Calvin Cheng wants to shame hawkers

Civic101

19 minutes ago, Starry said:

Back to the thread, I feel if got cashless option is good la.......but also no need to slam hawkers if they insist on cash.  Sometimes they have their difficulties too and we as a consumer will never understand because we only look at the surface.

Agree. Sometimes, some folks are really not comfortable with technology and also wants to keep things simple.

Not everyone need to go for something just because it's good. Else we will all have the same wife, drive the same car, live in the same area.

By slamming the hawkers, Calvin has successfully portrayed himself as someone who refuses to see things from different perspective and insist on his own standards to push his personal agenda - Just another rubbish politician. 

1 hour ago, Rickster said:

Sometimes it's the network. I was once at Amoy hawker when i tried to pay and having network issues (full reception showing, but somehow data is not flowing).

Paid by cash and ended up with some oily coins thrown into my palm.

That's why I say we should look into reliability and others are surpassing us 

4 hours ago, Hubwee said:

One can just get their app ready even before ordering while in the queue lo … then when ordered , just scan the QR code and ask how much total , this way I think will be much faster … 

But what I have been seeing is the customer just stand there doing nothing , only when orders packed then ask how much , open app and wait then scan then ask how much and such .. like that confirm slow lo … 

Smart nation, smart phone, smart policy...plus stupiak users...back to cash is better for the hawkers...😁

20 minutes ago, Arogab said:

That's why I say we should look into reliability and others are surpassing us 

Reliability is definitely an influencing factor, but i don't think it's one of the key reason against adoption. Like yourself, I also travel and deal with China businesses. I don't think Singapore is any worse than China when it comes to network/power outages, equipment failure. 

But for the context of this discussion, I think why some hawkers or small biz are not hopping onto the mobile/cashless payment bandwagon is mainly:

1. Cost (Commissions, supporting account systems licenses and maintenance)
  2. Delay (more complex accounting, receiving the funds)
  3. Technophobia etc.
  4. .... or evasion of taxes 😁

Edited by Rickster

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

My place there got a quite big chinese mini mart that accept cash only, no net, no cc of any kind, dun even take cdc credit.

Counter there put a notice big big ' accept cash only' 😂

All cash? Minimart or Laundro-mart? 😆

6 minutes ago, yishunite said:

I wish he would campaign about shaming all the landlords that relentlessly hiking rents and forcing hawkers to go out of business or charge extorted prices

Yes, I think he'd win alot more populist votes and supporters to support his agenda, if any. 

14 minutes ago, yishunite said:

I wish he would campaign about shaming all the landlords that relentlessly hiking rents and forcing hawkers to go out of business or charge extorted prices

Donkey cheng may very well be a landlord himself 😁

• Sad 1

SG always talk about automation but where is the excution?

I took family to Japan and every ramen shop is automated.

Pick your ramen at the kiosk and insert your money.

Its gives you change and a ticket and the chef automatically gets your order.

A few of these kiosks at the entrance of the hawker centre and the chef will be cooking before people reach the stall.

image.png.9887203d8c1097f3fa8b4b457294acf8.png

How about an auto wok for fried rice and noodles.

The auto wok won't go toilet and don't wash hands

and won't pick his nose and scratch his bum.

image.png.3a65aa150a81bcfab4f78e9a171505fe.png

image.png.19f0169c5ebd45a769cda9cb7c2348a1.png

image.png.0c695b6277d87538a4f6c29fa94b6ca3.png

4 hours ago, Lala81 said:

The popular stalls don't usually accept cashless. Unless it's bigger ticket food like say western food. It's just Understood. Everybody bring their cash. They no time to entertain your cmi payment method. 

Boh Lang queue one. Everything also accept. 

not hawker.... but i been to shop where they gave additional discount if use cash. cos bank charges, so they got their valid concerns too.

Of course with all these machines

I cannot tapau from my favouite stalls

just for my MIL.

Sometimes only humans can give her that special taste.

52 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

All cash? Minimart or Laundro-mart? 😆

more like a 杂货店 but take up 3 unit. sell everything, business too good, they dun even register for cdc . i never ask, but never see any cdc sticker around, never see any 1 using cdc to pay 

20230213_154421.jpg

Edited by Beregond

5 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Paiseh, who is Calvin Cheng? 😅 Then i asked Mr Google then i know he is former Nominated Member of Parliament. 😂

btw, his middle name is "kar". 🤣

just some attention seeker. 

8 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Paiseh, who is Calvin Cheng? 😅 Then i asked Mr Google then i know he is former Nominated Member of Parliament. 😂

Why never use chatGPT?

13 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I asked chatgrt. AI more humane than him!👍👍👍

😁😁😁😁

Qn: Who is Calvin Cheng Singapore 

Calvin Cheng is a Singaporean politician and former Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) in Singapore. He was a member of the Nominated Member of Parliament Scheme, a program that allows non-elected individuals to participate in the decision-making process in Singapore's Parliament. Cheng is also a media personality and has been a political commentator on various Singaporean news channels. In addition to his political and media work, Cheng has been involved in various business ventures.

Qns: Recently he shamed the hawkers that went against his agenda.

Ans: I'm sorry, I do not have any recent information on Calvin Cheng shaming hawkers. However, as a neutral AI language model, it is important to note that public figures, including politicians and media personalities, can sometimes make controversial statements that generate public debate. Whether or not someone agrees with a particular individual's views, it is important to maintain respect for the opinions of others and engage in constructive dialogue.

Edited by Kopites
  • Haha! 8