Calvin Cheng wants to shame hawkers

Civic101

1 minute ago, Kxbc said:

Most of these undecisive ones from what I observed, are the aunties. Don't want to make a decision while Q-ing. Then their turn, they will look left look right, left again, right again and still can't make up their mind. Want more of this, less of that. yee yee orh orh. damn irritating.

Sometimes cai peng cannot see what is in the behind trays until u get close lah. Haha. 

32 minutes ago, Davidklt said:

Imagine the 5 or 10 cents dropped and you have to pick it up. Some times near the stall drain...so unhygenic esp just before you are suppose to eat.

if people continue to pay by cash, i will still have the opportunity to pick up 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents occasionally from the floor. Buay pai mah! 🙂 

The thing is how much the merchant platforms like Grab or whatever are charging the hawker food vendors?

We know that Nets and CC charges vendors around 3%. For hawkers their profit margin is very low compared to restaurants are they able to afford such platforms of cashless options? Somemore Nets and CC also charges the use of thee machine for the cashless transactions.

There is no such thing as free for the service. Cash does not have this nonsense.

1 minute ago, Lala81 said:

Sometimes cai peng cannot see what is in the behind trays until u get close lah. Haha. 

If I am standing behind them and I can see, they surely can see. It just their indecisiveness. 

47 minutes ago, Rickster said:

Exactly! The only reason why i prefer cashless payment is because of they spare me the torture of COINS!!

Can always ask the stall to keep the coins. I always do that for coins. 😁 alternatively use the coins at 4d booth. 😁

How he knows what happens at a hawker centre?

Eating at a hawker centre means he no dignity.

What if someone eats at fine dining talks to him?

He cannot reply to them because he only eats at a hawker centre.

3 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

The thing is how much the merchant platforms like Grab or whatever are charging the hawker food vendors?

We know that Nets and CC charges vendors around 3%. For hawkers their profit margin is very low compared to restaurants are they able to afford such platforms of cashless options? Somemore Nets and CC also charges the use of thee machine for the cashless transactions.

There is no such thing as free for the service. Cash does not have this nonsense.

Once I overheard a conversation between a stallowner and a customer queueing Infront of me. She prefer cash. She disliked those cdc, pay app payments as the actual payments would take  "days"/"weeks" before it get credited into her account. Small business need "liquid cash". 

20 minutes ago, Starry said:

For those scan to order at restaurant, my old phone can't even load the menu.  So I will still end up asking the waiter to do it. 

Now, not that I dun wan to use new tech hor.....but my phone can't load the menu..,,so no choice....

My dad is using a far newer phone. Then I brought him out recently, same had qr code menu. And he said after some repair his phone can't scan qr code anymore (which by right Samsung camera app will recognise usually).

I went to download the legitimate qr code scanner app for him. 

18 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Can always ask the stall to keep the coins. I always do that for coins. 😁 alternatively use the coins at 4d booth. 😁

$6.10, you ask them to keep the coins? And 90 cents what can you buy at 4d booth? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

4 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

$6.10, you ask them to keep the coins? And 90 cents what can you buy at 4d booth? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Top up 10 cent at 4d booth

Or let her keep the 90cents

Simple.

Edited by Kopites

28 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

As a sme which accepts cash less and less over the years. There is definitely less problems with cashless. Don't need to worry about pilferage, wrong counting, keeping enough coins and small notes in the cashier machine. 

But when cashless has problems, it's crippling. And end up using what? Cash. Cos it's 100% universal. 

I think, what we need is to think about performance on reliability. I did not encounter much down issues in China

16 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Once I overheard a conversation between a stallowner and a customer queueing Infront of me. She prefer cash. She disliked those cdc, pay app payments as the actual payments would take  "days"/"weeks" before it get credited into her account. Small business need "liquid cash". 

if their suppliers only take cash, they will prefer we pay by cash because like you said, more liquid. That's what a hawker told me.

For me, I will use cashless option if I am not holding up a queue even though I prep while I queue. For those with a long Q, I will pay by cash to do my part in keeping the line moving fast.

Back to the thread, I feel if got cashless option is good la.......but also no need to slam hawkers if they insist on cash.  Sometimes they have their difficulties too and we as a consumer will never understand because we only look at the surface.

28 minutes ago, Arogab said:

I think, what we need is to think about performance on reliability. I did not encounter much down issues in China

Sometimes it's the network. I was once at Amoy hawker when i tried to pay and having network issues (full reception showing, but somehow data is not flowing).

Paid by cash and ended up with some oily coins thrown into my palm.

My place there got a quite big chinese mini mart that accept cash only, no net, no cc of any kind, dun even take cdc credit.

Counter there put a notice big big ' accept cash only' 😂

My MIL is known by every hawker for going cashless.

They already know she will say.

No money my SIL will pay you next week.