Davidklt 6th Gear March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:14 PM, Victor68 said: You are assuming all people will have a smart handphone and subscribe to a data line? Cashless nation is only for them? First of all, non-smartphones are no longer in the Singapore market, I think. And telcos also do not offer non-data plans. So what phone and plans are these people using ? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:17 PM, Benarsenal said: Good for you I guess. But there's a whole spectrum of customers, not all of which are alert or savvy enough to follow the procedure as we currently have with PayNow/PayLah. Which is why I say we must make the flow as seamless and straightforward as possible. Minimise the steps needed. Right now the system is a bit akin to telling the customer, "You ownself check price, I trust you to pay the right amount", which, honestly, is highly vulnerable to misuse. Instead it should be "I tell you this price, you only pay this price". Take the control out of the customer. In Amoy market, there is a fishball noodle store that has a Bluetooth speaker linked to handphone. Whenever payment made, the amount is announced loudly. I live silver zone. A lot of hawkers in my estate accept Paylah. In fact, 1 of the kopi stall encourages all its customer to pay with Paylah on Friday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:15 PM, Davidklt said: Acutally, I find the Singapore system still abit laggy esp on Google Pay. These few seconds makes busy hawkers impatient. Laggy as compared to? Is it a telco issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:23 PM, Davidklt said: First of all, non-smartphones are no longer in the Singapore market, I think. And telcos also do not offer non-data plans. So what phone and plans are these people using ? They mainly are old folks and children. I hope you don't forget them and they do eat and buy stuff for daily life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:25 PM, Victor68 said: They mainly are old folks and children. I hope you don't forget them and they do eat and buy stuff for daily life. The people you are referring to is the extreme minority. And very very few. Just take a MRT ride. You can see how many old folks there using their smartphone phones to log into Facebook or YouTube to watch videos, WhatsApp their kakis etc. Some even do FaceTime in the MRT with their children. The other day I saw an old folk using her smartphone to pay for their public transport ride. Don’t underestimate their ability to learn. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:35 PM, Davidklt said: The people you are referring to is the extreme minority. And very very few. Just take a MRT ride. You can see how many old folks there using their smartphone phones to log into Facebook or YouTube to watch videos, WhatsApp their kakis etc. Some even do FaceTime in the MRT with their children. The other day I saw an old folk using her smartphone to pay for their public transport ride. Don’t underestimate their ability to learn. Alamak, we are an inclusive society lah. Not all lower secondary school and below students hold a smart phone. Minority or not, we shouldn't leave them out just because we want to save some money on infrastructure installation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 2:57 PM, Victor68 said: Scan code first need to switch on phone, go to scan, make sure data signal is strong, scan, let it read, again signal strength important, then key in amount, then pay. No data how? Hawker key in amount, you see correct, tap your card to pay, isn't it better? No signal is required. i kinda agree on the connectivity. Some malls inside have quite poor connection for certain telco. While it may not be common but it does happen to me before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 On 3/13/2023 at 3:23 PM, inlinesix said: In Amoy market, there is a fishball noodle store that has a Bluetooth speaker linked to handphone. Whenever payment made, the amount is announced loudly. I live silver zone. A lot of hawkers in my estate accept Paylah. In fact, 1 of the kopi stall encourages all its customer to pay with Paylah on Friday. That's becos they don't want to deal with peeps who make payment with 5c...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo5sg 2nd Gear March 13, 2023 Share March 13, 2023 @Davidklt I using Alcatel button phone. using prepaid. just upgraded my sim from 2G to 4g last month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 16, 2023 Share March 16, 2023 ↡ Advertisement 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...