5 cents per plastic bag at supermarkets from mid 2023 (Start 3 July 2023)

Blueray

7 minutes ago, Blueray said:

aiya, so far Aunty Grace sustainability initiatives all half f**k one. appears to solve one problem but then later generate downstream issues.

This is what I deem as wasteful. Can't wrap rubbish. Can't wrap dog/cat poo. 🤣

https://theindependent.sg/netizens-suggest-sms-or-emailing-cdc-vouchers-instead-of-sending-multiple-printed-papers-to-prevent-wastage-postage-cost/

SINGAPORE — Households that received the instruction pamphlets on claiming the 2023 CDC Vouchers have taken to social media to ask if there was a better way to send the information than printing and mailing them to one destination.

“You don’t need seven pieces of paper for this purpose. Most of us will throw them in the bin right away. Unless you use them to wrap kacang putih. Sometimes I really wonder who is behind these ideas,” one netizen said. Another individual in a separate post wondered if the instructions could be sent through SMS or email instead of printing multiple copies as this was a “big wastage of printing and postage cost

1 hour ago, Blueray said:

aiya, so far Aunty Grace sustainability initiatives all half f**k one. appears to solve one problem but then later generate downstream issues.

A lot of times, it is because of us (the people.

We are too pampered

11 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Hehe just to highlight that cotton comes from sheep hor. Ministar say one 🫣🤓

I also realise that supermarkets have started to use plain non logo branded bags.

Presumably to avoid being seen as contributing to plastic waste.

Hmmm....  Cotton Wool 

Is a material where cotton is fed to sheep.... 🤣 And the wool derive is sheep cotton wool 😅....

Is definitely less sustainable going though so much more processes in the product value chain.

@Blueray @Ender @Theoldjaffa @SGMCF328 @Cheesey74 confirm no point deduction for giving angry reaction. You can test it on those post by me. Heh try it in the COE thread lah, this week damn quiet leh... :D

Back to the topic on charging for plastic bag, I am not supportive because there no alternative for consumers. Use Philippines and Hong Kong as example, you need to pay for plastic bag but free for paper bag (disclaimer: my last visit to these 2 places were easily 5 years ago, so things might have change) 

I normally will try not to use plastic bag (and those disposable cutlery) if I don't need them, but do get unfriendly stares from the cashier / seller or even customers in the queue occasionally. So I think the first steps should be educating the front line personnel and general public not to waste plastic bag and 'monitor the situation' (the Forte of the incumbent isn't it) before charging consumers for it. 

5 minutes ago, Blueray said:

so will people be taking more of the rolled plastic bags meant for fruits ? 

Need mini trash bin to fit the small plastic bags.......

Probably DAISO will sell more mini trash bins.

6 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

@Blueray @Ender @Theoldjaffa @SGMCF328 @Cheesey74 confirm no point deduction for giving angry reaction. You can test it on those post by me. Heh try it in the COE thread lah, this week damn quiet leh... :D

Back to the topic on charging for plastic bag, I am not supportive because there no alternative for consumers. Use Philippines and Hong Kong as example, you need to pay for plastic bag but free for paper bag (disclaimer: my last visit to these 2 places were easily 5 years ago, so things might have change) 

I normally will try not to use plastic bag (and those disposable cutlery) if I don't need them, but do get unfriendly stares from the cashier / seller or even customers in the queue occasionally. So I think the first steps should be educating the front line personnel and general public not to waste plastic bag and 'monitor the situation' (the Forte of the incumbent isn't it) before charging consumers for it. 

OK lah .... everyone does his share lah...... even if it helps reduce by 20-30% is a good way to go.... there are some 3rd world & developing countries embracing it STRICTLY ...... whats the problem with "US" here in Sinkieland...... are we so stressed or entitled?? Same thing with clearing your food tray at hawker centres ....... the Yankees have been doing it at fast food chains for decades already......

8 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

So I think the first steps should be educating the front line personnel and general public not to waste plastic bag and 'monitor the situation' (the Forte of the incumbent isn't it) before charging consumers for it. 

agreed loh.. some of the cashier keep put double bag.. dunno for wat.. each bag is strong enuff liao loh.. but then again some consumer will "scold" them for not putting double bag.. but at least i feel they can ask first if need double loh..

Maybe @Jamesc educated them that wear 2 condoms is always safer! whahahahahahahah

Supermarket charging money for plastic bags?

Heng ah! I don't buy groceries.

But on the other hand, I think they need to come up with a new law to ban using tissue paper to chope coffee shop/ hawker center seats.

Edited by Albeniz

Spend money to get rid of rubbish where it could have been saved from recycling the used plastic bag.

What kind of dumb ass idea to begin with. Diu....

People that stays in ivory tower probably never do household chores. Diao...

On 2/6/2023 at 8:01 PM, Jman888 said:

agree, end up LPPL, I have this in the cart for few months just waiting when to click payment [laugh]

Screenshot_20230206_195957_Lazada.jpg

In term of plastic bags used yes LPPL. But in term of profit for supermarkets/ retailers and further inflation, it is another story

44 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Supermarket charging money for plastic bags?

Heng ah! I don't buy groceries.

But on the other hand, I think they need to come up with a new law to ban using tissue paper to chope coffee shop/ hawker center seats.

Ban tissue papers. Insist on handkerchief. 😆

My family never waste plastic bags.

We always reuse, repurpose, recycle plastic bags by putting rubbish in it and throwing down the chute.

Charge people 5 cents is just for extra profits 

Who don't want to make extra profits?

Saving the earth is just BS.

Greed is greed don't pretend it's altruism.

One fast food stop providing straws.

All my used cars used to come with a full tank of petrol 

Now I am taking it all out and leaving only 1 litre of petrol inside.

You have to drive 2 miles to the nearest petrol station.

jamesc used cars has gone green.

Straws are bad for the environment and burning petrol is also bad right?

Edited by Jamesc