Estrangable 5th Gear February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 there is an element of truth la... when yours truly was in sweet motherland, chionging in their 夜店... everyone pay via wepay or alipay... i was the only one who paid via Maos... and the bartender stared at me like an alien... even have to go out of the bar to get the change... These days, i also hardly bring cash out.... the only time i am flushed with swabs of notes is during CNY ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic101 6th Gear February 14, 2023 Author Share February 14, 2023 His objective achieved - front page on newspaper - attention seeking bastxxd! Knn! 3 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 13 hours ago, PSP415 said: Really lost touch with reality. Did he try teaching an elderly to use such a payment app before? One who is not tech savy and may own a simple phone, they see number pad big big happy liao type. My elderly aunt, after teaching her how to use sms, whatsapp and whatever apps, still clueless. She has difficulty remembering. She is OK and happy to remain a peasant as long as she can pay for her food in cash every time. Interesting when you realize that 10+ years from now, ours will be the generation of elderly that knows how to use apps, electronic payment systems, e-mail, whatsapp, wechat, make tiktok video, and use all kinds of social media In 10+ years' time, this issue of an older generation that is hard to adopt these technologies will naturally gradually disappear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 27 minutes ago, Civic101 said: His objective achieved - front page on newspaper - attention seeking bastxxd! Knn! I see another headline on this newspaper is 90% commuters still wear mask on public transport. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 Nothing beats physical representation. I do like handphone money, no electricity no access no money? For those dum dum who think that the technology wont change or stay relevant when they laokokok. Coins lasted from which century....or bce i think. Digital drum mah but physical drum is better. 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 16 minutes ago, Sosaria said: Interesting when you realize that 10+ years from now, ours will be the generation of elderly that knows how to use apps, electronic payment systems, e-mail, whatsapp, wechat, make tiktok video, and use all kinds of social media In 10+ years' time, this issue of an older generation that is hard to adopt these technologies will naturally gradually disappear. You may not know, but when the newer generations adopt new technologies like embedding of chips in body for conveniences, and we are the older folks that still use physical mobile devices, then we are the ones that are delaying the process of technology advancements. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 If I was Karcheng I wouldn't go to any hawker centre now. If Karcheng tapau anything for me I wouldn't dare eat it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 (edited) 28 minutes ago, Sosaria said: Interesting when you realize that 10+ years from now, ours will be the generation of elderly that knows how to use apps, electronic payment systems, e-mail, whatsapp, wechat, make tiktok video, and use all kinds of social media In 10+ years' time, this issue of an older generation that is hard to adopt these technologies will naturally gradually disappear. That's life and progress. You used the right words "naturally, gradually" Just dun beat up those 10-40 years ahead of us and belittle them. Most are genuinely struggling to keep up with these apps and there are some who keep failing. Some hawkers may seriously feel that such cashless systems are unnecessary, unaffordable, troublesome or allowed some cheapos to eat without paying. Dun blast/call out/shame without understanding their concerns. Am not against the ease of making cashless payments. In future, I see how people can be easily controlled by such technologies where no one will not be able to buy or sell without it. The speed to embrace it is frankly, scary to me, it speaks of a global common currency. The world is more united than we realise. Yesterday, bought a bubble tea from Gong Cha at Causeway Point. NO cash payment. 😂 Stay safe Cheers Edited February 14, 2023 by PSP415 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 2 minutes ago, PSP415 said: In future, I see how people can be easily controlled by such technologies where no one will not be able to buy or sell without it. The speed to embrace it is frankly, scary to me, it speaks of a global common currency. The world is more united than we realise. I had complained about lack of digital wallet in Singapore especially hawker since i returned from China in 2018. It only picks up during COVID. Likely with a lot of govt push. With digital wallet, we can reduce note printing. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 2 minutes ago, inlinesix said: I had complained about lack of digital wallet in Singapore especially hawker since i returned from China in 2018. It only picks up during COVID. Likely with a lot of govt push. With digital wallet, we can reduce note printing. Yes, Covid-19 came to fast track cashless payments. In fact, that's what Gong Cha said in a placard at counter. Paraphrased "for the health safety of Customers and Staff, they do not accept cash". 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 2 hours ago, Sosaria said: Interesting when you realize that 10+ years from now, ours will be the generation of elderly that knows how to use apps, electronic payment systems, e-mail, whatsapp, wechat, make tiktok video, and use all kinds of social media In 10+ years' time, this issue of an older generation that is hard to adopt these technologies will naturally gradually disappear. hmm what makes u think that we won't be any different? technology will continue to progress. Honestly in another 20-30 years, the technology will be something we cannot imagine now. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 3 hours ago, Sosaria said: Interesting when you realize that 10+ years from now, ours will be the generation of elderly that knows how to use apps, electronic payment systems, e-mail, whatsapp, wechat, make tiktok video, and use all kinds of social media In 10+ years' time, this issue of an older generation that is hard to adopt these technologies will naturally gradually disappear. I am close to 60 and I worked in IT industry for over 35 years. I have no problems using any of the latest stuff except the new metaverse. I just don't see the need for it BUT in the future, perhaps everything will be virtual and I won't be able to fit in to the virtual digital ecosystem and would not understand why people wants to go virtual. Haha. Never say never ... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 Honestly, not everybody has the ability to catch up to the pace of development. Just 20 years ago, computers run on Windows XP, and no such thing as smartphone or apps. 20 years is actually a very short time, and some people, especially older folks, simply cannot keep up with the speed of how things change. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 (edited) This guy reminds me of Amos Yee. Both are magnets for rotten eggs. It is better for them to close their mouths and let people think they are fools, than open their mouths and confirm it. Edited February 14, 2023 by Albeniz 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 21 minutes ago, Albeniz said: This guy reminds me of Amos Yee. Both are magnets for rotten eggs. It is better for them to close their mouths and let people think they are fools, than open their mouths and confirm it. Actually, its better they open their mouths and confirm they are fools with never ending verbal diarrhoea than close it to keep up an appearance of being wise. That's why we were often told to shut up if got nothing good/better to say or contribute. 🤐 😂😂😂 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 (edited) 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: hmm what makes u think that we won't be any different? technology will continue to progress. Honestly in another 20-30 years, the technology will be something we cannot imagine now. I don't think so. Once we are exposed to IT and those sort of tech, it seems we are mentally "wired" on how to use these things. Something as simple as select and click, vs double-click vs click, hold and drag The wiring in our brains has adapted to provide such dexterous ability. But of course for elderly, the problem is also due to slower reaction time and poor eyesight, make it difficult for them to adopt all these new tech. Edited February 14, 2023 by Sosaria 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 13 minutes ago, Sosaria said: I don't think so. Once we are exposed to IT and those sort of tech, it seems we are mentally "wired" on how to use these things. Something as simple as select and click, vs double-click vs click, hold and drag The wiring in our brains has adapted to provide such dexterous ability. But of course for elderly, the problem is also due to slower reaction time and poor eyesight, make it difficult for them to adopt all these new tech. Hmm that's because over the last twenty years. There's something called UI designer. This job didn't exist 20-30 years ago. Similarly a consumer's understanding of digital technology is very superficial. If your personality is open to new experiences, probably you would be fine. I personally don't like voice assistant or natural language queries like chatgpt cos I'm brought up on search terms. It will take some adapting to over the years. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2023 Share February 14, 2023 3 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Hmm that's because over the last twenty years. There's something called UI designer. This job didn't exist 20-30 years ago. Similarly a consumer's understanding of digital technology is very superficial. If your personality is open to new experiences, probably you would be fine. I personally don't like voice assistant or natural language queries like chatgpt cos I'm brought up on search terms. It will take some adapting to over the years. In this day and age, we are in this constant loop of Learning, unlearning and relearning ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...