Jman888 Moderator March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 9:45 AM, inlinesix said: It seems like BTO was almost like BBO Pre-COVID. There were unsold units lying around then. Work => Flat => Marriage => Kids has the path set by our PIoneer Gen. Any missing steps will cause a misstep. last time people chase condo, now hdb more retro feel ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 Better sign kids up for glass lutes so they have better choice. No low floor bad facing above coffee shop for them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 I support! As long as kids get high floor good facing no coffee shop corner unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 (edited) I not fussy as long as kids get high floor good facing no coffee shop corner unit. Edited March 3, 2023 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 How come bto bbo got so many bbb one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 Wait and see how it works out first. Hdb has more than one such loopholes to plug. Like ppl always said, when you come up with one solution it creates a whole new other problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 12:07 PM, Beehive3783 said: My BTO experience is different from your description. This was in 2011/2012 thereabouts: Application first -> Balloting for Q number -> Selection of unit Balloting is to get a Q number to the BTO selection. You don't get to select any unit until you get a Q number. If you can't even get a Q number, then bo pian, apply for the next BTO. So if you are Q number 1, hosay liao, you have first dibs to the entire estate. If you are the last few in the Q, then sorry, only the lousy/low floor units are left. I also heard that if you are grassroots related or some other relationship, you get higher chance to get the first few Q numbers. Now when your queue number is up for selection at the estate you chose, they write to you for an appointed date. One have to choose many units which new owner have to list their preference just in case that unit is taken. The earlier the appointed date and time, the better chances you get your choice of flat. On the spot pay deposit which deduct almost all from your CPF... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 9:20 AM, Voodooman said: Still cannot understand why they can't Build Before Order (BBO), instead of BTO, for first timer group. With wait time of 4-5 years (6-7 years now due to Covid), a lot of relationships will break up and this will delay procreation, a national priority. Wait, they are already on BBO, so they claimed. The latest Jurong West one they already started building liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 All the people that support if they kids don't get a desirable unit will they still support? Or say policy no good lah! Not fair lah etc etc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 I don't worry if my kids get a bad unit. The way the prices keep going up they cannot afford it because they are always playing video games and not hitting the books! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 9:45 AM, inlinesix said: It seems like BTO was almost like BBO Pre-COVID. There were unsold units lying around then. Work => Flat => Marriage => Kids has the path set by our PIoneer Gen. Any missing steps will cause a misstep. I still dont understand, if build BBO, why there were unsold units lying around. But if build BTO, i dont believe there would not have unsold units. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 12:07 PM, Beehive3783 said: My BTO experience is different from your description. This was in 2011/2012 thereabouts: Application first -> Balloting for Q number -> Selection of unit Balloting is to get a Q number to the BTO selection. You don't get to select any unit until you get a Q number. If you can't even get a Q number, then bo pian, apply for the next BTO. So if you are Q number 1, hosay liao, you have first dibs to the entire estate. If you are the last few in the Q, then sorry, only the lousy/low floor units are left. I also heard that if you are grassroots related or some other relationship, you get higher chance to get the first few Q numbers. Grassroots related or some other relationship, you get higher chance to get the first few Q numbers??? No wonder i see like any tom, dick, harry also go join grassroots/RC. 🙄 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 1:10 PM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: Now when your queue number is up for selection at the estate you chose, they write to you for an appointed date. One have to choose many units which new owner have to list their preference just in case that unit is taken. The earlier the appointed date and time, the better chances you get your choice of flat. On the spot pay deposit which deduct almost all from your CPF... Yes, this part is same as my experience. It's more like, you pre-select what you want from the catalogue. Then on actual selection day at HDB, see which ones you picked from the catalogue are still available. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 (edited) On 3/3/2023 at 1:52 PM, Jamesc said: All the people that support if they kids don't get a desirable unit will they still support? Or say policy no good lah! Not fair lah etc etc Bro, don't worry la, 2nd floor or face rubbish bin, all sure huat one after MOP. Otherwise, if really don't like the units, then just wait out one year. It's only a year. Use that 1 year to save more money (cai png is good) , maybe after a year, both have extra savings to go for EC liow, why bother about BTO. Edited March 3, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 9:20 AM, Voodooman said: Still cannot understand why they can't Build Before Order (BBO), instead of BTO, for first timer group. With wait time of 4-5 years (6-7 years now due to Covid), a lot of relationships will break up and this will delay procreation, a national priority. Wait, they are already on BBO, so they claimed. Those of us queuing up for flat in the non-BTO days faced equally if not longer wait times than today Now couples miss 1-2 rounds balloting oredi kpkb. Back then take Q number wait 2-3 years to be called up to select flat in ulu areas n then gotta to wait another 4+ years b4 collecting key 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 3:07 PM, Starry said: Bro, don't worry la, 2nd floor or face rubbish bin, all sure huat one after MOP. Otherwise, if really don't like the units, then just wait out one year. It's only a year. Use that 1 year to save more money (cai png is good) , maybe after a year, both have extra savings to go for EC liow, why bother about BTO. New ruling from August is that cannot sell flat within 10 yrs. No more after 5 yrs leow... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 3:31 PM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: New ruling from August is that cannot sell flat within 10 yrs. No more after 5 yrs leow... Only applicable to Prime Location Public Housing 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged March 3, 2023 Share March 3, 2023 On 3/3/2023 at 3:31 PM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: New ruling from August is that cannot sell flat within 10 yrs. No more after 5 yrs leow... It is only the Prime Location Housing that need 10 years MOP as far as I know. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...