Calvin Cheng wants to shame hawkers

Civic101

9 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Yup, I always do that. Scan first and wait, once ready just key in amount and ok, less than 10 sec done. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

That’s good , cannot tahan those who hold up queues lo … really dun understand why they cannot get ready first lo … 

I don't dare to use PayNow for food purchase.

Later if I key in and pay $450 for my $4.50 cai png, how?

Is Calvin going to help me with the refund?

• Haha! 9

15 minutes ago, Arogab said:

Years agon in China, mostly are cashless liao. I am not for or against anything or anyone. 

But I am sure we should be comfortable with what we have in SG

That's cos 99% of China population never had credit cards prior to the digital age. 

We always had CC since the 80s.

The countries that adopt digital payments faster are the ones with no legacy systems. 

Similarly with paynow, we don't need alipay or Wei xin to facilitate payments. Grabpay is probably the closest. 

The digital payment systems is adopted faster in countries with a less adopted banking system or a mostly unbanked population. 

• Praise 10

1 minute ago, Hubwee said:

That’s good , cannot tahan those who hold up queues lo … really dun understand why they cannot get ready first lo … 

They don't see the need. If in the older days, u had no handphone and you are just standing there waiting just purely for the queue to be over, your motivation is stronger. 

In a physical queue for food ordering, your queue doesn't skip. 

7 minutes ago, Hubwee said:

No doubt may take slightly more time but it does also help on the hygiene levels also …

importantly , if everyone does their part , things will move faster lo .. 

not only going cashless , if customer prepares their cash when ordering , rather than collect food Liao then open wallet , some even dig coins things will speed up also lo … 

If buying your usual one pax lunch fare, then reasonable to prep the usual amount. 

6 minutes ago, Hubwee said:

I tried this before because it takes me long time to open app, so I open ready first. However, after I ordered, I realise the app auto log out already.....

In the end, I still pay cash.....lol

33 minutes ago, Hubwee said:

One can just get their app ready even before ordering while in the queue lo … then when ordered , just scan the QR code and ask how much total , this way I think will be much faster … 

But what I have been seeing is the customer just stand there doing nothing , only when orders packed then ask how much , open app and wait then scan then ask how much and such .. like that confirm slow lo … 

Its like taxi

reach stop then open wallet lol

36 minutes ago, Hubwee said:

One can just get their app ready even before ordering while in the queue lo … then when ordered , just scan the QR code and ask how much total , this way I think will be much faster … 

But what I have been seeing is the customer just stand there doing nothing , only when orders packed then ask how much , open app and wait then scan then ask how much and such .. like that confirm slow lo … 

This is basic, but most will prefer scrolling IG and tiktok to that because because.

29 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I use the app almost everyday, 90% at least I think. These days no hawker look at your phone, even those who look at it will wait for their terminal to confirm before saying, ‘’OK 来了‘’.  Otherwise they won't close the sales. 

There is one old lady selling fish ball noodles near by place, she doesn't even look at the phone, she told me she cannot see from the phone, but she listen to the sound from her terminal, amount cannot confirm but she know got go through.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If this old lady and other similarly challenged hawkers kena those that send less amount, then they lugi liao.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I dislike queuing behind people who use cashless actually. 

My company's cafeteria uses paynow and most of us are using that. there is a QR code at the start of the queue, so we would scan first and after ordering, just key in the amount required and send. It's much faster and more hygienic too. 

One thing to note is it is fast because most of us know what to do and where to scan. Outside is abit hard coz the barcode can be any where and there are so many modes of payment, grab, fave, google, paynow, paylah. Not just payment confusing, the cashier also need to check multiple acc to see the customer use what payment. 

19 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

That's cos 99% of China population never had credit cards prior to the digital age. 

We always had CC since the 80s.

The countries that adopt digital payments faster are the ones with no legacy systems. 

Similarly with paynow, we don't need alipay or Wei xin to facilitate payments. Grabpay is probably the closest. 

The digital payment systems is adopted faster in countries with a less adopted banking system or a mostly unbanked population. 

Finally someone from the non-tech world to put this message across so succinctly. great post.

18 minutes ago, Hubwee said:

I almost never join the queue until and unless I know what I want to order, even at cai png stalls. I will stay out and look first,  decide what I want then join the queue, my order is always less than a min. 

Some of those who pay cash, takes forever to decide,  and keep asking, then start to dig for wallet, coins, etc. 

Those I really hate, and the hawkers hate them also. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

This Calvin talk like the world revolve around himself nia. Lucky he no more nmp. Not sure if hes still PAP or not, but I doubt PAP would want somemore so sub-standard leow lar. If he still one, hes likely be asked to leave also. The way he talk sibei tackless lar. He can have his opinion, but the manner he spurt out from his mouth or from his brain puts a bad bad taste to everyone.

12 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Its like taxi

reach stop then open wallet lol

Is this a generation problem? 

Both my daughters have this issue. They have to wait for the car to stop completely before they get up, put on their shoes, collect and put things in bag, then alight, even when I tell them 5 min before reaching to get ready. 

Our alighting shelter is near the gantry, so many times there will be vehicles behind us while they take their time, so now I drive to the open area, and let them take all the time they want. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

41 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I tot we are a democratic society? Why discriminate hawkers who accept cash only? My parents have no paynow leh. they only know how to use cash. 

They paid income tax, cpf and property tax throughout their working years, now the society want to condemn them?  

My wallet still have notes also. If he don't want cash, ask him pass me all his notes lah. 

yah loh

what's next? he's going to shame the elderly who dun have smartphones or dunno how to use the payment apps?

fk this donkey cheng

1 hour ago, PSP415 said:

Wait one day, phone n watch battery died, network down, machine malfunction. 

He can eat own sai. Free one. 

What a stinky fellow. Brain connected to toilet bowl that can't flush. 

At least, try to understand why these hawkers are not using such a payment system, not blast at them self righteously. 

His convenience is more important than whatever issue/consideration of others. 

The world would be a better place with less of such pompous people. 

Stay safe all 

I agree.

Some of you guys know I worked in China before, and over there it's virtually all digital payments. But there was one day when the system broke down at the convenience store near my office, and it was just all havoc because there was no backup system.

People just ended up not paying for stuff. Was a total mess.

I don't understand why we need so many payment apps, just confusing and waste of time and resources.  

Even big as china, they only have 2-3 payment apps if I am not wrong, the biggest being wexin and alipay?

Personally I think paywave is the best. Other than credit cards, most bank cards are now debit cards, and all supports paywave. Just have to incorporate payment terminal into the POS cash register,  hawker key in amount, we tap and go. 

Easy? No need to scan and key in again and all wait. Of course I believe higher cost may be the issue, but that can be sorted out i am sure. [laugh][laugh][laugh]