2023/2024 6th Generation Mercedes E-Class (W214)

camrysfe

On 4/30/2023 at 12:44 PM, Ct3833 said:

Ask MCFers,  water tank leak change car 😄😄.

But at 1.5year windscreen water tank leak is ridiculous for a premium brand, especially this is such a low cost and simple item. 

maybe I sprayed too much without realising it 😁

it caught my attention early this year as I needed to top it up more frequent than I remember 

then I started to make a record

last top up only lasted 3 weeks 

maybe using it more frequently during raining season and the recent day trip to KL

On 4/30/2023 at 2:13 PM, Gnahp said:

it caught my attention early this year as I needed to top it up more frequent than I remember 

maybe using it more frequently during raining season and the recent day trip to KL

Or put newspapers below. See if they get wrinkled. 

On 4/30/2023 at 2:13 PM, Gnahp said:

Nothing to do with that, simple plastic container should have some minimum reliability spec .

The tank is not even pressurized,  should be able to last a long time despise being in the heated engine bay. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/30/2023 at 3:15 PM, Ct3833 said:

Nothing to do with that, simple plastic container should have some minimum reliability spec .

The tank is not even pressurized,  should be able to last a long time despise being in the heated engine bay. 

I meant I will use the washer more frequent than usual during raining season and NSHW driving

it could be me emptying it in 3 weeks from frequent sprayings 

the tank is hiding in the front wheel well on the passenger side, behind the wheel arch liner 

I think it is the same as my old W204, the washer fluid is heated by the coolant through a small heat exchanger in the tank

but my W204 washer fluid tank didn't give any problem in 10 years 🤷‍♂️

My w213 is coming 6yrs old in 2 3 months.. 

Pi unit. Milleage almost 190k leow. So someone says 200k 7yrs then change car. Its fair to say the figs sounds rite..

And yeah. Mercs seems quite durable so far.

Other than wear and tears. Bushing changes. A coolant pipe leak. This ride is still going strong. And hence my verdict. Mercs can really buy from PI. U see more mercs offerings from PI than beemers and it seems no PI now dare to offer Audi.

On 4/30/2023 at 5:11 PM, Spurman said:

Pi unit. Milleage almost 190k leow. So someone says 200k 7yrs then change car. Its fair to say the figs sounds rite..

Other than wear and tears. Bushing changes. A coolant pipe leak. This ride is still going strong. And hence my verdict. Mercs can really buy from PI. U see more mercs offerings from PI than beemers and it seems no PI now dare to offer Audi.

I think cover warranty for Audi, lose until “take off pants” 🤣.

On 4/30/2023 at 3:53 PM, Gnahp said:

I meant I will use the washer more frequent than usual during raining season and NSHW driving

it could be me emptying it in 3 weeks from frequent sprayings 

the tank is hiding in the front wheel well on the passenger side, behind the wheel arch liner 

I think it is the same as my old W204, the washer fluid is heated by the coolant through a small heat exchanger in the tank

but my W204 washer fluid tank didn't give any problem in 10 years 🤷‍♂️

Yes usage could be one reason. If any cracks, the tank should get dried up very fast and one can see water mark on the floor when the car is moved out of the overnight parking lot. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/30/2023 at 5:11 PM, Spurman said:

7 years or 200k km is derived from the past records of my previous three cars

that is the sweet spot in my opinion 

if you stretch beyond that, parts will start to fail, depending on your luck 😁

merc can stretch a little bit more to 9 years or 250k km

Brought my wife GLE from a big PI , 70k cheaper than AD , financial wise , no brainer to buy from PI …

but if unlucky like me , car got problems but PI workshop cannot solve properly , then it’s not worth it lo ..

car towed to workshop 4 times in 12 months …. All 4 times the same issue , car Christmas lights and cannot start at all … headlights on by itself and cannot be turn off , doors cannot lock …

towed to workshop , after 1 week , all ok Liao , but couple of months later , same issue again … lucky I always have a couple of spare cars around … if it’s a daily , sure headache lo … gave up after 1 yr lo … traded in to PML ..

Few of my friends all buy GLE , 3 of them who brought from AD , no issue at all and the other only one who also buys from PI , car showed the same issue , he kena once only , following week , traded it in to PML also lo ..

If you asked me if it’s worth the trouble to save that 70 k , no will be my answer lo .. 

On 4/30/2023 at 7:57 PM, Hubwee said:

Brought my wife GLE from a big PI , 70k cheaper than AD , financial wise , no brainer to buy from PI …

but if unlucky like me , car got problems but PI workshop cannot solve properly , then it’s not worth it lo ..

car towed to workshop 4 times in 12 months …. All 4 times the same issue , car Christmas lights and cannot start at all … headlights on by itself and cannot be turn off , doors cannot lock …

towed to workshop , after 1 week , all ok Liao , but couple of months later , same issue again … lucky I always have a couple of spare cars around … if it’s a daily , sure headache lo … gave up after 1 yr lo … traded in to PML ..

Few of my friends all buy GLE , 3 of them who brought from AD , no issue at all and the other only one who also buys from PI , car showed the same issue , he kena once only , following week , traded it in to PML also lo ..

If you asked me if it’s worth the trouble to save that 70 k , no will be my answer lo .. 

wah I must be heng man. My PI GlCCoupe was gd to the end, right up to the day I traded in

even my G30… both same PI

so gut feel I din get EQE was right hahhahaha

On 4/30/2023 at 8:01 PM, RadX said:

wah I must be heng man. My PI GlCCoupe was gd to the end, right up to the day I traded in

even my G30… both same PI

so gut feel I din get EQE was right hahhahaha

Think all depends on luck lo … buying experience and after sales service was good but just unfortunate that their workshop is incompetent lo 

Started buying BMW since then and just took delivery of my third bm in 18 months lo ..

PMA and PML both offers the 5 years servicing and maintenance with replacement car delivery which me and wife finds so convenient…

Edited by Hubwee

wah that is scary, but that sounds like a software issue, an upgrade of the SAM software version may help . 

By the way, since you bought it from a  PI with substantial saving, did you manage to let go your car with less loss than those who bought from AD? 

On 4/30/2023 at 11:58 PM, Ct3833 said:

wah that is scary, but that sounds like a software issue, an upgrade of the SAM software version may help . 

By the way, since you bought it from a  PI with substantial saving, did you manage to let go your car with less loss than those who bought from AD? 

All software updated and even changed a new ECU but had zero trust with the workshop anymore …

I did let my sales know about the problems I faced with the car before I traded it in , sold it at a 100k loss for 15 months of ownership ..

Many ppl have recently get onboard the M.B marques (Top seller of 2022)
Many are on the Entry Level , A ,GLA,B,GLB & CLA derivatives.
In Real Life or in a Proper Merk Term it’s NOT the real deal .

U gotta have the C,GLC,E,GLE , S & so on ,so forth.
A True Continental ,u MUST have(Minimum) Rear wheel drive .
Of course ,RWD is not the onli thing going on ……….
Mercs is veri good at  stirring consumer emotions ,if u drive one of those Entry Level Mercs & reckon the E as featured here are all the same.u gotta think again.

Go & Read up MORE.
Seriously , for me ,dis E DRL leaves a lot to be desired.
It Style too similar  to the Angel eyes of their Biggest competitors  which is NO good,too me.

The Rear tail lights is Good ,it’s one of those design ,I will guarantee ,it will grow in u.

Plus the 200 Mercs stars on the Grille ,it’s veri Swee.

I have seen it in the W206 ,Veri Nice design It’s a Breath of Fresh air,me Reckon.

54806BCD-C2E3-4603-8CA9-2043DC987A21.jpeg

10390499-7185-46C8-BF22-CB114071564F.jpeg

F2782040-067D-4CA9-A34C-B988DE1791D7.jpeg

On 5/1/2023 at 1:35 AM, Hubwee said:

All software updated and even changed a new ECU but had zero trust with the workshop anymore …

I did let my sales know about the problems I faced with the car before I traded it in , sold it at a 100k loss for 15 months of ownership ..

Thanks for sharing your experience. You got your car about 70k cheaper than cycle's price, selling at 100k loss would mean your loss was 30k from cycle price after driving it for 15 months, that was still a good deal, noted that you had to deal with the problems. Hope my maths is correct.

Edited by Ct3833

Exactly ,My sentiment .

Many over here Ranting abt See&See Prices .

It’s not as Clear cut as many think.

In the earlier days ,all P.I wshop or any wshop dun have the Equipment the AD have & its Basically controlled .

Now it’s more of a Free enterprise ,and the Xentry system ,many wshop do gets their hands on.

P.I comes in many shape & sizes ,it will be rather Silly ,if u go for the Cheapest P.I

The Bigger & well established one have Better wshop or if dey dun ,they can tie in with the reputable  wshop.

Not everything is abt Money BUT Money is everything,Haha. 
I have a mate with a W205 7G tronic(steer clear of those)bought New.

In & out of C&C wshop ,apparently it’s a known issues onli for dis particular model ,some of the owner was offer a special trade up to the 9G but my friend was given a Free trade up ,Dunno got Bluff me anot.

Remember ,Dun go for the …,,,,,CHEAPEST . 

On 4/30/2023 at 7:36 PM, Gnahp said:

7 years or 200k km is derived from the past records of my previous three cars

that is the sweet spot in my opinion 

if you stretch beyond that, parts will start to fail, depending on your luck 😁

merc can stretch a little bit more to 9 years or 250k km

There is NO Sweet spot,realli .

With modern parts being Computer simulated ,it’s the Mercedes Engineer who decided when it will Fail.

M.B are Generally more Reliable than all the Conti brands put together.

So a Coe Mercs is still alright ,didn’t u notice the amount of Renew Merks on the Roads.

For me ,Buying a Mercs is the Biggest Ticket item of all .

Maintaining it & Repairing it,its not ,if u dun go back to Cycle that is.

Most Stockist prices are pretty Decent & if u bring it to the wshop who’s willing to do it for u.

Double saving ,if u fancy dis Route.

On 5/1/2023 at 8:22 AM, fesa7044 said:

Exactly ,My sentiment .

Many over here Ranting abt See&See Prices .

It’s not as Clear cut as many think.

In the earlier days ,all P.I wshop or any wshop dun have the Equipment the AD have & its Basically controlled .

Now it’s more of a Free enterprise ,and the Xentry system ,many wshop do gets their hands on.

P.I comes in many shape & sizes ,it will be rather Silly ,if u go for the Cheapest P.I

The Bigger & well established one have Better wshop or if dey dun ,they can tie in with the reputable  wshop.

Not everything is abt Money BUT Money is everything,Haha. 
I have a mate with a W205 7G tronic(steer clear of those)bought New.

In & out of C&C wshop ,apparently it’s a known issues onli for dis particular model ,some of the owner was offer a special trade up to the 9G but my friend was given a Free trade up ,Dunno got Bluff me anot.

Remember ,Dun go for the …,,,,,CHEAPEST . 

While i agree not to buy the cheapest, after all  PI prices are   already substantially lower than that of cycle, but to make a 100k margin is ridiculous, my colleague bought a new  E class in Perth for less than S$110k, that includes so call OMV, tax, margin and warranty, so to say that 100k margin by cycle  is reasonable, it is certainly not.  cycle is holding their customers ransom because they have all the equipment and backend support from mercedes.  BM, Audi no diff anyway

Anyway no emotion lah, not that i can afford one, just ranting 😁😁😁

Edited by Ct3833