COE Bidding – March 2023

Carbon82

On 3/14/2023 at 8:19 AM, 13177 said:

I believe not only BMW 7 series overpriced, any make/model sold in sg is overpriced.

Wow the dealer  profit margin is so high ..😅 assuming list price of 630k.. gahmen takes a large chunk of money as well due to all the taxes 

FE70C22F-D722-43F2-8A0E-9B5426A80BDD.png

Edited by Confusedboi
  • Sad 2

On 3/14/2023 at 12:39 PM, Confusedboi said:

Wow the dealer  profit margin is so high ..😅 assuming list price of 630k.. gahmen takes a large chunk of money as well due to all the taxes 

FE70C22F-D722-43F2-8A0E-9B5426A80BDD.png

Is this the reason why sg ghment is so rich? 🙄

On 3/14/2023 at 1:02 PM, 13177 said:

Is this the reason why sg ghment is so rich? 🙄

Gahmen rich but large segment of native working population not earning enough to even meet median income  based on median income distribution🙄. Does wealth trickle downwards to the masses😓 

Edited by Confusedboi
  • Sad 2

Taking basic cost of the latest Civic and removing OMV of 25k, gov is earning ~125k, which is 5x OMV. 

So the average man pays more in terms of percentage than the rich. 🤨 equality.🤥

image.thumb.png.20d6fbfcaff1ef3be3c0eb7ba71c4f5e.png

• Angry 1
  • Sad 1

I think this is called the trickle up economy.

We poor people all our money trickle up to the rich people.

• Sad 2

On 3/14/2023 at 1:43 PM, Confusedboi said:

Gahmen rich but large segment of native working population not earning enough to even meet median income  based on median income distribution🙄. Does wealth trickle downwards to the masses😓 

This is Ok actually. Taxing the rich.

On 3/14/2023 at 8:19 AM, 13177 said:

I believe not only BMW 7 series overpriced, any make/model sold in sg is overpriced.

two things, one is government tax like COE, ARF, excise tax etc, these add up to the hefty cost of a vehicle, the money mostly go to the government except the cost which is OMV , next is dealer margin, most of the premium brand dealers are making more than $100k margin per car, this is the secondary cause  of car being over priced. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 3/14/2023 at 4:24 PM, Ct3833 said:

PHV is (73,982 / 579,896 = )12.8% not including taxi. 

image.png.a1cdc1435c8d52718a1d8824ab3c11b1.png

65% of 73,682 are chauffeured-driven vehicles.  These cars cannot be used for Grab/Gojek

Stats in the hyperlink breakdown the numbers.

Edited by inlinesix

On 3/14/2023 at 4:09 PM, Forsei said:

This is Ok actually. Taxing the rich.

Wake up bro, @kelaihoyin summed up perfectly.

Unless you take BMW or is swimming in cash you will be affected disproportionately if you every buy a car.

On 3/17/2023 at 5:59 AM, yishunite said:

Ok lets say car is worth OMV of $102k. Germany sell at $127k according to article. So dealer made $25k profit. Fair.

But the article says tax came out to just under $370k. Plus OMV of $102k, total is $470k. But selling price in sg is $636k... so dealer made $166k profit margin or 30% more than the entire cost of the car sold in Germany or 160% profit margin on OMV?

Singapore buyers truly carrot lol

Plus some still take loans. Banks Huat also. Money makes the world go round. Everyone gets their share. 

• Sad 1

On 3/17/2023 at 8:22 AM, Mkl22 said:

Plus some still take loans. Banks Huat also. Money makes the world go round. Everyone gets their share. 

Those sharks make more than me!

So the used car dealer is really only ikan billis.

The banks are sharks and the COE collector is the whale.

Why always puck the the poor ikan billis?

Puck the shark and whale lah.

Edited by Jamesc

Why do people handover hundreds of thousands of dollars to make us car dealers rich?

Its because we plant an idea in people's minds. Its a form of brainwashing and its very easy to do on stupid people.

My favourite brainwashing idea is

If you buy a 5 series even old one with different colour then you are a big f@#k and everyone must look up to you and you can talk down to them!

You can scold them as if they are beneath you and you are high and mighty because you drive a 5 series!

It always works on small silly egoistic arrogant people.

We get them every time!

Why buy an expensive car making car dealers rich?

Because buy a BM can you can be an a@@hole.