BabyBlade Internal Moderator March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 SINGAPORE: Joseph Schooling on Wednesday (Mar 1) announced his withdrawal from the upcoming Southeast Asian Games, saying he was "not at the level" at which he expects to compete at the event. "After careful consideration with my team, I have decided to pull out of the SEA Games," the 27-year-old swimmer said in a statement. "This was not an easy decision, but I am currently not at the level at which I hold myself to perform. Ultimately, my country comes first before individual accolades." The Olympic champion added that he would instead focus on his National Service duties and support his team-mates from home. "I have decided to give my spot to team-mates who have been getting themselves ready and considered for selection while I cheer from home and focus on my Navy duties," he said. The 2023 SEA Games will take place from May 5 to May 17 in Cambodia. In 2021, he relinquished his Olympic crown in Tokyo, after failing to make the semi-finals of the 100m butterfly event which he won in 2016. Just months later, he had to cope with the death of his father Colin. In 2022, after enlisting and then taking part in the SEA Games in Vietnam, Schooling confessed to consuming cannabis overseas. As a result of his admission, he received a formal letter of warning from the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) and lost his disruption privileges. Sport Singapore also suspended support for him for a month, and he was fined for breaching rules in the Singapore National Olympic Council's code of conduct. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sport/joseph-schooling-withdraws-sea-games-2023-cambodia-swimming-3314991 ↡ Advertisement 7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 It is very unfortunate that he may not be able to see his glorious days again!😪 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 5:20 PM, Fitvip said: It is very unfortunate that he may not be able to see his glorious days again!😪 That's the norm in competitive sports. Only a few sports they can last longer, like golf and curling? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 5:35 PM, Volvobrick said: That's the norm in competitive sports. Only a few sports they can last longer, like golf and curling? Badminton's Lin Dan and Dato Lee Chong Wei! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 5:20 PM, Fitvip said: It is very unfortunate that he may not be able to see his glorious days again!😪 不在乎天长地久,只在乎曾经拥有。 I think what he had achieved is phenomenal which most of us can't even dream of. Those naysayers think they so kiang should go join the competition. Win liao then come kpkb. 12 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 5:48 PM, Stratovarius said: 不在乎天长地久,只在乎曾经拥有。 I think what he had achieved is phenomenal which most of us can't even dream of. Those naysayers think they so kiang should go join the competition. Win liao then come kpkb. My post is by no means naysaying, please! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 I support his decision. To rest is to continue on another journey, may or may not be the same journey. Live your own life! 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 5:50 PM, Fitvip said: My post is by no means naysaying, please! Eh cool down man. Not saying u. I'm referring to those who shot him down during the Olympics. I'm anticipating those people will say the same things again. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 (edited) On 3/1/2023 at 6:29 PM, Stratovarius said: Eh cool down man. Not saying u. I'm referring to those who shot him down during the Olympics. I'm anticipating those people will say the same things again. Oic! You quoted my post leh! Those naysayers think they so kiang should go join the competition. Win liao then come kpkb. For that matter, if one wins that big, there will be VIPs waiting at the airport liao. No time to come kpkb! Edited March 1, 2023 by Fitvip 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 自己对号入座,怨谁恨谁? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 (edited) On 3/1/2023 at 6:33 PM, Fitvip said: Oic! You quoted my post leh! Those naysayers think they so kiang should go join the competition. Win liao then come kpkb. For that matter, if one wins that big, there will be VIPs waiting at the airport liao. No time to come kpkb! If I'm referring to you I won't quote you liao. Lol. I agree that he won't see his glory days anymore that's why I quoted. But he did acheive something great. And no one can take that away. Edited March 1, 2023 by Stratovarius 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 If he feel cannot perform, then it is right he gives up the spot so another player can have a chance to get the exposure. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 All the best to him in his next phase of life. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 Strange rather than let old matter rest, they rather leave the marathon slot empty even when there is no one else taking the spot 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 8:12 PM, Ender said: Strange rather than let old matter rest, they rather leave the marathon slot empty even when there is no one else taking the spot They small gas lo 🤭 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 8:12 PM, Ender said: Strange rather than let old matter rest, they rather leave the marathon slot empty even when there is no one else taking the spot Old matter rest already what, everything and everyone related wrote off and drop, so everything and everyone can rest. Leaving the slot empty is actually protecting the event, record and the runner mah, no send no run no result what. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 He serving NS anyway, so probably won't be in the best shape. Get some rest better, train for next year Olympics. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 1, 2023 Share March 1, 2023 On 3/1/2023 at 9:40 PM, Benarsenal said: He serving NS anyway, so probably won't be in the best shape. Get some rest better, train for next year Olympics. Dun think he will make a come back. esp the Olympics. If still can swim next sea game very good liao ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...