Mcdonald prepares for staff layoff, citing shift in strategy to focus on digital and delivery

BabyBlade

MCD's employees were first warned of layoff plans in early January 2023: https://www.businessinsider.com/mcdonalds-ceo-warns-staff-of-possible-layoffs-in-spring-2023

But in an announcement last week, MCD's corporate employees were told to work remotely from April 3-5 and to reschedule any in-person meetings at McDonald's global headquarters in Chicago in order to "communicate key decisions related to roles and staffing levels across the organization."

Summary:

1 McDonald's offices will temporarily close as the company prepares for layoffs, per an internal memo.

2 The company is shifting its strategy to focus on digital, delivery, and restaurant unit growth.

McDonald's employs over 150,000 corporate employees, including employees at its corporate-owned restaurants.

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/read-full-memo-mcdonalds-outlines-133349184.html

Time to move on to KFC? Or will KFC follow suit? 

All Companies are on Monkey See Monkey Do “ trending” ….. so don’t want to miss out or re-do the maths 

Many silver generation staff will be jobless very soon. 

They will not be able to do delivery, so, most likely they will rake up exercise - cardboard collecting!

think they going to hire more AI robot to do the manual job ^_^

actually flipping burgers and cooking fried can be done by robots.

Singapore Mcd business very good lah... 

In US the Mcd inside quiet quiet, similar for Germany. 

On 4/5/2023 at 5:21 PM, Tohto said:

in spore ... McD is "atas" food compares to hawker chicken rice or CKT .... LOL

On 4/5/2023 at 5:27 PM, Wt_know said:

Singapore Mcd marketing power lah... all kids will know want to go Mcd.

And our MCF has one mcd supporter MIA for long long time already.

I used to be part of the Pioneer group Ground break #1 store@Liat Tower

Hamburger used to be $1.10, cheeseburger $1.30, Filet-O fish $2.10, French fried $1.00S, Large $1.XX their Motto is QSC value for money.Average check is #3.30-$.00 per head . . . 40 year later prices has rocketed . . . No Greeting, No smile, NO bye, Cya again.

You do to robot machine place your order, Take a Q and wait for pick-up , take own condiments of coffee sugar, ketchup, stirrer etc and either you wait for order to be ready or you have special order, they come with a " Force smile "@ your table. you eat and you CAYG _ " Clean as You Go " literally you pick up own mess, all into a tray and dump into the rubbish bin. 

Today, One may get Quality foods, but the portion has shrieked , Service _ None, Cleanliness_ acceptable equal Value for $$$- U tell me

Average $7.50-$9.XX per head

my friend was wondering everywhere also laying off :slow:

why our cabinet so many Jiak Liao Bee not cut manpower huh :want:

like that can save taxpayer tons of money leh :yuush:

This news is for the US bah? The local company Han Bao Bao pte ltd never made such announcement.

Anyway US burger joints are very competitive and there are a lot to choose from. And they are also reacting to the recent rising Fed rate hikes.

It this the reason why their app is so crappy? I try to register their app until i give up liao. 😅

On 4/5/2023 at 5:27 PM, Wt_know said:

The size of their burger is pathetic nowsaday, i swear no more mcd unless they make back the old size

On 4/5/2023 at 5:21 PM, Tohto said:

in the US, a lot of Mcd outlets are patronised by 黑人and poor local american, in some places i dont even dare to walk in. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/5/2023 at 10:04 PM, Ct3833 said:

in the US, a lot of Mcd outlets are patronised by 黑人and poor local american, in some places i dont even dare to walk in

yup ... i once entered a fast food outlet in LA ... straightaway turnaround and left "act calmly" 

the entire ordering counter is protected with FENCE ... got a lobang to take food ...  jit dong jeng !

On 4/5/2023 at 10:04 PM, Ct3833 said:

in the US, a lot of Mcd outlets are patronised by 黑人and poor local american, in some places i dont even dare to walk in. 

Yes, same thought. 

I did not get in, but at outside see so empty and just a few black inside.

Edited by Tohto

On 4/5/2023 at 8:59 PM, inlinesix said:

For the price of McD, I rather eat Shake Shack

Shake shack at $12 you only get a burger here . At US it make more sense when a burger cost about usd 9.

Edited by Tohto