2024 Polestar 4

Carbon82

On 4/18/2023 at 11:28 PM, Carbon82 said:

Nice outlook, BUT there is NO rear windscreen! A big NO for me.

And I find Polestar's naming convention rather confusing. This PS4 actually sit between PS2 (compact sedan) and PS3 (mid-size crossover), Swapping the name with PS3 make more sense imo.

Yah they don't follow the usual naming convention in which the bigger the number, the higher up in the hierarchy within the range. 

It's following the birth date of the model. 1 is the limited edition PHEV coupe, followed by 2, then 3 and now 4 🤣

On 4/19/2023 at 9:20 AM, 13177 said:

Whenever i see this car, i always think of Porn-Star. 😁 They should change the name, as i dont find this name very good.

Poledancer + Pornstar = Polestar

Match made in heaven leh 😆

On 4/19/2023 at 7:19 AM, Heartbreakid said:

It is just plain silly to do away the rear windscreen. The car design is actually very attractive until one realise there is no rear windscreen. Assuming that I could have been a potential buyer but I am very put off by this no rear screen design. Silly designer, silly idea.

Sometimes these highly creative people like to reinvent the wheel when there is absolutely no need to

keh kiang as usual.

It's a new entity and brand after the divorce...still young and has much room for growth...although they share many similarities in the technical knowhow with the former partner...design wise still trying to carve out its own dna...i say till they come up with their own platform - currently on Geely's EV SEA modular platform - then the overall design language may be more in control by the team in Gotheburg...

On 4/19/2023 at 2:34 PM, mersaylee said:

It's a new entity and brand after the divorce...still young and has much room for growth...although they share many similarities in the technical knowhow with the former partner...design wise still trying to carve out its own dna...i say till they come up with their own platform - currently on Geely's EV SEA modular platform - then the overall design language may be more in control by the team in Gotheburg...

Likely entire Geely group will use same platform

Just like VAG

On 4/19/2023 at 2:50 PM, inlinesix said:

Likely entire Geely group will use same platform

Just like VAG

That's why pornstar need a dedicated platform then ask parent to share not the way as of now...but chinese designs quite good...look at Xpeng, NIO etc...sleek and simple...

Sekali pornstar just trying to be different with the first with no rear window...😅

Maybe the next polestar will have no windows other than the front windscreen. Replaced with those supposed-to-be windows are screens with projected exterior images or touch-screens and more fancy ambient lightings. Oh wow, sounds very high tech! Polestar you reading this? Can consider since you have removed the rear screen, might as well go all out. GO BIG OR GO HOME! 🤣

I believe in future cars might just come with an all round 360 cam molded on top of the car, what you see  on your dashboard is what is around you, no need even to check blind spot when change lane, all the side mirrors, rear mirror, rear windscreen all useless. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

already some cars now going away with side mirrors and show you the left/right lane on your odometer when you signal left/right.

Edited by Tianmo

On 4/19/2023 at 7:19 AM, Heartbreakid said:

It is just plain silly to do away the rear windscreen. The car design is actually very attractive until one realise there is no rear windscreen. Assuming that I could have been a potential buyer but I am very put off by this no rear screen design. Silly designer, silly idea.

PS4 drivers will not know what a high beam looks like anymore 😆

On 4/21/2023 at 10:48 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

PS4 drivers will not know what a high beam looks like anymore 😆

They can still know through the side mirrors unless Polestar replaces the side mirrors with cameras 😆

Good..i like it.

I like car companies that pushes the envelope. And being spun off from Volvo, one can be assured of the safety aspects even without a rear view mirror.

On 5/1/2023 at 1:44 PM, Hightech88 said:

If rear view cam spoilt how? no need to drive? 😎

Eh? Just drive lor. No different to indicators not working on BMWs cause not used also. 😄

On 5/1/2023 at 1:44 PM, Hightech88 said:

If rear view cam spoilt how? no need to drive? 😎

Move ahead with the times lah...

Last time people also say, "electronic center console electronic spoil how ?"..or "speedometer electronic spoil how ?".

On 5/2/2023 at 2:27 PM, Hightech88 said:

@Davidklt This is a controversial and radical design and we are talking about entire rear windscreen being block and depending only on an external rear view cam without redundancy. They could have just installed the rear cam as an added feature for wider angle view to complement a dual-function rear view mirror while retaining the rear window.

Hence this poses a much higher risk as compared to speedo or in car entertainment system which is a natural transition from electro-mechanical to electronics and digital technology. It also induces claustrophobia for the rear passengers like a cocoon unable to have a quick look at cars or scenery through a rear window.

Besides, it also blocks other drivers from seeing what the driver is behaving in the vehicle, e.g. if the driver is hogging the road and drives very slowing due to constant talking to the front passenger, one can tell from behind and can try to overtake or siam. For this car, SMLJ also can't see and it becomes very irritating for car drivers behind.

The current LTA requirement for rear window tinting " At least 25% of light must be able to pass through the rear windscreen and the two rear side windows ".

It will be interesting to see whether LTA allows such vehicle to come to our shores.😇

LTA say no? 🤣

Most of the vehicle compliance specs either follow EU or Japan. You give LTA too much credit. No car design or manufacturing capability here and yet want to dictate specs? Please….. 

LTA should look into the the mirror and reflect, to see their Fugly ERP2 trio of boxes that no competent organization would ever sign off on. 
fugly is only the 1st part. Break down and Kenna condemn like hell will be the  next. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 5/2/2023 at 2:27 PM, Hightech88 said:

@Davidklt This is a controversial and radical design and we are talking about entire rear windscreen being block and depending only on an external rear view cam without redundancy. They could have just installed the rear cam as an added feature for wider angle view to complement a dual-function rear view mirror while retaining the rear window.

Hence this poses a much higher risk as compared to speedo or in car entertainment system which is a natural transition from electro-mechanical to electronics and digital technology. It also induces claustrophobia for the rear passengers like a cocoon unable to have a quick look at cars or scenery through a rear window.

Besides, it also blocks other drivers from seeing what the driver is behaving in the vehicle, e.g. if the driver is hogging the road and drives very slowing due to constant talking to the front passenger, one can tell from behind and can try to overtake or siam. For this car, SMLJ also can't see and it becomes very irritating for car drivers behind.

The current LTA requirement for rear window tinting " At least 25% of light must be able to pass through the rear windscreen and the two rear side windows ".

It will be interesting to see whether LTA allows such vehicle to come to our shores.😇

I think you did not see the press interview. 

"The company said that the digital feed improves safety, especially at night. Of note, the display can be deactivated by pressing a button so that the driver can see the rear passengers.

"This is an amazing functional improvement to have the back window removed," Polestar CEO Thomas Ingenlath said. "At night you don't just see two tiny dots in the rearview mirror, you see so much more. And you can also look to see your kids back there with the press of a button."

A few more points:

Because of the design, even if a rear window is added, the driver would not be able to see much through it. 

Also to your point on passenger comfort, Polestar said the exact opposite of your statement. In fact, they mentioned that without the rear window, rear passenger would feel like cocooned like they are in a living room. And how often does the rear passengers turn to look thru the rear windscreen?

For LTA, it has never been an issue. The supercars we have here for example actually do not meet their noise emission requirements. But their released statements are that the cars are designed to meet international standards.