Parliament 2023

Jellandross

On 8/8/2023 at 11:56 PM, 13177 said:

Artery severely blocked?  But he said he has good cholesterol levels etc le. Lucky he did not get heart attack and managed to found out during a health check and get treatment.

Looks like artery blockage common in many people. It is like a time bomb. 😅

He claims that he is not sedentary and cholesterol level all ok.

Can any doc explain why major artery can still get blocked? Puzzled to know why.

Because normally we rely on these - blood pressure, cholesterol, BMI, etc. - to decide we are at low risk of any blockage; not everyone can afford or wants to pay for extensive cardiac health check on regular/annual basis.

I recall that someone told me before large artery gets blocked, the deposits would have clogged up smaller blood vessels and capillaries first, i.e. ED is an early warning sign [laugh]

On 8/9/2023 at 11:50 AM, Sosaria said:

Can any doc explain why major artery can still get blocked? Puzzled to know why.

Because normally we rely on these - blood pressure, cholesterol, BMI, etc. - to decide we are at low risk of any blockage; not everyone can afford or wants to pay for extensive cardiac health check on regular/annual basis.

I recall that someone told me before large artery gets blocked, the deposits would have clogged up smaller blood vessels and capillaries first, i.e. ED is an early warning sign [laugh]

Low risk doesn't mean no risk. I was told my chance of getting heart disease was 5% (jumped from 2% as I crossed age band) but still discovered blockage when scanned. 

• Shocked 2

On 8/9/2023 at 11:50 AM, Sosaria said:

He danced with the devil known as KH. 🤣

This one can ask volvobrick. He also a member of the club. 

You are right. Most people can’t do extensive cardiac check on a regular basis but he can. Every month also can if he want.

On 8/9/2023 at 9:00 AM, 13177 said:

Say easy but do it very difficult lo. How not to have stress and anxiety from daily life le. 😅

We can't remove stress entirely, but we can minimize it. 

I can give so many ways to do this (long story), but I dun wan to go off topic on a Parliament thread...😄

On 8/9/2023 at 11:54 AM, Volvobrick said:

Low risk doesn't mean no risk. I was told my chance of getting heart disease was 5% (jumped from 2% as I crossed age band) but still discovered blockage when scanned. 

5% is consider low le, then why still blockage le. 

On 8/9/2023 at 1:46 PM, 13177 said:

5% is consider low le, then why still blockage le. 

It's pure statistics. Chance of striking first price in 4D is 0.01% yest every draw many strike it! So Heng. 

Me also strike at 5% but so suay... 

• Sad 1

On 8/9/2023 at 2:50 PM, Volvobrick said:

It's pure statistics. Chance of striking first price in 4D is 0.01% yest every draw many strike it! So Heng. 

Me also strike at 5% but so suay... 

Take good care bro.......eat well, exercise often and most importantly, keep stress level low.  

I usually support WP lah....however, I find it difficult to swallow what Ms Lim proposes this time.  :lll._.:

I worry about her follow up suggestions :

1. To abolish car insurance. Let LTA fully compensate drivers in an accident regardless of fault.
  2. HDB to fully reimburse home owners for any house burglary.

😁

WP MP Sylvia Lim calls for banks to fully reimburse scam victims; Govt says idea 'neither fair nor desirable'

20230918_cna_parliament_sylvia_lim_alvin

• Workers' Party chairman Sylvia Lim urged the Government to hold banks fully responsible for losses incurred by scam victims
  • Mr Alvin Tan, Minister of State for Trade and Industry, said that this would be "neither fair nor desirable" and can lull users into complacency

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/parliament-wp-sylvia-lim-banks-reimburse-scam-victims-2257576

Thanks to our President, I can now better justify to my boss how I intend to pick up a sideline "in private capacity" and promise not to divulge any company secrets.  😁

Btw, I wonder if our Parliament would do the same for TKL if he had won the presidency.   🙄

Parliament passes law for President, ministers to hold international roles in private capacity

Opportunities to serve in international institutions do not come by all the time and should be treasured, says Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

• Singapore's President can now take up international roles in a private capacity if the Cabinet advises it is in the national interest to do so
  • Safeguards will be in place, including not to comment on domestic politics and laws, not making commitments on behalf of the government or Singapore, and not keeping any pay or benefits
  • There is also a legal framework for ministers to accept international roles in a private capacity, which they have already done in the past

With the passage of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment No. 3) Bill, the President can perform international roles when the Cabinet advises that it is in the national interest to do so.

The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) tabled the amendments at the last parliamentary sitting on Nov 6, saying in a media release that holding such positions can enhance Singapore’s international standing.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/president-ministers-international-appointment-private-capacity-tharman-parliament-constitution-3939586

On 11/23/2023 at 9:16 AM, Didu said:

Thanks to our President, I can now better justify to my boss how I intend to pick up a sideline "in private capacity" and promise not to divulge any company secrets.  😁

Btw, I wonder if our Parliament would do the same for TKL if he had won the presidency.   🙄

Parliament passes law for President, ministers to hold international roles in private capacity

Opportunities to serve in international institutions do not come by all the time and should be treasured, says Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

• Singapore's President can now take up international roles in a private capacity if the Cabinet advises it is in the national interest to do so
  • Safeguards will be in place, including not to comment on domestic politics and laws, not making commitments on behalf of the government or Singapore, and not keeping any pay or benefits
  • There is also a legal framework for ministers to accept international roles in a private capacity, which they have already done in the past

With the passage of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment No. 3) Bill, the President can perform international roles when the Cabinet advises that it is in the national interest to do so.

The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) tabled the amendments at the last parliamentary sitting on Nov 6, saying in a media release that holding such positions can enhance Singapore’s international standing.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/president-ministers-international-appointment-private-capacity-tharman-parliament-constitution-3939586

What international position TKL holds?

😂

On 11/23/2023 at 9:16 AM, Didu said:

Wah shiok leh, can earn additional pocket money in addition to the disgusting millions per year that they are already drawing. Is this considered raiding the reserves? 

Tpyical P@P style lo .... dun dare to amend before the pres election but once election done , fast fast change law liao ...