What Happened To Quality German Cars?

Watwheels

On 5/4/2023 at 8:24 PM, ER-3682 said:

But longer Life & less Problem.

German non-Turbo car operating temp 100 deg

Jap car operating temp 80 deg

On 5/3/2023 at 11:30 AM, Watwheels said:

Whoa, dunno what to say. LoL, plastic parts for the win.

JD power quality 2022. Problems per 100 cars. The lesser the better.  See 2:08min.

Who is on top of this list? Not Toyota. Who is at the bottom? See for yourself. Haha...

In Chinese, scared ppl dunno how bad.

volvo 2nd last? hmmm....

On 5/3/2023 at 7:31 PM, Poseidon said:

@RadX I want to buy Lexus but my friends laugh at me 😞

my advise is to be happy, buy car for your own enjoyment from point A to point B, not for conformity to your peers 🧐

On 5/4/2023 at 8:45 AM, Watwheels said:

You are too serious. I look at the list with a pinch of salt.

But some things are true. German cars in the past really can run forever if properly taken care.

Now a lot of unproven tech and mechanical designs are in their cars. And when parts fail and they do fail early it is at the expense of the car owner. Car nuts are now going back to old cars like classic Porsche and merc. They are doing restomod on these cars because they are actually better build with less problems than modern cars. You dont need the digital stuff in the car and just enjoy the drive. 

Funny thing is car buyers are attracted by many and large digital screens in the car. As if their iphone ipad are not enough, need more screens in their faces. Nobody look at what's underneath the hood.

Gotta be Serious .A piece of Paper costing an arm & a Leg.Most x’pensive car in the whole world & onli for 10yrs .

The Classic car scene have been around for a long long time & I went for one ,when I had my 124,I am Literally taken aback. 
Most owners  are pretty young nowadays  ,well ,before I got one ,I do noticed many uncles driving one but am utterly surprise when I went for the meet.

When u are talking abt old cars ,u have to Like dis kind of things,the whole shebang.

Not onli the Mechanical simplicity or the Reliability of it all.

Its all abt the owner, realli,u still needs to go to wshop & servicing,Parts do fail too.

But in Lesser interval per Se.

U have to consider  the Trade off as well.

Engine abit Slow ,Accelerator pedal Veri Heavy(it’s mechanical ,Jac) ,wing mirror Glass are realli Flat(am sure u noe the modern ones are convex),u basically sees nuthing .

I might get back one to one of dis oldies ,it  might be a w115,like the one Steven chia use in Talking point.

But as I mentioned u Must LIKE dis kind of things not bcos it run forever & better built. 

On 5/6/2023 at 12:09 PM, ER-3682 said:

I think German is learning from the 70's British,make Crappy Cars.

Brit cars were good so were the Italians too…… only thing they were rust buckets…. The Japs / Germans had improved on it and took off well ….. it’s only when British Leyland started mopping up companies …. It got too big for its size 

On 5/4/2023 at 8:24 PM, ER-3682 said:

But longer Life & less Problem.

Can’t agree with u more.. it’s so reliable that lotus use it in their Elise.

sad that proton din push their Wira to lotus .. else it would be a formidable car.

imagine using exactly everything in a lotus but slap a proton badge.. 

On 5/8/2023 at 4:04 PM, Sdf4786k said:

Can’t agree with u more.. it’s so reliable that lotus use it in their Elise.

sad that proton din push their Wira to lotus .. else it would be a formidable car.

imagine using exactly everything in a lotus but slap a proton badge.. 

Lotus engineered Proton Satria GTi

😂

On 5/4/2023 at 9:20 PM, D3badge said:

my advise is to be happy, buy car for your own enjoyment from point A to point B, not for conformity to your peers 🧐

That is not what the video is saying.

They are saying the current generation of German made cars are riding on the fame of the older generation of German car built in the past that are of better quality. They are asking how long will it last.

Need to watch what the contents of the video is saying. Those who start comparing German makes with other car makes means you didnt watch and understood what the video is saying. 

The valvetronic is just an example of the unproven mechanical design the car maker has adopted.

They no longer use the throttle body but instead directly link the gas pedal to how much the gap intake valves open. On paper it looks good but the mechanical linkages are so prone to failure. 

They need to focus on making this right with less weak links.

Merc engines used to be built like a tank. But now they down size the engine capacity and turbocharge. TC is prone to leaks.

VW group is famed for its Audi rally cars. So is Porsche.

So now they are selling on fame(past) but are they good?

On 5/8/2023 at 5:12 PM, Watwheels said:

The valvetronic is just an example of the unproven mechanical design the car maker has adopted.

They no longer use the throttle body but instead directly link the gas pedal to how much the gap intake valves open. On paper it looks good but the mechanical linkages are so prone to failure. 

They need to focus on making this right with less weak links.

Merc engines used to be built like a tank. But now they down size the engine capacity and turbocharge. TC is prone to leaks.

VW group is famed for its Audi rally cars. So is Porsche.

So now they are selling on fame(past) but are they good?

Valvetronic and Valvematic use electric motor for valve lift.  That's to reduce pump loss.

it is a valve lift that can be varied in accordance with engine speed.

Accordingly, it is closer to VVTL-i.

Electric motor will die in a 120 deg C engine bay (German car).

On 5/8/2023 at 5:01 PM, Watwheels said:

That is not what the video is saying.

They are saying the current generation of German made cars are riding on the fame of the older generation of German car built in the past that are of better quality. They are asking how long will it last.

Need to watch what the contents of the video is saying. Those who start comparing German makes with other car makes means you didnt watch and understood what the video is saying. 

You should my quote above….. one guy say he wanna buy Lexus but his friends laugh at him. So I tell him buy something he is happy with not conformity to peer pressure and buy what cars your friends approve

On 5/9/2023 at 8:05 AM, D3badge said:

You should my quote above….. one guy say he wanna buy Lexus but his friends laugh at him. So I tell him buy something he is happy with not conformity to peer pressure and buy what cars your friends approve

Only non Car ppl will laugh at Lexus.

On 5/9/2023 at 8:35 AM, inlinesix said:

Only non Car ppl will laugh at Lexus.

I wrote this a decade back in some thread. There are clearly 2 streams of car buyers, specailly car lovers in Sinkie land.

Honda-BMW-Porsche/Ferrari (and the equivalents in each category)

Toyota-Lexus/MB-Bentley (and the equivalents in each category)

So, the first group will always laugh at the second group saying too slow, ah pek blah blah

and

the second group will laugh at first group saying ah beng, poor reliability etc.

I am clearly in the first group from the beginning and my experience with Lexus SUV was only less than a km. Started the car at Leng Kee and took left to Alexandra and told sales person that "enough". Let us not waste your time as I was not going to like it even I take it to AYE. Took U turn at Anchorage and back.

If I was right or wrong will depend on which group I am talking to. I am glad that I am still in first group hehe.

On 5/6/2023 at 1:19 PM, BanCoe said:

Brit cars were good so were the Italians too…… only thing they were rust buckets…. The Japs / Germans had improved on it and took off well ….. it’s only when British Leyland started mopping up companies …. It got too big for its size 

you gotta be kidding when ever were british cars good.

On 5/9/2023 at 9:42 AM, Steptronic said:

I wrote this a decade back in some thread. There are clearly 2 streams of car buyers, specailly car lovers in Sinkie land.

Honda-BMW-Porsche/Ferrari (and the equivalents in each category)

Toyota-Lexus/MB-Bentley (and the equivalents in each category)

So, the first group will always laugh at the second group saying too slow, ah pek blah blah

and

the second group will laugh at first group saying ah beng, poor reliability etc.

I am clearly in the first group from the beginning and my experience with Lexus SUV was only less than a km. Started the car at Leng Kee and took left to Alexandra and told sales person that "enough". Let us not waste your time as I was not going to like it even I take it to AYE. Took U turn at Anchorage and back.

If I was right or wrong will depend on which group I am talking to. I am glad that I am still in first group hehe.

Lexus has a very niche product, LC500 which most ppl will not realise it.

It is rarer than RR Wraith

On 5/9/2023 at 9:54 AM, Mkl22 said:

you gotta be kidding when ever were british cars good.

Not all lah. RR/AM/Bentley all maintaining the standards for decades. Lotus was also very close.

The British Poor management of Jaguar and LR bought them bad names.

On 5/9/2023 at 9:54 AM, inlinesix said:

Lexus has a very niche product, LC500 which most ppl will not realise it.

It is rarer than RR Wraith

My personal opinion:

1. The design is too loud. It is like cutting a huge piece of butter with sharp knives every where.

2. The grill is still no no for me (BMW included) and if at all I buy, I will cover the grills with JB custom made huge number plates hehe

3. 470 hp is too low for a car of 700k plus. Rather I would keep my GTS producing nearly the same hps and nearly at the half price.