, 2023 Author Share May 12, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Wonder how the ADs are going to support their servicing department given that there are less things to break vs a ICE car. what’s there to service anyway. Maybe change brake fluid at most. I doubt one would even need to replace brake pads within 5years. Tia gong 100k also brake pads never use as is with ICE, I changed at 70k😂😂 my brake pads, front oni 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Wonder how the ADs are going to support their servicing department given that there are less things to break vs a ICE car. what’s there to service anyway. Maybe change brake fluid at most. I doubt one would even need to replace brake pads within 5years. Really not much to service. Check brake pads, brake discs, brake fluids, top up coolant for A/C & battery pack, change cabin filter and change tires. Manufacturers know they can't make much money from servicing EVs, thus the trend of moving to software / features subscriptions 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 6:43 PM, Lethalstrike said: LTA added AFC on top of the already marked up road tax for EVs. AFC is to make back the lost petrol excise duties, as explained by Heng Swee Kiat in his budget before his runway ran out. Net net the amount u saved in servicing and petrol, you pay it back in depreciation (cause EEAI & VES makan from PARF) and higher road tax. Only in Singapore u kanna penalized for driving a zero exhaust emissions VES A1 230hp EV, and pay more road tax than a VES C1 230hp 2.0L turbo petrol. Welcome to singapore (using the chow Yun fatt pirates meme). 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 (edited) On 5/13/2023 at 10:58 AM, Lethalstrike said: Really not much to service. Check brake pads, brake discs, brake fluids, top up coolant for A/C & battery pack, change cabin filter and change tires. Manufacturers know they can't make much money from servicing EVs, thus the trend of moving to software / features subscriptions 😁 Oh... But when things fail with whatever electrical systems. They will be rather catastrophic failures involving lots of $$$. And it's virtually guaranteed that no one in sg can help you repair other than the AD. We don't have independent electric car workshops here. And never will cos it takes quite a lot of electrical knowledge and we don't have a enthusiast or hobbyist scene here. Same if you get a lemon car involving the electrical or software side. But the people owning ev right now are all fat wallet people. 小case Edited May 13, 2023 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 7:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Wonder how the ADs are going to support their servicing department given that there are less things to break vs a ICE car. what’s there to service anyway. Maybe change brake fluid at most. I doubt one would even need to replace brake pads within 5years. Learn from LTA lor. Charge 3-4 times more for brake pad, "inspection fees", etc to offset loss of revenue 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/12/2023 at 8:16 PM, RadX said: Tia gong 100k also brake pads never use as is with ICE, I changed at 70k😂😂 my brake pads, front oni Sure boh? Some ADs always like to upsell brake pad replacement every other service say pads worn liao and brake discs oso koyak. Wear n tear item no warranty but got offer $2k for brake package.... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 13, 2023 Author Share May 13, 2023 On 5/13/2023 at 2:49 PM, Soya said: Sure boh? Some ADs always like to upsell brake pad replacement every other service say pads worn liao and brake discs oso koyak. Wear n tear item no warranty but got offer $2k for brake package.... They go for carrots like those aunty who “must svc one meh’ Last one that was from AD… , F10, 60k also they ask, “u never brake one ah”😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 AD like to scare monger. That time still had service credit and my mum sent her car in. Before I already inspected the brakes and still thick. AD can tell her must change for safety. I told her no need to change anything regardless. If need to change take photo and show me. No photo means con. 😁 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-breaks-out-in-sentosa-cove-house-possibly-due-to-charging-of-electric-vehicle Who ah who ah? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 Was that you Radx? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-breaks-out-in-sentosa-cove-house-possibly-due-to-charging-of-electric-vehicle Fire breaks out in Sentosa Cove house, possibly due to charging of electric vehicle. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/13/2023 at 7:40 PM, Benarsenal said: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-breaks-out-in-sentosa-cove-house-possibly-due-to-charging-of-electric-vehicle Who ah who ah? On 5/13/2023 at 8:25 PM, Kopites said: Was that you Radx? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-breaks-out-in-sentosa-cove-house-possibly-due-to-charging-of-electric-vehicle Fire breaks out in Sentosa Cove house, possibly due to charging of electric vehicle. Mai repeat post. Confirm tio kan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/13/2023 at 8:44 PM, inlinesix said: Mai repeat post. Confirm tio kan He must be busy filing insurance claim now. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 13, 2023 Author Share May 13, 2023 On 5/13/2023 at 8:25 PM, Kopites said: Was that you Radx? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-breaks-out-in-sentosa-cove-house-possibly-due-to-charging-of-electric-vehicle Fire breaks out in Sentosa Cove house, possibly due to charging of electric vehicle. Limpeh is lck there fire is mostly bush fire ppl Wun care😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 (edited) On 5/13/2023 at 8:56 PM, RadX said: Limpeh is lck there fire is mostly bush fire ppl Wun care😂 ...or this ritual also nobody care unless too near their real car...😅 Edited May 13, 2023 by mersaylee 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 13, 2023 Share May 13, 2023 On 5/13/2023 at 9:23 PM, mersaylee said: ...or this ritual also nobody care unless too near their real car...😅 Don't forget the charger hor. ↡ Advertisement 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...