Confusedboi Supercharged March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 (edited) On 3/14/2023 at 8:19 AM, 13177 said: I believe not only BMW 7 series overpriced, any make/model sold in sg is overpriced. Wow the dealer profit margin is so high ..😅 assuming list price of 630k.. gahmen takes a large chunk of money as well due to all the taxes Edited March 14, 2023 by Confusedboi ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 On 3/14/2023 at 12:39 PM, Confusedboi said: Wow the dealer profit margin is so high ..😅 assuming list price of 630k.. gahmen takes a large chunk of money as well due to all the taxes Is this the reason why sg ghment is so rich? 🙄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Confusedboi Supercharged March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 (edited) On 3/14/2023 at 1:02 PM, 13177 said: Is this the reason why sg ghment is so rich? 🙄 Gahmen rich but large segment of native working population not earning enough to even meet median income based on median income distribution🙄. Does wealth trickle downwards to the masses😓 Edited March 14, 2023 by Confusedboi 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kelaihoyin 5th Gear March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 Taking basic cost of the latest Civic and removing OMV of 25k, gov is earning ~125k, which is 5x OMV. So the average man pays more in terms of percentage than the rich. 🤨 equality.🤥 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 I think this is called the trickle up economy. We poor people all our money trickle up to the rich people. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 On 3/14/2023 at 8:19 AM, 13177 said: I believe not only BMW 7 series overpriced, any make/model sold in sg is overpriced. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forsei Neutral Newbie March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 On 3/14/2023 at 1:43 PM, Confusedboi said: Gahmen rich but large segment of native working population not earning enough to even meet median income based on median income distribution🙄. Does wealth trickle downwards to the masses😓 This is Ok actually. Taxing the rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 On 3/12/2023 at 11:02 AM, inlinesix said: https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltagov/who_we_are/statistics_and_publications/statistics/pdf/M06B-Vehs_by_Type.pdf 4% of total car population. 15% of new car registered in 2022 is PHV. Proportionally, it had increased by 0.5% PHV is (73,982 / 579,896 = )12.8% not including taxi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 (edited) On 3/14/2023 at 8:19 AM, 13177 said: I believe not only BMW 7 series overpriced, any make/model sold in sg is overpriced. two things, one is government tax like COE, ARF, excise tax etc, these add up to the hefty cost of a vehicle, the money mostly go to the government except the cost which is OMV , next is dealer margin, most of the premium brand dealers are making more than $100k margin per car, this is the secondary cause of car being over priced. Edited March 14, 2023 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 14, 2023 Share March 14, 2023 (edited) On 3/14/2023 at 4:24 PM, Ct3833 said: PHV is (73,982 / 579,896 = )12.8% not including taxi. 65% of 73,682 are chauffeured-driven vehicles. These cars cannot be used for Grab/Gojek Stats in the hyperlink breakdown the numbers. Edited March 14, 2023 by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear March 15, 2023 Share March 15, 2023 On 3/14/2023 at 4:09 PM, Forsei said: This is Ok actually. Taxing the rich. Wake up bro, @kelaihoyin summed up perfectly. Unless you take BMW or is swimming in cash you will be affected disproportionately if you every buy a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 On 3/17/2023 at 5:59 AM, yishunite said: Ok lets say car is worth OMV of $102k. Germany sell at $127k according to article. So dealer made $25k profit. Fair. But the article says tax came out to just under $370k. Plus OMV of $102k, total is $470k. But selling price in sg is $636k... so dealer made $166k profit margin or 30% more than the entire cost of the car sold in Germany or 160% profit margin on OMV? Singapore buyers truly carrot lol Plus some still take loans. Banks Huat also. Money makes the world go round. Everyone gets their share. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 On 3/17/2023 at 5:59 AM, yishunite said: Singapore buyers truly carrot lol Yes jamesc car dealer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 On 3/17/2023 at 8:22 AM, Mkl22 said: Plus some still take loans. Banks Huat also. Money makes the world go round. Everyone gets their share. Those sharks make more than me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 Every car new or old has a COE. So banks are sharks but the COE collector us a whale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 (edited) So the used car dealer is really only ikan billis. The banks are sharks and the COE collector is the whale. Why always puck the the poor ikan billis? Puck the shark and whale lah. Edited March 17, 2023 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 Why do people handover hundreds of thousands of dollars to make us car dealers rich? Its because we plant an idea in people's minds. Its a form of brainwashing and its very easy to do on stupid people. My favourite brainwashing idea is If you buy a 5 series even old one with different colour then you are a big f@#k and everyone must look up to you and you can talk down to them! You can scold them as if they are beneath you and you are high and mighty because you drive a 5 series! It always works on small silly egoistic arrogant people. We get them every time! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 17, 2023 Share March 17, 2023 Why buy an expensive car making car dealers rich? Because buy a BM can you can be an a@@hole. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...