Herman Miller CEO - Leave "Pity City" and focus on sales

Estrangable

This is a classic case of self pawned... canceling bonus for all employees, except for herself. 

"MillerKnoll says a video of CEO Andi Owen telling employees to stop "thinking about what you’re going to do if you don’t get a bonus" was taken "out of context."

Don’t Live in ‘Pity City,’ Office Chair Magnate Tells Employees Who Want Money

“Don't ask about: What are we going to do if we don’t get a bonus?” she asked. “Get the damn $26 million. Spend your time and your effort thinking about the $26 million we need and not thinking about what you’re going to do if you don’t get a bonus. Alright? Can I get some commitment for that?” Then, she whispered for emphasis: “I would appreciate that.” (The $26 million is an internal metric that the company was unwilling to discuss publicly.)"

"For her work, Owen received bonuses of $1.29 million last year and $1.12 million in 2021. "

Edited by Estrangable

On 4/19/2023 at 1:03 PM, Watwheels said:

Why, what happened? Sales of furniture got overtaken by Taobao, China?

they spent 1.2B to buy over Knoll... which is equally ex.... then now its a downturn in terms of sales.. so bonus kenna cancelled lor

so poor thing lor, bonus only $1.3mil very sia suay how to socialise with other CEO who make tens and hundreds of millions? 

On 4/19/2023 at 1:07 PM, Estrangable said:

they spent 1.2B to buy over Knoll... which is equally ex.... then now its a downturn in terms of sales.. so bonus kenna cancelled lor

We have been told to take the bitter pill before too. Singaporeans know the feeling. Very one sided, like telling you matter of factly. 

On 4/19/2023 at 1:30 PM, Watwheels said:

We have been told to take the bitter pill before too. Singaporeans know the feeling. Very one sided, like telling you matter of factly. 

i take umbrage on what you just said. We never had a pill in the first place. It was "IVF" straight into you. 

On 4/19/2023 at 1:34 PM, Estrangable said:

i take umbrage on what you just said. We never had a pill in the first place. It was "IVF" straight into you. 

Cannot be lah. IVF so ex. More like ERP gantry above our heads.

Leave the pity city and enter the erp city.

Shows that many elite are disconnected because their life is in another strata.

They cannot understand the poor assembly worker or the finance chap processing orders don't heck care your xxx million sales target or share price or whatever. They just want to get fair money for their work and go back to their family.

My current place is the same... big boss all think their sales quota is the most important priority for all the minions... everyone should work 20hours a day to milk every cent out of customer... actually most of us just wanna do minimum work for just enough to pass the months...

Pay me $1.3 million I will even happily sack all the staff and not just don't give them any bonus.

I also want to be an uncaring get out of my elite face exploiter of human beings.

It pays so well to exploit your fellow man. Who cares about men? We are both women.

Wiva capitalism.

All you silly caring bleeding hearts communists.

Edited by Jamesc

Not happy work for a caring employer lah.

Why stay if they think they are getting a raw deal?

Welcome to free market capitalism.

Support!

This is how companies should be run.

Toyota is right. He understands.

On 4/19/2023 at 2:22 PM, t0y0ta said:

Shows that many elite are disconnected because their life is in another strata.

They cannot understand the poor assembly worker or the finance chap processing orders don't heck care your xxx million sales target or share price or whatever. They just want to get fair money for their work and go back to their family.

My current place is the same... big boss all think their sales quota is the most important priority for all the minions... everyone should work 20hours a day to milk every cent out of customer... actually most of us just wanna do minimum work for just enough to pass the months...

This 

On 4/19/2023 at 1:22 PM, Jman888 said:

so poor thing lor, bonus only $1.3mil very sia suay how to socialise with other CEO who make tens and hundreds of millions? 

whatsapp-image-2018-08-10-at-19-57-48-jp