Parliament 2023

Jellandross

On 4/23/2023 at 10:56 AM, Carbon82 said:

Wow Singapore is already an English speaking society in the early 20th century (not Malay meh)? No wonder I failed my history... :D

Mr Tong noted that a “significant proportion of Singaporeans throughout our history have not been able to speak English well”.

Citing his 96-year-old grandmother as an example, he added: “If we had years ago applied this test, then someone like her may not have made it into Singapore.”

And hor, last time is last time, we don't need to progress meh? Like that hor can our dear ministers draw the salary of 1980s? Cannot right... then what bird talking you?! 

No wonder Singapore don't want to have live telecast for parliament session, as it may seems a Sitcom to some. 

I also stunned like vegetable when he said this.

Last time is last time, now is now. How can compare?

On 4/23/2023 at 11:12 AM, Fcw75 said:

Not unimportant meaning it’s important or not important ah?

Some here only prembaree tree.

I tink he meant to convey that what he says is important...what others say is unimportant...or he was trying the yoda thing until confused...😁

et-68f60dd0b98e14ad.jpg

R (10).jpg

So many new citizens from china, how to implement English test? 😒

Got money and park it here can already, simi English test?

你奶奶的熊猫!

On 4/23/2023 at 11:09 AM, Tkseah said:

ET just cannot admit that anything Oppo say is useful.. therefore cannot use words like important to describe Oppo's points.. can only use not unimportant.. 😆

On 4/23/2023 at 11:21 AM, mersaylee said:

I tink he meant to convey that what he says is important...what others say is unimportant...or he was trying the yoda thing until confused...😁

et-68f60dd0b98e14ad.jpg

R (10).jpg

No. 

He was narrating his grandmother story. Read carbon post. 🤣

Edited by Kopites

On 4/22/2023 at 10:03 PM, Kopites said:

Unimportant?🤣🤣🤣

playing with word? 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/english-test-new-citizens-pr-applications-pritam-singh-edwin-tong-3436806

Quoted from cna. 

In his exchange with Mr Tong, Mr Singh referred to the findings of CNA’s poll, saying that while he does not want to lean too much into one survey alone, it may be “a good time” to consider how people's views change through generations.

To that, Mr Tong responded that the survey findings are “not an unimportant consideration”.

“It's one survey ... but it does reflect sentiments in our society. I think we must take heed of it,” he said.

曹你马 老子有的是钱 还需要什么狗屁英语?

Greetings to your mother. I'm old but rich. Does my farting dog need English?

Edited by Jellandross

On 4/23/2023 at 11:12 AM, Fcw75 said:

Not unimportant meaning it’s important or not important ah?

Some here only prembaree tree.

Eh eh eh ……U Tokking bout me ….. no anyhow say my brudders many liddat hor …..got @Tianmo dunno simi K2 can until XXX 1 

On 4/23/2023 at 11:21 AM, mersaylee said:

et-68f60dd0b98e14ad.jpg

R (10).jpg

Is like saying “I dun disagree “

On 4/22/2023 at 10:03 PM, Kopites said:

Unimportant?🤣🤣🤣

playing with word? 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/english-test-new-citizens-pr-applications-pritam-singh-edwin-tong-3436806

Quoted from cna. 

In his exchange with Mr Tong, Mr Singh referred to the findings of CNA’s poll, saying that while he does not want to lean too much into one survey alone, it may be “a good time” to consider how people's views change through generations.

To that, Mr Tong responded that the survey findings are “not an unimportant consideration”.

“It's one survey ... but it does reflect sentiments in our society. I think we must take heed of it,” he said.

i think the govt know it but act blur

people are dulan whenever there are too many foreigners coming in at once

just like the early 2010s when there were many yaya papaya pinoys here who claimed Singapore couldn't do well without them and wanted to "take over" Malays as the 2nd largest group here

the surge of CECAs in the 2020s bringing their higher caste attitude here

and now the influx of rich tiongs snapping up properties and cars

I think we have to ask the purpose of the English test. 

To quote LOTO, "Singaporeans do not want new citizens who don’t want to live here but only want the power of the Singapore passport for their convenience"... “Is a working proficiency in English a criteria for citizenship for better integration between new citizens and Singaporeans of all races and religions, since English is our main language of communication?” 

If the focus is on not having citizens who don't want to live here and want the power of the Singapore passport, there are many measures we can implement, such as minimum number of days to stay in sg.. an English test isn't going to prevent this but enrich language centers And tutors instead. Huat for them.

If the focus is on English as our main language communication, then this fails entirely as we don't even apply the same standards to Singaporeans, that English is compulsory. I have malay neighbours who can't speak very well in English, perhaps only a few functional singular words but we communicate well enough. 

I belong to the camp that don't think the English test is going to be useful in avoiding the above problems and better measures can be in place, otherwise we will end up seeing centers offering '3 month English crash course, results guaranteed etc'.

End up only the rich fellas end up getting in and those who can really contribute, say a skilled malaysian mechanic who has a decade of repairing hybrid cars here, not being able to get a citizenship as he can't afford English lessons. 

will the layman here feel a difference in the new citizen being able to speak in English? I really doubt so. Would this policy cause us to be more divisive and discriminatory? Yes likely.

So back to the purpose of the English test, is it really to benefit Singaporeans? Are we, as a Singaporean society, better as a country by drawing clearer lines against those who can speak English or not? 

Ironically, the original settlers of Singapore were malays and we thrived because of our openness, which was necessary considering the lack of natural resources.

Will closing ourselves in and limiting our pool mostly to those who can afford English lessons, or can natively speak English, benefit us?

On 4/23/2023 at 5:30 PM, Fcw75 said:

So many tiongs here that they are opening their own pub. 

https://mothership.sg/2023/04/helens-singapore/?fbclid=IwAR3i73fTbD1TilykCdl0XOpDckX3kQKjcWPU_egV4-PlCEfJ3N9T8bna6eM&mibextid=tejx2t

China pub chain with over 700 stores to open 1st S'pore outlet in May 2023

Luckin kopi also here oredi...simi 星爸克? 😂

slam oppo for not coming up with feasible alternate policies

then refuse to share data citing social impact

btw what's so confid about the data? izzit there are many more CECA here than we think? 

🙈🙉🙊

• Sad 1
  • Haha! 7

On 4/24/2023 at 8:10 AM, Scion said:

slam oppo for not coming up with feasible alternate policies

then refuse to share data citing social impact

btw what's so confid about the data? izzit there are many more CECA here than we think? 

🙈🙉🙊

Yalor, what is so confidential about employment or foreign worker data?  If the truth on such data can incite social unrest, something must be wrong with the true situation then... 

Anyone knows at what age boys can convert to PR then no need to serve NS?

(Parents already PR, their boy is in home country finishing college, academically well and wish to study in Singapore to join parents, PR will have better rates in fees + easier to find jobs in Singapore)

Edited by Silverkris

On 4/24/2023 at 9:34 AM, Silverkris said:

(Parents already PR, their boy is in home country finishing college, academically well and wish to study in Singapore to join parents, PR will have better rates in fees + easier to find jobs in Singapore)

Past 40 I think. After reservist cycle.

On 4/24/2023 at 9:34 AM, Silverkris said:

I always had the understanding that all male second generation kids will have to serve NS even if the kid is not a PR .. 

happy to be corrected if I am wrong ..

Edited by Hubwee