inlinesix Hypersonic August 17, 2023 Share August 17, 2023 On 8/17/2023 at 3:54 PM, 13177 said: You mean you got promoted from AE until manager between 2004 to 2021? 😅 AE to GM of biz unit ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 17, 2023 Share August 17, 2023 On 8/17/2023 at 2:54 PM, 13177 said: You mean you got promoted from AE until manager between 2004 to 2021? 😅 On 8/17/2023 at 2:55 PM, inlinesix said: AE to GM of biz unit AE in 1994 till Manager in 2004. Now very charm. Boss is here discussing our plans with Chairman. He just left for his entertainment and before he leaves, I ask - "When Chairman will retire, we can do that altogether" Haha, cos my boss who is head of Marketing also mai cho liao. Got more than enough to relax but Chairman still pushing Should suggest that guy go for PE better lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged August 17, 2023 Share August 17, 2023 so... tin tin joing Grab considered too inappropriate.... due to regulator regulated roles conflict... but EVERY single president .....whose role is to be a check on govt.... was a deep PAP member no conflict of interest 😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 17, 2023 Share August 17, 2023 On 8/17/2023 at 3:24 PM, Arogab said: KNN, I worked myself from Assistant Engineer to Engineer, to Senior Engineer, then Assistant Manager to Manager in 2004 and took me from 2004 to 2021 to what I am today. Why these people f**king so easy one leh. I still need to prove a every next stage on my track records. I must be damn stupiak At least you can go up steadily means you got EQ and build a lot of guanxi. If just prove ability alone, lotsa people do that but stuck in a rut. If you are very good at your specialist technical job, the company will keep you there doing just that 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 TPL is a good example that network > capability 😁 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 8:32 AM, Scion said: TPL is a good example that network > capability 😁 Not just network.. she married the right person 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 8:32 AM, Scion said: TPL is a good example that network > capability 😁 On 8/18/2023 at 8:37 AM, Tkseah said: Not just network.. she married the right person Her network is from her hubby who is a high flying Civil Servant. Now, network is more important than capability. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 In life, it is what it is. If we so bitter about what luck some people have, then better dont go near those landed housing area else you will have sleepless night crying over why you so bad luck never born into rich families and have to slog your way through life while these people can splurge on a Porsche without blinking eyes. Life is never fair. You could study so hard to get good grades but your classmate just mediocre never study but his rich daddy mummy can just buy a new car for his 21st birthday, also worst case can just pay money go overseas further study. If always so bitter then your life will be very miserable. For me, I always tell my kids just do your part can already, and hope for the best. Too bad you do not have rich daddy mummy haha. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 8:32 AM, Scion said: TPL is a good example that network > capability 😁 Isn’t it always about It’s not what you know, it’s who you know? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 9:36 AM, inlinesix said: Her network is from her hubby who is a high flying Civil Servant. Now, network is more important than capability. Only now??? 😆 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 (edited) On 8/18/2023 at 9:37 AM, Heartlander said: In life, it is what it is. If we so bitter about what luck some people have, then better dont go near those landed housing area else you will have sleepless night crying over why you so bad luck never born into rich families and have to slog your way through life while these people can splurge on a Porsche without blinking eyes. Life is never fair. You could study so hard to get good grades but your classmate just mediocre never study but his rich daddy mummy can just buy a new car for his 21st birthday, also worst case can just pay money go overseas further study. If always so bitter then your life will be very miserable. For me, I always tell my kids just do your part can already, and hope for the best. Too bad you do not have rich daddy mummy haha. Yes, Life aint fair. We do what we can and should without harming others and with integrity. Whatever comes thereafter is beyond our control. Life is also pretty short, a decade will flash by in a blink. Dont regret what you have or have not done. just try to get , be better everyday. Simplicity is most underrated Edited August 18, 2023 by Throttle2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 11:03 AM, yishunite said: So what your saying is Singapore is not a meritocracy and faster we get use to the fact that nepotism is basic fact of life the better??? 🤔 Meritocracy is a myth. Especially now that we're quite developed, it's a lot harder to climb the social ladder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 9:37 AM, Heartlander said: In life, it is what it is. If we so bitter about what luck some people have, then better dont go near those landed housing area else you will have sleepless night crying over why you so bad luck never born into rich families and have to slog your way through life while these people can splurge on a Porsche without blinking eyes. Life is never fair. You could study so hard to get good grades but your classmate just mediocre never study but his rich daddy mummy can just buy a new car for his 21st birthday, also worst case can just pay money go overseas further study. If always so bitter then your life will be very miserable. For me, I always tell my kids just do your part can already, and hope for the best. Too bad you do not have rich daddy mummy haha. Don't forget those buay tak che but still can strike it rich by going into the right biz hor. And then employ those who got good results! 😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 Its not difficult to be rich its how long you can stay rich 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/17/2023 at 10:40 PM, Sosaria said: At least you can go up steadily means you got EQ and build a lot of guanxi. If just prove ability alone, lotsa people do that but stuck in a rut. If you are very good at your specialist technical job, the company will keep you there doing just that I also lucky, when I decided to go China, I got one mentor and he took me for 2 jobs to show I can settle those issues and lead. Now current boss also is mentor call me one although he has left 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 2:48 PM, Arogab said: I also lucky, when I decided to go China, I got one mentor and he took me for 2 jobs to show I can settle those issues and lead. Now current boss also is mentor call me one although he has left Lucky you meet the right person to help you. Wish I had such luck. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 18, 2023 Share August 18, 2023 On 8/18/2023 at 3:48 PM, Fcw75 said: Lucky you meet the right person to help you. Wish I had such luck. Yah, my luck was down in 2004 and I decided to carve it out in China for progress. 一去,差不多到退休 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged October 3, 2023 Share October 3, 2023 Grab is just a springboard to something bigger. So is DCS. Next hop maybe can tio......Alipay?? 😁 MP Tin Pei Ling announces new role at payment firm DCS Card Centre after leaving Grab Member of Parliament Tin Pei Ling on Monday (Oct 2) announced that she has joined DCS Card Centre, formerly known as Diners Club Singapore. She said she will lead strategic partnerships and business development at the company. "Today's my first day at work and it's been great! In this role, I will focus on establishing strategic partnerships to reinforce our position as a leading and innovative player in the payment landscape and driving future market expansion," Ms Tin said in a LinkedIn post. "This is exciting as I can now play a more active role in the commercial and strategic side of business and in an industry sector that I have been watching with interest." The 39-year-old MacPherson MP said in August that she was leaving Grab to take on a "more external-facing and commercial" position at a financial technology firm. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/tin-pei-ling-mp-joins-dcs-card-centre-after-leaving-grab-3814921 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...