Watwheels Supersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 So did anyone here bought a car or two at the expo? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 (edited) On 4/17/2023 at 8:03 AM, Jamesc said: Used car dealers are like people that buy shares. Shares goes up so call free money. Stock market crash how? Free losses? It's so profitable I encourage everyone to sell used cars instead of drive PHVs or do food delivery. Don't say good things I never share. Typical human reaction la, see others make money jealous mah and when see others lose money, celebrate 😂 Edited April 17, 2023 by Ginyu 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 8:04 AM, Lotr said: Agree that's why I qualified my statement on free money with in the time of sharp COE price increase. They always take in car at paper value so as to minimize loss during falling coes. Anyway , when COE price is low, more people will be buying new cars, so they also don't need to stock up that many used cars Actually this has not been true for more than a year already. I bought my MG at $99k (depre below $10k) and traded it in 1.5 years later at $115k. That's certainly way above the paper value. One of my colleague got a used Stonic at $85k (late 2021) and around 10 months later (when Cat A also started increasing) sold it for $90k which is also above paper value. Used car prices are being "supported" (I feel "inflated" has unfair negative connotations) by the high price of new cars due to the high COE. Based on the ads posted on sgcarmart, both my MG and my colleague's Stonic were subsequently sold at around $8k and $6k profit respectively and the cars were quickly snapped up. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/16/2023 at 9:29 PM, Mkl22 said: Already said many times 2009 lows, likely will have low in 2019. So I say here again. Next low likely 2029 plus minus 6mths but if to you whether coe is 30-40k or 120k makes no diff then please buy now. 🤣 Then I will need a 4-5 year old car when my Coe is up in jan 2025. Was planning for a 6 year old one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 (edited) On 4/16/2023 at 7:04 PM, D3badge said: Radx and me bought in 2021 at 46k COE some bargain hunters laugh at us 😂 RadX change car like underwear, and already bought another two cars after that. So his decision is bit irrelevant. Edited April 17, 2023 by Lala81 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 8:55 AM, Kar_lover said: Actually this has not been true for more than a year already. I bought my MG at $99k (depre below $10k) and traded it in 1.5 years later at $115k. That's certainly way above the paper value. One of my colleague got a used Stonic at $85k (late 2021) and around 10 months later (when Cat A also started increasing) sold it for $90k which is also above paper value. Used car prices are being "supported" (I feel "inflated" has unfair negative connotations) by the high price of new cars due to the high COE. Based on the ads posted on sgcarmart, both my MG and my colleague's Stonic were subsequently sold at around $8k and $6k profit respectively and the cars were quickly snapped up. Oh yeah I almost forgot that my car can also sell near to the price I paid for 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 9:14 AM, Lala81 said: RadX change car like underwear, and already bought another two cars after that. So his decision is bit irrelevant. He very emo one...tyre lao hong change everything else instead of pump air...😁 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 8:55 AM, Kar_lover said: Actually this has not been true for more than a year already. I bought my MG at $99k (depre below $10k) and traded it in 1.5 years later at $115k. That's certainly way above the paper value. One of my colleague got a used Stonic at $85k (late 2021) and around 10 months later (when Cat A also started increasing) sold it for $90k which is also above paper value. Used car prices are being "supported" (I feel "inflated" has unfair negative connotations) by the high price of new cars due to the high COE. Based on the ads posted on sgcarmart, both my MG and my colleague's Stonic were subsequently sold at around $8k and $6k profit respectively and the cars were quickly snapped up. If sold but no buy another car then huat la. But if you sell and buy another also not much difference. 😂 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 9:34 AM, 13177 said: If sold but no buy another car then huat la. But if you sell and buy another also not much difference. 😂 Yes, in a way like property, buy high sell high, buy low sell low. My reply was specifically to the statement that "dealer take in car at paper value". 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 9:24 AM, mersaylee said: He very emo one...tyre lao hong change everything else instead of pump air...😁 Urban legend has it that water marks on the paint work also jitao change car… 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 10:22 AM, Freeder said: Urban legend has it that water marks on the paint work also jitao change car… I oso heard once his petrol tank empty, he rather change car instead going to pump 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 17, 2023 Author Share April 17, 2023 Nbz u all…😂😂 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 10:24 AM, Soya said: I oso heard once his petrol tank empty, he rather change car instead going to pump No wonder he change to EV liao. So no battery change car again? Or change battery? 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 10:24 AM, Soya said: I oso heard once his petrol tank empty, he rather change car instead going to pump Road tax also same … 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 10:35 AM, Daniu82 said: No wonder he change to EV liao. So no battery change car again? Or change battery? When his house got black out...oh wait...sekali he oredi has a generator on standby...to power up the car not the house since he's used to the dark side of everything...😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 9:14 AM, Lala81 said: RadX change car like underwear, and already bought another two cars after that. So his decision is bit irrelevant. This show Casket Company's Business good Profit. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/16/2023 at 7:04 PM, D3badge said: Radx and me bought in 2021 at 46k COE some bargain hunters laugh at us 😂 thats the same level as dec 2016 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 @Watwheels Nobody will dare to say they bought a car during the expo, scared people laugh at them. ↡ Advertisement 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...