Playtime Twincharged April 15, 2023 Share April 15, 2023 On 4/14/2023 at 6:37 AM, kobayashiGT said: We done pretty well to reach where we are lah. But then I haven't reap the benefit leh. Now one HDB suka suka 500K, How I afford? I jiak ownself alrd. I think i need to rent a house at JB then follow JHK cross the border come SG work. Expand I think tks made very good points. Has housing gone from giving freedom to "owners" to become a huge iron ball round their necks. No doubt in the earlier pre 2000 times I heard of people flipping and making very good money. But now, as tks said, it prevents people from taking career and entrepreneurs risk. https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2023/04/10/professor-tay-kheng-soon-highlights-selling-of-hdbs-as-assets-as-singapores-greatest-housing-mistake/ I think same happening in education. Many parents of primary school kids have problem doing their maths homework. We can boast our primary school math problems famous worldwide.. but for what purpose and gain?? Other than stressing out our children🤨. In the end, students from "lousy" still nations come as FT. Our elites all send their children overseas. 🤷♂️ Alot of form over substance going on. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 15, 2023 Share April 15, 2023 (edited) On 4/15/2023 at 7:36 AM, Playtime said: I think same happening in education. Many parents of primary school kids have problem doing their maths homework. We can boast our primary school math problems famous worldwide.. but for what purpose and gain?? Other than stressing out our children🤨. In the end, students from "lousy" still nations come as FT. Our elites all send their children overseas. 🤷♂️ Alot of form over substance going on. Expand This is a good example you stated. Form over substance. For sake of KPI and statistics, accolades and awards, all tangible achievements which contribute to the policy maker's appraisal. But no one assesses if these "best in world" status is just an end in itself; or is it can benefit us or are actually leading to downstream problems? Edited April 15, 2023 by Sosaria 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/14/2023 at 1:42 AM, Playtime said: LKY is a person. There is a HUGE difference between a person that delivers results in his lifetime and a SYSTEM that last beyond his lifetime. Its like in the office, you wanna depend on a super performer who will ineitably leave? or a system? LKY was always afraid things wont last after he is gone, hence wanting to climb out of the grave. Did he leave behind a good system is the question. Expand the current are only here to make money... make as much as possible... Tax as much as possibe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 GLSGL...hope another group of strong men and women emerge when that hard times cum...🙏😅 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 I don't blame the system created, the system has subject to change at all the times as changing environment are moving and we have to keep updating. I blame the people who took over the system and making it weaker as environment changes. In the past, we have people willing to serve. Today, we pay and people just come and make money. What can we say? Gone were those days where we were poor and the group of people leading us took care of us, we managed to survive and make it. Now is time you choose just be your own contented self and be lag behind or you just go out and get yourself moving to be ahead. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 1:43 AM, Arogab said: I don't blame the system created, the system has subject to change at all the times as changing environment are moving and we have to keep updating. I blame the people who took over the system and making it weaker as environment changes. In the past, we have people willing to serve. Today, we pay and people just come and make money. What can we say? Gone were those days where we were poor and the group of people leading us took care of us, we managed to survive and make it. Now is time you choose just be your own contented self and be lag behind or you just go out and get yourself moving to be ahead. Expand 1. The persons has overstayed resulted in things NOT changing. No one going to change what's has been set by the pioneer especially that pioneer 2. Nowadays, we paying ppl for their service rather than their sacrifice. We are talking about million dollar paycheck. Civil service/technocrat thinks differently from us in the corporate world especially those of us who have never been in the system. 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 2:02 AM, inlinesix said: 1. The persons has overstayed resulted in things NOT changing. No one going to change what's has been set by the pioneer especially that pioneer 2. Nowadays, we paying ppl for their service rather than their sacrifice. We are talking about million dollar paycheck. Civil service/technocrat thinks differently from us in the corporate world especially those of us who have never been in the system. Expand Too bad lah, people still can change but if don't want then boh pian liao. I don't do the weak things my mentor has always display. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 Why blame him for high HDB prices? That was Wooden not him. Blame the right people please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 And he didn't even want Wooden. He wanted Tony Blame the right people please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 2:02 AM, inlinesix said: 1. The persons has overstayed resulted in things NOT changing. No one going to change what's has been set by the pioneer especially that pioneer 2. Nowadays, we paying ppl for their service rather than their sacrifice. We are talking about million dollar paycheck. Civil service/technocrat thinks differently from us in the corporate world especially those of us who have never been in the system. Expand Agree. Next year will be PM Lee's 20th year as PM. Just for comparison, his lao peh served 26 years. Ah Goh 'only' 13 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 12:21 PM, Benarsenal said: Agree. Next year will be PM Lee's 20th year as PM. Just for comparison, his lao peh served 26 years. Ah Goh 'only' 13 years. Expand Bothly stays too long 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 2:29 AM, Arogab said: Too bad lah, people still can change but if don't want then boh pian liao. I don't do the weak things my mentor has always display. Expand Like what strong things do you want Pinky to whip up ……. He can’t give freebies and will NEVER ….. is the situation in France any better …. Do we go the Dubai style…….. even NZ premier also burnout …… or Bhutan style ( where wealth is measured by happiness) …. No hinterland for us just like HK (but they have an umbilical cord) …or Sri Lanka… or just across the Causeway ….. But we have been #1 in almost every thing Airport , Guv, Medical , Schools, Civil Svc…..and the infamy bragging status for cars and cost of Housing ….. nuclear families aspirations ….. UHNW people are popping up even in Dubai by the truckloads with “hot money” though now of late they have tightened the screws on this money laundering laws but it’s on heat too as far as property prices are hot too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 This is nothing new at all. https://theindependent.sg/singaporean-says-he-feels-like-a-second-class-citizen-as-his-foreign-classmates-are-advancing-to-uni-while-he-serves-ns/ But even before FT, there were already even worse problem. During my time. How to tell soldiers from hougang / potong pasir they are all equal and must "do your duty" to enjoy Singapore's privileges when they see their parents back home no lift upgrading while soldiers from marine parade / ang mo kio simi sai also have 🤮🤮🤮 Systemic problem lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 12:21 PM, Benarsenal said: Agree. Next year will be PM Lee's 20th year as PM. Just for comparison, his lao peh served 26 years. Ah Goh 'only' 13 years. Expand First 5 years saw raising political salaries to ridiculous heights and missing all kinds of problems sounded during GCT time. Second 5 years spent rushing to catch up transport, hdb, university places, medical instruments, excessive immigration etc after poll result slap. Singapore probably lost 10 years of development. Third 5 years continue second 5 years, plus mega fixing of opposition and dissent. Forget plus screw up succession planning. Even GCT buay song. Last 5 years... "family time" So really... minus weekends and public holidays , maybe can't say 20 years la. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 17, 2023 Share April 17, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 1:25 PM, Playtime said: First 5 years saw raising political salaries to ridiculous heights and missing all kinds of problems sounded during GCT time. Second 5 years spent rushing to catch up transport, hdb, university places, medical instruments, excessive immigration etc after poll result slap. Singapore probably lost 10 years of development. Third 5 years continue second 5 years, plus mega fixing of opposition and dissent. Forget plus screw up succession planning. Even GCT buay song. Last 5 years... "family time" So really... minus weekends and public holidays , maybe can't say 20 years la. Expand Honestly I felt he should have left after GE2011. He did enough damage during the 2000s. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged April 18, 2023 Share April 18, 2023 On 4/17/2023 at 12:54 PM, BanCoe said: Like what strong things do you want Pinky to whip up ……. He can’t give freebies and will NEVER ….. is the situation in France any better …. Do we go the Dubai style…….. even NZ premier also burnout …… or Bhutan style ( where wealth is measured by happiness) …. No hinterland for us just like HK (but they have an umbilical cord) …or Sri Lanka… or just across the Causeway ….. But we have been #1 in almost every thing Airport , Guv, Medical , Schools, Civil Svc…..and the infamy bragging status for cars and cost of Housing ….. nuclear families aspirations ….. UHNW people are popping up even in Dubai by the truckloads with “hot money” though now of late they have tightened the screws on this money laundering laws but it’s on heat too as far as property prices are hot too Expand Pinky need to be more assertive and hardline on his team lah. I can see we are falling behind due to some of those "Honest Mistakes" claims. What honest mistakes?? I don't, I always give my team the push together with stick and carrot and I don't bargain. To be honest, my boss asks me to change the ten year culture. I start by firing the guy who has created the ten year culture to begin with. And at no hesitation. I move the people appropriately and set new rules. We really have lots of certain things within us need to resolve. But of cos SG people also plays a part Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 1:30 AM, Arogab said: Pinky need to be more assertive and hardline on his team lah. I can see we are falling behind due to some of those "Honest Mistakes" claims. What honest mistakes?? I don't, I always give my team the push together with stick and carrot and I don't bargain. To be honest, my boss asks me to change the ten year culture. I start by firing the guy who has created the ten year culture to begin with. And at no hesitation. I move the people appropriately and set new rules. We really have lots of certain things within us need to resolve. But of cos SG people also plays a part Expand Hearsay, Pinky insists that HSK take a bigger drawdown from reserves. Unlike you, he trusts ppl who had worked closely with him. Look at the profile of 2 PM candidate. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 18, 2023 Share April 18, 2023 On 4/18/2023 at 1:30 AM, Arogab said: Pinky need to be more assertive and hardline on his team lah. I can see we are falling behind due to some of those "Honest Mistakes" claims. What honest mistakes?? I don't, I always give my team the push together with stick and carrot and I don't bargain. To be honest, my boss asks me to change the ten year culture. I start by firing the guy who has created the ten year culture to begin with. And at no hesitation. I move the people appropriately and set new rules. We really have lots of certain things within us need to resolve. But of cos SG people also plays a part Expand Laoban ….. I lobby to BanCoe 🤣🤣…. Going nowhere oso …. back to table wiping 🥹……. Here also staff shortage ….. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...