Patch Fuel Tank,use what type of Epoxy.?

ER-3682

Hi Guru,my good Friend's old Porsche Plastic Fuel Tank is leaking,change a new one costed over $3,000,any idea what Epoxy best for Fuel Tank.?Thanks in advance.

Not sure about plastic fuel tanks can use those epoxy type sold at hardware shops ( mostly is for metal)  …but if there are holes popped up ….. won’t new ones pop up later likely too …… then again start patching up …. Gonna be tough in my opinion 

Google for  " Polypropylene fuel tank repair kit".  A brand called Tech Bond seems quite popular in the US. 

On 4/16/2023 at 3:13 PM, BanCoe said:

Not sure about plastic fuel tanks can use those epoxy type sold at hardware shops ( mostly is for metal)  …but if there are holes popped up ….. won’t new ones pop up later likely too …… then again start patching up …. Gonna be tough in my opinion 

No worries.... Can quickly sell the car after the repair!

On 4/16/2023 at 3:16 PM, Ct3833 said:

Google for  " Polypropylene fuel tank repair kit".  A brand called Tech Bond seems quite popular in the US. 

Gasoline is a strong solvent , better use purpose made bonding material, forgot to say there are other brands available from shopee etc

Curious so Google :

https://www.google.com/search?q=Temporary+fix+for+gas+tank+leak&client=ms-android-samsung-rev2&sa=X&source=android-browser&prmd=vsin&sxsrf=APwXEddVcwZKvwqFyGmyNWbkPk1DfvlzAw:1681634246267&source=univ&tbm=shop&ved=2ahUKEwjZ94_f_63-AhXp7TgGHRH3BfkQ1TUoAHoECAcQFw&biw=384&bih=637&dpr=2.81

Disclaimer : no use any b4 so do read whatever first. 

On other hand, seriously, such fix usually temporary. Touch wood, if leak upon right place at right time, wrong event may occur, like car on fire.

Definitely cost more than $3k then. 

Just yada-ing. Me oso 2 minds about selling it after temporary fix. Yes lah, I cherish my sleep very much one. 😁😴😅

Stay safe 

On 4/16/2023 at 4:42 PM, Gnahp said:

angmo swear by it

jbweldcom_294558229.png

But it’s only for metal tanks right ?? His one is synthetic plastic 

On 4/16/2023 at 6:38 PM, BanCoe said:

But it’s only for metal tanks right ?? His one is synthetic plastic 

maybe they have something for the plastic

I look at their catalogue until my head also spin 🤪

Ask your friend not to be stingy la. With petrol don’t risk it. $3k still cheaper than a BBQ porker! 😅

I know it’s front tank. But still some risk to leak to burn. 

Seriously can drive Porky don't save on $3000 on fuel tank replacement ba.........

Later become Por-cheng-Hiang

On 4/16/2023 at 8:49 PM, Si4dr said:

Seriously can drive Porky don't save on $3000 on fuel tank replacement ba.........

Later become Por-cheng-Hiang

this is gold! hit the nail at the right spot. 

20 yrs ago, I drove a hyundai sonata, costed me $4000 to replace a leaked fuel tank. So I don't quite understand how a Porsche driver would weigh $3000 over his life,  in addition to the trouble of doing DIY to patch up the leak.

I believe has to DIY because most WS won't do it. Mine was metal tank, and my WS told me no one willing to weld it back for me because too dangerous,  and could not find a used one, lanlan waited 3 weeks for a replacement tank. Everyday so worry someone would throw lighted ciggy butt near my car. 

$3000 today to change a fuel tank very costly meh? Maybe should consider scrap the car instead.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/16/2023 at 3:13 PM, BanCoe said:

If my close friend ask me for such help, personally I won't even start asking around. 

I will 100% tell him to find a lot far away from the rest, park there and put a note for others don't park near, then faster go order a replacement unit, if car really old at least see if can get a used one. If financial not too healthy at the moment,  I can consider paying for the new tank first.  I not very rich, but I sure think the safety of my close friend is worth more than $3000.

I said close friend hor, so don't all start telling me your fuel tank leaked, I give you KNN only, I say first.   [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 4/16/2023 at 11:56 PM, Tianmo said:

20 yrs ago, I drove a hyundai sonata, costed me $4000 to replace a leaked fuel tank. So I don't quite understand how a Porsche driver would weigh $3000 over his life,  in addition to the trouble of doing DIY to patch up the leak.

I believe has to DIY because most WS won't do it. Mine was metal tank, and my WS told me no one willing to weld it back for me because too dangerous,  and could not find a used one, lanlan waited 3 weeks for a replacement tank. Everyday so worry someone would throw lighted ciggy butt near my car. 

$3000 today to change a fuel tank very costly meh? Maybe should consider scrap the car instead.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Your hyundai steel tank cost 3k, porsche plastic tank already 3k, porsche is still more expensive🤣.

Your workshop is correct, try to wield a fuel tank which involves spark and high temperature  is a suicidal move, no one will do it. 

But for plastic bonding(glue), there will be workshops  more than happy to jack up the car for a low risk  15min job.

On 4/17/2023 at 1:15 AM, Ct3833 said:

Your hyundai steel tank cost 3k, porsche plastic tank already 3k, porsche is still more expensive🤣.

Your workshop is correct, try to wield a fuel tank which involves spark and high temperature  is a suicidal move, no one will do it. 

But for plastic bonding(glue), there will be workshops  more than happy to jack up the car for a low risk  15min job.

15 min can settle?

I have never done it before, but I am assuming need check for leak first,  drain out  petrol, let the tank dry, patch up crack, let it set in, fill petrol back, check if any more leaks, then consider done. 

You sure 15 min can finish all these? Or you mean just jack up and paste handyplaste like that OK liao? With the plastic wet, and petrol leaking can just paste?

Wah sibey good leh, your WS do this to your leaked tank? You OK with it? [laugh][laugh][laugh]