Windwaver Turbocharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Cut out processed foods. Avoid refined sugar. Limit Carbo. Especially refined carbs. Eat more Vege/Whole grains. Small meals every 2hrs+. Have some fruits. (BMI 19-23 is Crucial) Cheers! That's what I have been doing all my life not because I wanted to but my body refuses to function once I over eat even by a little bit . I always have small meals every 3 to 4 hours, usually 4 to 5 meals a day. Max fist size bowl of basmati rice (pure white, steamed) twice a day. Meals are usually 60~70% fiber and rest protein. Cardio exercise to hit at least 30 mins of max heart rate per week. Like what I said, it's not as if I wanted it but I have a ton of allergies as a kid so I have no choice but to keep it this way. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Congrats❗️ - you are one of the 70% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 why 70% leh? this is listening to your doctor, medical studies, and discussion thread found here. Not the 70% majority.. If fact those who take ownership for their health are the minority. Also from NTUC. More expensive than the thai rice. But I like the way the rice separate itself from each other. I have to admit i don't take ownership as well. Lol my self discipline is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 I have to admit i don't take ownership as well. Lol my self discipline is most healthcare individuals are liddat. We tend to be callous on our own lives...hahaha that said, we can be the worst patients ever...hahahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 most healthcare individuals are liddat. We tend to be callous on our own lives...hahaha that said, we can be the worst patients ever...hahahahah But you guys gave me that warning many years back, and I got scared and listened.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 But you guys gave me that warning many years back, and I got scared and listened.. lol...well, you see, we give the best and fair advise based on our domain knowledge and experience. So much so that sometimes, we think we know it all and we self-treat and think we are invincible...hahahah well, testament as I say is i have never visited a GP for last 15 years for any flu, etc. I self medicate.....kekekeke have a few cardiologist friends that say they will do their OWN cath PTCA when they need it...hahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 I have to admit i don't take ownership as well. Lol my self discipline is For me, I am very disciplined - I only take meat and sweet stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Now i don't know what i should eat for lunch later liao! Cause rice and noodle seems cannot eat? Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 13177, on 14 Apr 2016 - 11:18 AM, said:Now i don't know what i should eat for lunch later liao! Cause rice and noodle seems cannot eat? Lol. eat steak or chicken chop....add salad.... but no potatoes/fries 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 Now i don't know what i should eat for lunch later liao! Cause rice and noodle seems cannot eat? Lol. you need to prepare your own meals essentially. For someone like me who eats 4 home cooked meals a week, it's just not possible if u want variety in your food. Unfortunately, my taste bud triumphs over my self discipline. Some people i know are perfectly happy eating rolled oats with milk like every day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 you need to prepare your own meals essentially. For someone like me who eats 4 home cooked meals a week, it's just not possible if u want variety in your food. Unfortunately, my taste bud triumphs over my self discipline. Some people i know are perfectly happy eating rolled oats with milk like every day. At least your diet much better than mine. I don't have home cook meals at all, only on few occasions eat at my in law. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 (edited) At least your diet much better than mine. I don't have home cook meals at all, only on few occasions eat at my in law. eh this is including meals at my in laws (2), my parents (1) and my ownself cook (1). but go back to my parents place, sure overeat one. Miss my mum's cooking LOL. Edited April 14, 2016 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 (edited) you need to prepare your own meals essentially. For someone like me who eats 4 home cooked meals a week, it's just not possible if u want variety in your food. Unfortunately, my taste bud triumphs over my self discipline. Some people i know are perfectly happy eating rolled oats with milk like every day. Difficult to prepare own meal, always eat out for breakfast and lunch. Only dinner then can eat home cooked food. Bu then again even eat home cooked food, also eat noodle or rice. Edited April 14, 2016 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 For you cut down porn la No good for heart haaaaa The old wise one had spoken. For Bro Staff69 & 2BDriver, please cut down on your SYT(s) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 the direct causes of health issues are well documented and known to many, eg, smoking, drinking, lack of exercise etc. its the indirect causes that are worrying and this is caused by the amount of processed content in what we eat on a daily basis. simple mind tells me that the char kuay teow, mee goreng, fish ball noodle that my Dad ate in his time is probably "healthier" than the char kuay teow, mee goreng, fish ball noodle that I am eating now. can't prove it, just butt feel. for a start, I have cut down on anything that has the word "instant" in it ... last Sunday on CNA there was a documentary titled "Is Sugar The New Fat", pretty interesting and staggering information on the amount of sugar that is actually present in our daily food ... so much so that whether one drinks kopi O kosong or kopi C really doesn't matter relatively speaking. this is just my personal view of course. There's a BBC programme, 'Trust Me, I'm a Doctor', that featured this topic about sugar being the new fat. For quite a Long time, Fat was demonised, hence the start of Low Fat food culture in many products, ranging from dairy products to cookies, etc.... Then it was observed that despite the introduction of Low Fat fab, more people are ballooning in size. This is because Fat makes food tastier & palatable. Business for food manufactures will suffer if they don't add more sugar to maintain sales. Hence, there're new studies & fndings .....that regular consumption of Low Fat food products are indeed doing more harm to our bodies than taking in Fats in moderation. Of course there's this continuing debate on Animal Fat vs Vege Fat...... Personally, had tried those Low Fat Yoghurt & ice creams but they are not nice & much too sweet. Would rather enjoy those Full Fat ones in less amount or frequency than to delude myself into thinking that the Low Fat ones are healthier. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 The old wise one had spoken. For Bro Staff69 & 2BDriver, please cut down on your SYT(s) That's too much sweet in them ... will ganna heart pressure Anyway, as we aged, we need to be more responsible on our own health ... cut down on oil food (though I am trying very hard).. and eat more vege (I really hate this) ... its not only for your own good, but also your loved ones... You don't want to be a burden to them when things start to happen on your health .. whether financially or physically .. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 my prediction is ... this task force will have limited impact. I don't think anyone in SG doesn't realise the dangers and issues with diabetes. Frankly, it's just that no one cares until they get it. And some even after they get it, they don't care. My MIL has had diabetes for the past 20 years. Her husband died 30 years ago cuz he backside itchy and stopped taking the diabetes meds (that's the story I heard anyway). She also doesn't care about what she eats..... I tried to educate her but gave up long time ago. Aiya, at 65 years old, die then die lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 14, 2016 Share April 14, 2016 There's a BBC programme, 'Trust Me, I'm a Doctor', that featured this topic about sugar being the new fat. For quite a Long time, Fat was demonised, hence the start of Low Fat food culture in many products, ranging from dairy products to cookies, etc.... Then it was observed that despite the introduction of Low Fat fab, more people are ballooning in size. This is because Fat makes food tastier & palatable. Business for food manufactures will suffer if they don't add more sugar to maintain sales. Hence, there're new studies & fndings .....that regular consumption of Low Fat food products are indeed doing more harm to our bodies than taking in Fats in moderation. Of course there's this continuing debate on Animal Fat vs Vege Fat...... Personally, had tried those Low Fat Yoghurt & ice creams but they are not nice & much too sweet. Would rather enjoy those Full Fat ones in less amount or frequency than to delude myself into thinking that the Low Fat ones are healthier. Fat has an important component in satiety. I grew up drinking HL. In the past, i used to be able to drink 70 -80% of one carton by myself. Don't feel anything. Now I now drink farmhouse milk, 1 glass is enough unless I'm really hungry or thirsty. Sugar/carbohydrates is demonised. There's another BBC episode about two twins who each went on different diets. One is no carbohydrates for 1mth, one is high sugar/carbohydrates with no fat for 1 mth. Can't remember if it was a Horizon episode. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...