1 in 3 adolescents report depression, anxiety

Jman888

1 in 3 adolescents report depression, anxiety but only 10% of parents can spot mental health issues: NUS-led study

• NUS and its research partners did a survey to "understand and establish” the mental health and resilience of adolescents here
  • About one in three of the youth reported mental health symptoms such as depression, anxiety and loneliness
  • This was more serious among those aged 14 to 16
  • It also found that only around one in 10 parents were able to identify "clinical-level mental health symptoms" in their children
  • The survey's lead researcher said the results will help inform and guide the planning of prevention and treatment services here, especially for those at risk

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/1-3-adolescents-depression-anxiety-only-1-10-parents-spot-symptoms-2159106

• Sad 3

The Study

NUS said that the research, done in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, is the first nationwide epidemiological study that seeks to “understand and establish” the mental health and resilience of Singapore’s adolescents.

The university defined resilience as the “ability and capacity” of an individual to prepare for, withstand, adapt and progress in the face of adversities.

The study looked at four key areas: Mental health, resilience, identity development and media activity use.

nowadays many are talking about mental health, adolescents are not as happy as those in the 70s or 80s. Anxiety is quite common among the youngster especially so if you observe some of their behavior.

Nonetheless there are also many who are open to their condition and came forward to seek help. 

"

HELPING YOUNG PEOPLE

Commenting on the findings at a symposium where the survey results were released, Ms Sun Xueling, Minister of State for Social and Family Development,  said that Covid-19 has made growing up even more challenging for young Singaporeans.

Aside from stressors in their life related to work, studies and family, they also did not have the opportunity to interact and socialise with their peers as much as they would have liked to, she added.

On the subject of personal confidence, Ms Sun said that for many young people in Singapore, their self-confidence is tied to how they think they are doing in school.

She suggested that it would be helpful to develop their confidence in other areas instead such as art, music, culture, sports and so on.

To that end, the Government is looking at ways to “build resilience in our children and youths”, which includes better managing the use of digital media so that it becomes a positive contributor to their mental health, she added.

“When we help (young people) develop themselves as confident individuals, it means so much to them when it comes to building that inner sense of resilience so they can better manage other challenges and adversities that come their way.” 

"

if they are generally not working, family are giving them everything.

then it has to be the school system. whats the point and price of having international bragging rights lor. dont see any Nobel winners or amazing inventions.... other than COE.

They know they also no stupid 

They can see their parents life getting harder. Their life gonna get even harder

• Sad 1

I find no matter what age, anxiety is quite common among people now. This is why many people have sleep problem. Overall, depression and anxiety, it does not happen only to adolescents.

Discourage the use of social media or set strict guardrails on mobile phone usage when they are young and the issue will go away....

I have a young relative who just started working and had this depression issue. 

I see it all the time now.  Kids are glued to their mobile during family lunch/dinner. They don't interact with others. Only to their phone.  So they grow up socially incapable to interact. When they started working and needed to interact with colleagues/customers, it stresses them out. It drives them into depression. 

I also got  anxiety and depression.

Not just because of MIL hor

Everything so ex, price of everything going up,

I have to work so hard  . . .

How not to have anxiety and depression?

• Sad 1

On 4/27/2023 at 2:28 PM, Jamesc said:

I also got  anxiety and depression.

Not just because of MIL hor

Everything so ex, price of everything going up,

I have to work so hard  . . .

How not to have anxiety and depression?

Bro you are not an adolescent or young adult la.

Like that I also anxiety ...you know how hard to find cheap cai png now?  Everyday I fear the cai png stall up his price leh

Do a survey on MCF. 99.99% will have anxiety over one thing or another, at one point of time or other or all the times. 😕

On 4/27/2023 at 2:43 PM, Starry said:

Bro you are not an adolescent or young adult la.

Like that I also anxiety ...you know how hard to find cheap cai png now?  Everyday I fear the cai png stall up his price leh

I heard got one MP say some where in Jurong got cheap cai png.

I don't know her name but I cannot forget her face.

Not because I have a good memory but she post here picture everywhere!

You cannot miss it.

Edited by Jamesc

So i in 3 kids

by the time they are adults

it more like 9 out of 10.

Please enjoy their childhood 

before its gone.

Edited by Jamesc

limpeh also anxiety and depression... u see the bloody property prices... shooting so damn high.. coe prices at record high. 

KNN, and stupid shitty times keep harping about singapore as a talent hub and magnet for the rich and famous.... simi lan hub means nothing to the man on the street! what kind of trickle down effects do singaporeans get, other than the goddamn increase of cost of living, coupled with record prices for coe and property. 

Govt shd be heaving a relief that this year is not an errection year, else u probably will lose another GRC. 

On 4/27/2023 at 3:03 PM, Jamesc said:

So i in 3 kids

by the time they are adults

it more like 9 out of 10.

Please enjoy their childhood 

before its gone.

Yea. Better not grow up n hv to buy car. Lagi depressed....

last time when we were young, got no phones, no social media, no bickering or cyberbullying on internet...

everyday sweated it out at the void decks playing football or on the courts playing basketball

where got time to feel depressed 😂

This article is depressing. I think everyone has to find their own solace and happiness, starting from building on relationships with their closed ones and friends. Be glad for what you have, be nice to others, try to laugh more , don’t take things too seriously , and stay healthy. 

ok let’s talk about COE price. Lol. 

All those studi only Preambree Tree never passed thru'  pace...... play in longkang catch spider 1 like @Hoseyboh.... auto becum adult  :grin:...dats our kampung spirit 

Edited by BanCoe