Jamesc Hypersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 (edited) But the real problem is the workshop. Nothing to do with the painting. They should see the type of customer like me. And this kind I will say before I even take any money. New paint will never be exactly same as weathered paint. So either paint whole car or accept slightly different shade or go to his competitor that he don't like and just do the bumper! Do car biz in SG is not only about cars but about human psychology and expectations! My staff are experts on how to manage expectations. Edited February 26, 2023 by Jamesc ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 (edited) On 2/26/2023 at 3:52 PM, Ishiwgao said: This ^ If the workshop follow VIN but don't match, you scold them If the workshop didn't follow VIN and don't match, you scold them Only if the workshop didn't follow VIN and match, then you will be happy, but what did you expect when you decided to pay less to go non-AD workshop? If you go to AD workshop the result will still be the same. Btw, I cannot be your wife as I have a third leg! Edited February 26, 2023 by Fitvip 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 May TS can try polishing the whole car except the new bumper to balance up the gloss and shade! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 On 2/26/2023 at 6:04 PM, Fitvip said: May TS can try polishing the whole car except the new bumper to balance up the gloss and shade! No lah,change new Car better,by the way @bemywifealready quiet & missing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 (edited) On 2/26/2023 at 6:12 PM, ER-3682 said: No lah,change new Car better,by the way @bemywifealready quiet & missing. Not likely to change new car as he has just changed the bumper. Not everyone is RadX lah! Edited February 26, 2023 by Fitvip 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 New paint vs old paint confirm got different 1. If the paint original come with the car, there is a colour code. WS will follow those code. Its hard to get the mixture wrong. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 Not to side anyone but there are contractors and workshops out there that cannot make it. Always say it’s like that one or expectations are too high. wait till they experience it themselves when their doctors tell them of a botched operation that it’s like that one. 🤪 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 Tbh, I'm still not getting how it works. I recent resprayed to another colour, specifying the paint code that I wanted. The WS said it is a special colour, so they have to get direct from supplier which was why it was bit more expensive. So means some colours they do try to match and can be off even if they follow the ratios? Or with paint code, the colour can never go wrong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 For me,if i am doing a Respray,i do whole Car & never bargain with the Paint Workshop,tell them i have high expectation & usually they will do the best..once you bargain,they will cut corners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 Looks ok leh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayv 1st Gear February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 @Gnahp got to get your eyes checked 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 On 2/26/2023 at 7:34 PM, ER-3682 said: For me,if i am doing a Respray,i do whole Car & never bargain with the Paint Workshop,tell them i have high expectation & usually they will do the best..once you bargain,they will cut corners. Not true la. There are good ones and ones who claim they are good but still shit. it’s the attitude of the boss. I have been to one where after spraying the boss said no good and redo. Took photos and pointed out the flaws and said the car needed another day. he stands by his work and won’t let poorer quality leave the shop. Better than those who promise the moon and then tell you it’s like that one. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 (edited) On 2/26/2023 at 2:05 PM, bemywife said: Had my front bumper replaced and painted. The result is a terrible colour mismatch. Workshop said my expectations too high. I would rather say their standard too low. Any decent workshop would at least do some colour-matching before applying the paint, and not simply just use the paint code associated with the VIN. Very disappointed indeed. Reasonable to expect a better job, can see obvious two tone like rolls royce color. Did you respray the whole car before, if not, then i would expect the color of the respray to be quite close to the original one, not so obviois like what you are showing. Edited February 26, 2023 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 Maybe try post a photo during the day in natural sunlight outside. Can see better 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 you guys really KNS so unfriendly scare TS away! Thread posted 9 hrs ago, last visited 3 hrs ago but he diam diam kena scare by all you unfriendliness comments 🤣🤣🤣. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 26, 2023 Share February 26, 2023 (edited) Go Revol, they have done very good work for my cars. Past and present. I am very picky one. Just had my Toyota rear bumper resprayed cos added lower kit and front bumper resprayed cos replayed my headlights and somehow previous workshop glued the bumper back in so removal of front bumper meant damaging the paint. Both areas end result matched very well. Just have to let them know beforehand my expectations and I needed them to do some color matching. Few yrs back GF's previous xc40 white resprayed one of the doors, follow vin but mismatch because of paint age, they redo for me. End result was good. Edited February 26, 2023 by Mockngbrd 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 27, 2023 Share February 27, 2023 How old is your car? Cos you are comparing new paint job with your car's original that has been exposed to the elements(sunshine, rain). When exposed to the sun's UV rays over time the paint shade will lighten. Unless you do a fresh paint job on the top surfaces too like what others mentioned here. True what the workshop say. Have to manage your expectations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 2nd Gear February 27, 2023 Share February 27, 2023 I look at the picture i see not much difference. Maybe I need to ask @Jamesc MIL take a look if she can tell the difference. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...