steveluv Twincharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Sad to watch this video about the reality young people in China are facing ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Wow.... zhuguo supposed to be glorious under xjp, how come these youngster so jialat de! 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Planking ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Fake news.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 (edited) Seems to be hearing two things. "Lie flat" is because people actually do have jobs - i.e. not unemployed - but they decide to leave the rat race and go for more relaxed lifestyle. Read an article recently, some quit the city and go hainan to live the beachboy / surfer life. We are heading this way too with this generation. They feel overworked / underpaid, cannot afford the lifestyle they want, so might as well take it easy and go for quality of life or more work-life balance. Edited April 5, 2023 by Sosaria 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 11:06 AM, Sosaria said: Seems to be hearing two things. "Lie flat" is because people actually do have jobs - i.e. not unemployed - but they decide to leave the rat race and go for more relaxed lifestyle. Read an article recently, some quit the city and go hainan to live the beachboy / surfer life. We are heading this way too with this generation. They feel overworked / underpaid, cannot afford the lifestyle they want, so might as well take it easy and go for quality of life or more work-life balance. Lie flat basically is do nothing. It is a bare minimum lifestyle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 11:06 AM, Sosaria said: Seems to be hearing two things. "Lie flat" is because people actually do have jobs - i.e. not unemployed - but they decide to leave the rat race and go for more relaxed lifestyle. Read an article recently, some quit the city and go hainan to live the beachboy / surfer life. We are heading this way too with this generation. They feel overworked / underpaid, cannot afford the lifestyle they want, so might as well take it easy and go for quality of life or more work-life balance. I don't blame them. Slog so hard at a thankless job and cannot even afford HDB. Might as well YOLO and enjoy life. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Winnie the Pooh is the best lah 🤐🤐🤐 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 11:47 AM, Benarsenal said: I don't blame them. Slog so hard at a thankless job and cannot even afford HDB. Might as well YOLO and enjoy life. i never understood the housing part. have spoken to several prcs i knew, they all say its the accepted tradition and culture that parents will buy a house for their children to get married. but....in my mind, the parents likely came from a generation where wages were very very low and dont have much savings anyway. But todays prc housing prices can be even more expensive than what we have, how the fish do the parents pay for the chindrens house??? long term this system can work meh? Unless all are having rich parents.🙄 also, i have had prc tell me their parents collect retirement (their version of CPF) monthly a few thousand RMB. i dunno.... maybe their parents are ex party cadres with golden retirements. the maths dont seem to work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 I also wants to leave the rats and lie flat but I cannot afford to! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 12:20 PM, Jamesc said: I also wants to leave the rats and lie flat but I cannot afford to! Have to run even faster before can leave the race...😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 12:06 PM, Playtime said: i never understood the housing part. have spoken to several prcs i knew, they all say its the accepted tradition and culture that parents will buy a house for their children to get married. but....in my mind, the parents likely came from a generation where wages were very very low and dont have much savings anyway. But todays prc housing prices can be even more expensive than what we have, how the fish do the parents pay for the chindrens house??? long term this system can work meh? Unless all are having rich parents.🙄 also, i have had prc tell me their parents collect retirement (their version of CPF) monthly a few thousand RMB. i dunno.... maybe their parents are ex party cadres with golden retirements. the maths dont seem to work. I wonder whether these ppl got any house from their parents. Housing in cities smaller than tier 3 is still "affordable". Tier 1 & 2 will be difficult. In China, everyone has to pay Social Insurance. I believe that's what the parents get monthly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 No wonder Taiwan don't want to rejoin back to China Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 12:06 PM, Playtime said: i never understood the housing part. have spoken to several prcs i knew, they all say its the accepted tradition and culture that parents will buy a house for their children to get married. but....in my mind, the parents likely came from a generation where wages were very very low and dont have much savings anyway. But todays prc housing prices can be even more expensive than what we have, how the fish do the parents pay for the chindrens house??? long term this system can work meh? Unless all are having rich parents.🙄 also, i have had prc tell me their parents collect retirement (their version of CPF) monthly a few thousand RMB. i dunno.... maybe their parents are ex party cadres with golden retirements. the maths dont seem to work. China property market is very unstable. Even if you buy a house there's no guarantee it will be built and completed. So many construction companies there went bust in the last few years. Many of the urban youths just end up renting mostly. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DylanChen 2nd Gear April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 can i lay flat in sg. ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 Some people in China have no home. Some people have one and a few own 3 or more! So average out I think people in China own 1.3 homes. Its amazing but China has many more homes than families to live in them. I think they call them ghost cities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 12:38 PM, DylanChen said: can i lay flat in sg. ?? Yes you can But choose wisely 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 5, 2023 Share April 5, 2023 On 4/5/2023 at 12:36 PM, Benarsenal said: China property market is very unstable. Even if you buy a house there's no guarantee it will be built and completed. So many construction companies there went bust in the last few years. Many of the urban youths just end up renting mostly. A room in Beijing 4th Ring Round (about 20km from Tiananmen) cost RMB2.5k. Half of fresh grad salary gone ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...