Diabetes ravages emerging nations in Asia, Africa

Hondacub777

I will have severe heart palpitation, shortness of breath and fainting spells whenever I take foods containing aspartame.

So, no breath freshener, chewing gums,.... for me. It took me quite some time to realise this.

Some people are sensitive to certain chemical in food.

I had a colleague who is sensitive to msg.

Once the food is cooked with it, she will have a rather violent reaction to it, much like what you describe, and her immediate relief is Coke.

Strange, but it's a fact.

Anyway, I would rather use real sugar than artificial ones.

I skipped all the food chemicals whenever I can, including using msg in food.

Edited by Kb27

Some people are sensitive to certain chemical in food.

I had a colleague who is sensitive to msg.

Once the food is cooked with it, she will have a rather violent reaction to it and her immediate relief is Coke.

Strange, but it's a fact.

Anyway, I would rather use real sugar than artificial ones.

I skipped all the food chemicals whenever I can, including using msg in food.

anyway most people aren't sensitive to MSG itself, they are sensitive to excessive levels of glutamate in the food.

MSG metabolises to become glutamate in the body.

High levels of glutamate are contained in like tomato sauce, broccoli actually.

I used to be anti-MSG actually, but now i'm netural. I don't add it to my cooking but actually really unlikely to cause u allergy persay.

Diabetes: The rice you eat is worse than sugary drinks

The health authorities have identified one of their top concerns as they wage war on diabetes: white rice. It is even more potent than sweet soda drinks in causing the disease.

Sharing his battle plan to reduce the risk of diabetes, Health Promotion Board chief executive Zee Yoong Kang said that obesity and sugary drinks are the major causes of the condition in the West.

But Asians are more predisposed to diabetes than Caucasians, so people do not have to be obese to be at risk. Starchy white rice can overload their bodies with blood sugar and heighten their risk of diabetes.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/diabetes-the-rice-you-eat-is-worse-than-sugary-drinks

prepare to pay white rice tax soon.  [laugh]

Nothing wrong to collect more money.

Diabetes: The rice you eat is worse than sugary drinks

The health authorities have identified one of their top concerns as they wage war on diabetes: white rice. It is even more potent than sweet soda drinks in causing the disease.

Sharing his battle plan to reduce the risk of diabetes, Health Promotion Board chief executive Zee Yoong Kang said that obesity and sugary drinks are the major causes of the condition in the West.

But Asians are more predisposed to diabetes than Caucasians, so people do not have to be obese to be at risk. Starchy white rice can overload their bodies with blood sugar and heighten their risk of diabetes.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/diabetes-the-rice-you-eat-is-worse-than-sugary-drinks

anyway most people aren't sensitive to MSG itself, they are sensitive to excessive levels of glutamate in the food.

MSG metabolises to become glutamate in the body.

High levels of glutamate are contained in like tomato sauce, broccoli actually.

I used to be anti-MSG actually, but now i'm netural. I don't add it to my cooking but actually really unlikely to cause u allergy persay.

Well, it's true in her case.

We would go to a restaurant and if she ate a dish cooked with MSG, it's instant sickness.

Many of us have witnessed it.

Otherwise, she would be fine.

Just did my Hba1c test early this week. 5.4. Was kinda worried coz didn't do much exercise recently and family has high history of diabetes.

Well, it's true in her case.

We would go to a restaurant and if she ate a dish cooked with MSG, it's instant sickness.

Many of us have witnessed it.

Otherwise, she would be fine.

Well anyone can be allergic to certain compounds. Think mazdaowner also had MSG allergy. 

But if u are taking the Coke light to prevent the calories from ingesting a Real Coca Cola once in a while, i would say go ahead.

Doctor say one... Gong to sheng shiong buying one carton of coke now..

lol. i drink coke light when i'm outside. 

At home i drink pokka white crysanthemum tea.

20kcal per 100ml. I think ok lah. "healthier" choice haha.

How can metabolic surgery cure diabetes so fast?

No one can explain this strange phenomenon. The majority of type 2 diabetics who undergo metabolic surgery recover from diabetes only a few days after the procedure, long before any weight loss has occurred. Now researchers plan to find out what is happening by studying both patients and pigs before and after metabolic surgery.

anyone has any experience in this?

How can metabolic surgery cure diabetes so fast?

No one can explain this strange phenomenon. The majority of type 2 diabetics who undergo metabolic surgery recover from diabetes only a few days after the procedure, long before any weight loss has occurred. Now researchers plan to find out what is happening by studying both patients and pigs before and after metabolic surgery.

anyone has any experience in this?

Actually it's not strange.

I can't remember completely how it works. Not everything is understood but they do understand partly why it works.

But one major part of the surgery when u remove most of the stomach, it affects leptin.  Basically these people who are morbidly obese have a satiety hormone, leptin downregulation.

That's why you see those super obese people saying they just can't control what they eat. They just eat and eat.

Anyway don't really blame the obese people.

They just did a study on all the Biggest losers winners. Every single one of them put back on significant weight despite working out and having a much healthier lifestyle.

It's found out that their basal metabolic rate decreased by at least 35% compared to a normal adult. And it never recovers. it's still low years after the initial weight loss.

So u have to eat less than a churchmouse to even prevent back weight gain.

The human body is actively forcing u to gain weight back.

Actually it's not strange.

I can't remember completely how it works. Not everything is understood but they do understand partly why it works.

But one major part of the surgery when u remove most of the stomach, it affects leptin.  Basically these people who are morbidly obese have a satiety hormone, leptin downregulation.

That's why you see those super obese people saying they just can't control what they eat. They just eat and eat.

Anyway don't really blame the obese people.

They just did a study on all the Biggest losers winners. Every single one of them put back on significant weight despite working out and having a much healthier lifestyle.

It's found out that their basal metabolic rate decreased by at least 35% compared to a normal adult. And it never recovers. it's still low years after the initial weight loss.

So u have to eat less than a churchmouse to even prevent back weight gain.

The human body is actively forcing u to gain weight back.

this is the lap-band or the gastric bypass?  Appears the gastric bypass has better outcomes.  PErhaps a signal-response mechanism leading to internal feedbacks regulation?

interesting

this is the lap-band or the gastric bypass?  Appears the gastric bypass has better outcomes.  PErhaps a signal-response mechanism leading to internal feedbacks regulation?

interesting

I'm not a specialist in this field. But to my understanding, lap-band is out of favour already. Now gastric reduction surgery is proven to be the gold standard.

But of course it's still a risky operation and they have to get used to eating v small amounts.

Yes the surgery conveys some physical benefits, but it also confers neuro-endocrine benefits as well.

I'm not a specialist in this field. But to my understanding, lap-band is out of favour already. Now gastric reduction surgery is proven to be the gold standard.

But of course it's still a risky operation and they have to get used to eating v small amounts.

Yes the surgery conveys some physical benefits, but it also confers neuro-endocrine benefits as well.

so it's  bilroth 1/2 lah. 

true that.  never seen/heard lapband in the last few years.

The biggest loser article.

So actually people losing weight are actually facing an uphill struggle even after they have lost the weight.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/05/02/health/biggest-loser-weight-loss.html?_r=0

so it's  bilroth 1/2 lah. 

true that.  never seen/heard lapband in the last few years.

haha bilroth is very old liao. I dunno if there are newer techniques.

But yeah lah, basic concept is there.

Diabetes predisposition is scary.

It is an 'immortal' genetic defect, a 'kill' switch if you will. When it shows up, progeny has been created and the predisposition --- passed on.

Diabetes is the manifestation of said defect predisposition.

The line, ...the force is strong in my family, my father has it, I have it and my sister has it... Can be applied here.

Some questions,

How is our sugar supply regulated? I mean is there a 'sugar' police that ensures the sugar supply is clean as can be for us? Btw where do our sugar come from? What are the points of contact?

The rice? The bread? The milk?

Once I saw a laborer pissing onto the cabbages bound for Singapore market...ho jiak?

It has been documented that women are different, perhaps the esteemed anonymous lokun's mummy has taste for the rare, ala Broccoli being bitter. Thank goodness for most of us, it is not so. I love my broccoli.

Besides the key issue of weak workers resulting in a debilitated Singapore, we have to think about the quality of life for the individual.

Diabetes damage works like an assassin demolishing your body (house). Quiet and efficient damage.

By the time we recognize why we need to look after our diet and health, the boat has literally sailed. We can look forward to misery, despair and the pitiful manner to cling on to life.

The path to the dark side so to speak.

Diabetics are angry and hateful sometimes.

It is a potential national disaster.

White rice is good, it was a luxury food.

It is also backbreaking to grow, tried it for all of four seedlings. Takes a strong back.

It is all about balance, equilibrium.

When we eat like a farmer, we better output like a farmer, no air con, sweat all day, walk all day, aerobic workout like carrying heavy weights, chopping trees, digging in the mud, tending the fruit trees, washing out the 田鸡 (frog) pen....so many things.

I would suggest that we address our diet history in a fun manner.

Identifying what are farmer food and how much exertion is needed, rather than calories, leave the scientific terms for the scientists.

Suggest having healthy hawker centers and labeling unhealthy food as coolie food. Sorry Colonel. You gotta go. Air fryer in.

Hawkers are the group that has to change first. Who to make them change, easiest is government, but who wants to be perceived as the bad guy, politicians always want to be seen as the good guy.

So the smart politician has to suggest to the consumer for change of diet practice delicately.

Diabetes damage is terrible.

For those who suffer it, some are very willing to trade their misery with another person. Can you imagine a person ready to give all your despair/hate to another person? Very dark. That is how bad being ill with diabetes can get.

We understand the sociological impact on the hawkers. Singapore would lose a large revenue source and population displacement. Literally social upheaval.

It's hard, but I guess the message is not for everyone, only for those receptive.

Poor people still eat fried food and be obese. Poverty is caused in part by our natural/historical hang up defects in our thought processes, such as stuck on refusing to change or moderate behavior.

The kampongs are gone but the dark side of the kampong legacy are still around.

Riddle me this, the pig liver, would grandmothers nowadays feed their grandchildren this dish as they themselves were fed as children by their grandmothers?

Besides being a national issue of one billion dollars, it is also an issue of personal quality of life. Ministar has to be delicate, else he get label of kaypoh/ no place for him. Sometimes it is really difficult to be smart, caring and nice. Tough job. Easier to be Dr bu zhi dao grouchy face.

We have to accept that no everyone is equal and that equal dietary rights have major negative consequences.

Consequences in retrospect are really not worth it at all. Very not worth it.