Patch Fuel Tank,use what type of Epoxy.?

ER-3682

Use the JB weld for plastic. Can try. 

81M++I7cx9L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Should be quite tedious to repair. Have to empty out the tank. Clean it, dry etc.

Whoever is doing I think also feels reluctant to patch it. Like you said it's an old porsche the plastic could have turned brittle. More cracks might appear while trying to patch the tank. Imo not worth patching.

Safety first spend the 3k so no bbq le

Recoup the money tailgate out of carparks.

All the German cars are doing it now.

BM, Metcs, Audi etc etc

Edited by Jamesc

On 4/16/2023 at 11:33 PM, Tianmo said:

15 min can settle?

I have never done it before, but I am assuming need check for leak first,  drain out  petrol, let the tank dry, patch up crack, let it set in, fill petrol back, check if any more leaks, then consider done. 

You sure 15 min can finish all these? Or you mean just jack up and paste handyplaste like that OK liao? With the plastic wet, and petrol leaking can just paste?

Wah sibey good leh, your WS do this to your leaked tank? You OK with it? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Expand  

Haha joking, i mean plastic should be glue nia mah, if no need to dismantle the tank, just jack up the car, i suspect it is doable.  15 min job, 1 day wait time to dry. But glue for plastic tank seems to be a common practice, quite a few US brand are using plastic tank also. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/17/2023 at 12:30 AM, Jamesc said:

Buy Porsche want to use glue to fix hole!

Don't have a big head don't wear a big hat!

Expand  

Old car lah, rich people very cost conscious one.  Some of these people have multiple cars some more.  Every dollar saved is a new rolex soon.😁😁

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/17/2023 at 1:21 AM, Ct3833 said:

Haha joking, i mean plastic should be glue nia mah, if no need to dismantle the tank, just jack up the car, i suspect it is doable.  15 min job, 1 day wait time to dry. But glue for plastic tank seems to be a common practice, quite a few US brand are using plastic tank also. 

Expand  

i am not saying plastic tanks are uncommon,  I have seen some lorries here with plastic tanks also. Glue back plastic also depend on the condition and the age of the tank, not because ang moh doing it means we can do it or should do it. 

The way you put it is like open mouth drink water so easy,  you suspect 15 min doable, I also suspect if anyone listen to you likely going to surprise themselves or cause a mess out of it.

But I suspect only lah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/17/2023 at 1:23 AM, Ct3833 said:

Old car lah, rich people very cost conscious one.  Some of these people have multiple cars some more.  Every dollar saved is a new rolex soon.😁😁

Expand  

Old car or new car makes no difference when your life is travelling in it. When there is a fuel tank leak, and the car is moving, fuel from the leaked tank will fly you know? All it takes is for the ah beng in front in that BMW to throw his ciggy butt out and meet the dropping petrol underneath the car, and your rolex  will just become a bbq metal case. 

I also know of ppl who own a few cars in the family, they may not be too particular with the keeping the car tip top like some, but they never compromise such safety. 

Save that few dollar for a new rolex putting your own safety at risk? Wah, that's a new theory totally man. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Everyone can use metal fuel tank.

Porsche have to use plastic.

I bet they will say spot car save weight.

BS lah plastic is save cost!

I hate plastics in cars. It will always crack with our heat.

So buy German cars good hor.

Pay for the badge to show off lah!

The other thing is older cars use metal and new cars use plastic.

jamesc only sells old cars that are made to last!

This one really rich man problem!

Poor people like me never have this kind of problem.

I wish I had a Porsche with a leaky fuel tank.

I will let my MIL drive it until end of life.

After repair I can get my MIL help test it.

If still leaking your rich fren shouldn't drive it.

If still leaking I save a lot of money from paying RadX.

He got enough money.

Edited by Jamesc

On 4/17/2023 at 5:26 AM, Jamesc said:

After repair I can get my MIL help test it.

If still leaking your rich fren shouldn't drive it.

If still leaking I save a lot of money from paying RadX.

He got enough money.

Expand  

HIs is this type?

image.png.fee0c36c0b289d89ba9c877063af4251.png