What constitutes bribery?

Philipkee

Just now, ER-3682 said:

Gift to Company's D&D not Bribery..Give Cash or Goods to Personal,like Purchaser & Engineer...are counted as Corruption.

A bit tricky if one is trying to bribe the boss but couch it as giving a gift to entire company.

8 minutes ago, RadX said:

biscuits to get a car...is confirmed

Jiak biscuits, lim kopi liao no buy, no consider liao, because no deal happen due to the consumption. 

Chio bu SE give half balls, see liao buy car, can consider since the deal was done base on extra benefits of seeing half balls. [:p][laugh][laugh]

• Haha! 8

6 minutes ago, Philipkee said:

A bit tricky if one is trying to bribe the boss but couch it as giving a gift to entire company.

Short answer is NO.

Previously, Regional CEO gets F1 box ticket from banks.

Regional CEO informed General Counsel about this matter.

The ticket was given away to staff via ballot.

4 minutes ago, ER-3682 said:

Gift to Company's D&D not Bribery..Give Cash or Goods to Personal,like Purchaser & Engineer...are counted as Corruption.

Many bigger MNCs have now officially stopped the practice of asking sponsorship of any kind from suppliers for D&D or any company events,  It is consider as obligations. 

On the other hand, many MNCs HR hand books have a a limit to cash/gifts/meals an employee can accept from a supplier or customer. As long as within the limit and/or declared, it is not consider as corruption.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1 minute ago, Tianmo said:

Many bigger MNCs have now officially stopped the practice of asking sponsorship of any kind from suppliers for D&D or any company events,  It is consider as obligations. 

On the other hand, many MNCs HR hand books have a a limit to cash/gifts/meals an employee can accept from a supplier or customer. As long as within the limit and/or declared, it is not consider as corruption.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

ya, pharma companies also stopped and only cos the hospitals policy is to stop such practices

3 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

The limit includes amount and frequency.

In my previous job, need to report to Legal for every meal/gift from suppliers even though with the limit.

9 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Pay extra to get extra services at massage Parlour does it constitute bribery? 

Tgif. nonsense times.😁

Nope, that is illegal services. If tio cope, is tio charge under Vice activities,  not under CPIB.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

4 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

Don't ask for anything. And pretend don't know anything if got received something.

Just say i no know leh, really one, I no know cannot. [:p][laugh][laugh]

13 minutes ago, RadX said:

ya, pharma companies also stopped and only cos the hospitals policy is to stop such practices

I think only the PRC and Japanese MNCs, together with local small companies are still accepting, bigger MNCs has stopped at least more than 10 yrs IIRC. Our local gov agencies started way back, I think 20 yrs ago, the limit was $50, now I think is totally cannot liao. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think the asking for sponsorship part is correct,  after all, company events and expenses should be budgeted for and gotten approval. The personal part is still kind of grey. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

4 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Just say i no know leh, really one, I no know cannot. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On a side note, may I ask if an unknown person/entity (non-contact) paynow paylah money into my bank account, is it possible to know his/her/its phone number through the banking app?

Just now, DOBIEMKZ said:

On a side note, may I ask if an unknown person/entity (non-contact) paynow paylah money into my bank account, is it possible to know his/her/its phone number through the banking app?

Contact the bank to return the money.

It is not uncommon to have happen

I think only the PRC and Japanese MNCs, together with local small companies are still accepting, bigger MNCs has stopped at least more than 10 yrs IIRC. Our local gov agencies started way back, I think 20 yrs ago, the limit was $50, now I think is totally cannot liao. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

apparently, it was loosely implemented until last year where TOTALLY NO! kind and will be called out, so companies now are compliant

Even schools disseminate notices to parents not to buy Teachers' Day presents for their kids to bring to school.

depends on company policy, some straight no, some must declare, some (SME) bo chup. 

i even receive some company's products from my boss, after he left the HR came to me with a form ask me to declare [rolleyes] <_<