5 cents per plastic bag at supermarkets from mid 2023 (Start 3 July 2023)

Blueray

On 2/6/2023 at 11:15 PM, Volvobrick said:

My furry master jin cham, no Sh!tty Times no plastic bags for her poo. I guess will have to leave it as fertiliser for the grass in future.

Waiting to see people pouring their food waste straight down the rubbish chutes. 

Still can buy plastic bags in pack from lazada or shopee , just use it moderately 

1 hour ago, Hamburger said:

Spend money to get rid of rubbish where it could have been saved from recycling the used plastic bag.

What kind of dumb ass idea to begin with. Diu....

People that stays in ivory tower probably never do household chores. Diao...

You stay on the island too long.

A lot of cities are doing that.

We are way way behind the curve

In SG, or rather most parts of the world, a punishment system seem to work better than a rewarding system.  So policies markers rather just follow what others did.  It is crystal clear that plastic bags are part of business cost, and has been costed into the operating cost, meaning consumers have already paid for the plastic bags, so why need to pay for the bags again? 

well, of course i can understand that from an eco friendly POV to cut down on the usage, but is there no other ways other than punishing in the form of making you pay for it AGAIN? 

I know many businesses have already started charging for carriers, and what next after the supermarkets? Next time tabao makan better standby to pay 10 cents for a plastic bag, otherwise bring your own bag to put the tabao food.  

Actually I dont really care anymore, neither am I really upset over it. Other than fresh produces, I have already switched most of my purchases online and get them to deliver, and I buy those thin black trash bags in rolls for my rubbish.  When I do go shopping, I dont really bother with paying for the bags, I just pay for it. 

Basically, I dont care, and when I dont care, the gov policy not going to hurt me.  So yah I just Fark it because it's just stupid and I am not going to get upset over a stupid policy. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Oh yah, but I make an effort to buy from shops who give rebate for plastic bags instead of charging, and Gokoku Japanese Bakery at B1 Jurong point is one of them. If you dont need a carrier, they will knock 10 cents from your bill. So although Breadtalk doesnt charge for plastic bags, I will still walk over to Gokoku, Not for the 10 cents, but for the fact that they are doing it the opposite. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

agreed loh.. some of the cashier keep put double bag.. dunno for wat.. each bag is strong enuff liao loh.. but then again some consumer will "scold" them for not putting double bag.. but at least i feel they can ask first if need double loh..

No use especially Boomer. They always think that their 50cents is bigger than RR wheels.

We are bad in terms of recycling due to mindset.

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

agreed loh.. some of the cashier keep put double bag.. dunno for wat.. each bag is strong enuff liao loh.. but then again some consumer will "scold" them for not putting double bag.. but at least i feel they can ask first if need double loh..

Maybe @Jamesc educated them that wear 2 condoms is always safer! whahahahahahahah

dont blame the cashiers, its standing order from the supermarkets.  If the plastic bag  breaks when the customer is on the way out, and anything else breaks due to the single plastic bag gave way, the cashier is held responsible.  So instead of asking for only 1 plastic bag, what you can do to save the usage is to tell them to fill the double bags to the max, including  mixing up edible and non edible stuffs together in the bags, which is what I always do. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

14 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

No use especially Boomer. They always think that their 50cents is bigger than RR wheels.

We are bad in terms of recycling due to mindset.

Yes, totally agree that its all mindset, including businesses and gov, not only confine to consumers. 

Actually all you have to do is take a look at our own household, in the storeroom, kitchen and toilet, and there are so many plastic bottles that can be recycle and reuse, and I believe those plastic bottles wont lost out to plastic bags in term of quantities.  But are businesses doing their part to collect back and reuse them? Is the gov doing anything about these plastic bottles?  I ever collected dish washing bottles and wanted to return to the seller,  but instead of coming to collect, he expected me to deliver and drop them off at his warehouse, of course they went into the rubbish bin after the phone call.  I collected all my drink cans, and send them to the recycle bin when my bin is full, but every time i go I see their bin full, sometimes the cans I threw there 2-3 weeks ago were still there, and so now my cans go into the rubbish trucks also. 

So much for recycle and reuse, its plain BS. Be it the gov or businesses, is all about bottom line taxes, and ease of operating. if it is cheaper and easier to buy new, why the heck I want to reuse and recycle. 

If tomorrow the gov come out with a new rule that all businesses must at least have 20% of their output created by recycled materials, and that plastic bottles must be collected for reuse, I will believe is really for the eco environment. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

You stay on the island too long.

A lot of cities are doing that.

We are way way behind the curve

The gist here is not about following what other cities are doing, but the logic of implementing such useless policy.

Why follow others blindly?? 

On 2/7/2023 at 8:15 AM, RadX said:

Nope

no deeuction

pls la… points impt meh? Sheesh

I tink some mistaken that they could exchange points for simi vultures liddat 😁

3 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

The gist here is not about following what other cities are doing, but the logic of implementing such useless policy.

Why follow others blindly?? 

Is it useless in other cities?
There are a lot of pushback on reduction of plastic bags here.

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Charge people 5 cents is just for extra profits 

Who don't want to make extra profits?

Saving the earth is just BS.

Greed is greed don't pretend it's altruism.

If plastic bags are unnecessary, why manufacturer them? If it is about misuse, then tackle this. 

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Charge people 5 cents is just for extra profits 

Who don't want to make extra profits?

Saving the earth is just BS.

Greed is greed don't pretend it's altruism.

If plastic bags are unnecessary, why manufacturer them? If it is about misuse, then tackle this. 

29 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

tax the manufacturer high high until they have to sell at very high price? end up customer have to pay $1 for each plastic bag [laugh]

2 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

tax the manufacturer high high until they have to sell at very high price? end up customer have to pay $1 for each plastic bag [laugh]

Every few cents increase in ingredients equate to few dollars downstream. Sugar increase, they cannot add 5 cents to your kopi because nobody like 5 cents. So no choice 50 cents easier.

28 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Every few cents increase in ingredients equate to few dollars downstream. Sugar increase, they cannot add 5 cents to your kopi because nobody like 5 cents. So no choice 50 cents easier.

Some might even find coins too troublesome, round up to $1 easier. Lol.

Time to spend more online,

Amazon Fresh doesn't charge for plastic bag (yet). If you buy cold perishables, they even packed them in appropriate "cold" bags.

If really care for the environment, then stop hosting F1 before charging for plastic bags.... 

And ban one time use takeaway containers too (like some countries) as we see them thrown all over the place. 

Edited by Volvobrick

12 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

If really care for the environment, then stop hosting F1 before charging for plastic bags.... 

And ban one time use takeaway containers too (like some countries) as we see them thrown all over the place. 

Stop hosting F1 and remove petrochemical industry from the island.

50 cents for plastic bag ppl already KPKB.

You want riot huh?

Edited by inlinesix

2 points.

One. If I have to pay for the plastic bag at the supermarket, the bag should be plain (without logo). Sometimes, the supermarket charge the customer for a plastic with their name and logo on it. Isn't the customer advertising for the shop by carrying the bag around for all to see? If I am to advertise for the shop, shouldn't I be paid instead?

Two. What is the supermarket going to do with the money saved from giving out complimentary plastic bags? Donate the money to a good cause? Keep the money for their own profits? It was claimed that large supermarket chains spent millions on plastic bags.

I am all for saving the environment.