Tin Pei Ling appointed director of public affairs and policy at Grab. Can like that ah? 🤭

BabyBlade

7 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

I will sign up to be meet-people-session volunteer if she becomes MP in my ward [laugh]

Your type of cai, is it? 😂

Many Singaporeans were very unforgiving when she first ran for office. I remember there were many nasty posts here. 

We don't need super smart and qualified people to be our MP (but we better not have stupid ministers), we need people who have passion to serve with 2 feet on the ground. PAP should get rid of more of those get out of my uncaring face elitists in their ranks. 

Edited by Voodooman

2 hours ago, Rickster said:

True, but if one kena recognised or someone takes a photo, that will be the end of the career for any civil servants. Not just perm sec level. Even on those on the lower rungs.

Ya. My cousin is the immediate neighbour of a minister… every time when i go his house, will also kena scrutinised by the security stationed outside the house. The point is, when i see the 2 cars he owns, it’s sooooo humble for what he makes. Let’s put it this way, the 2 cars he owns will fit very well into any HDB car parks.

Kinda sad right? Got his millions also cannot spend. Even the family also need to “suffer” along with him…cannot do this cannot do that, must maintain decorum, must act poor…. Bla bla bla…. High level Civil servant really no good ah 😆

It's what many civil servants call "optics".

No choice lor. U have to be low key. 

2 hours ago, Sosaria said:

These top civil servants are normally not flashy types. They are all selected through same scholarship, generally have same schooling background, all printed from the same mould [laugh]

All from the same gifted programmes like breeze(29 + 1)?

29 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

I will sign up to be meet-people-session volunteer if she becomes MP in my ward [laugh]

my friend was her bf for a short while when she was a uni freshman. 

• Haha! 8

MP should be a full time job IMO. They already have a lot to do, and they are well remunerated.

Doing too many roles, in the end may not be effective in any.

1 hour ago, yishunite said:

By "schooling background" u mean all went to same school starts with R right

Disproportionally from RI, HC and AC. Got some exceptions like Ah Wong  [laugh]

15 minutes ago, Mason016 said:

Disproportionally from RI, HC and AC. Got some exceptions like Ah Wong  [laugh]

i just saw the COP for JCs after O levels. No surprise.
4 points for RI/HC, ACS(I) 5 points.

Only interesting thing is that NYJC has now moved up to above VJC/NJC category. 

2 hours ago, Voodooman said:

Yes, she has proven many of her detractors wrong. Must give it to her for giving up her job and going full time to serve the residents. Luckily she has a husband who is a high earner.

I will vote PAP if she comes to my CCK ward.😂

May be I move to CCK...

1 hour ago, Benarsenal said:

MP should be a full time job IMO. They already have a lot to do, and they are well remunerated.

Doing too many roles, in the end may not be effective in any.

maybe very free leh even thou holding a full time job....issin't this called moonlighting?

i thot for a Co if you are holding a fulltime job, u cannot do other roles.....if get caught will go to court.. guess MP not the case ba...

31 minutes ago, Spidey10 said:

maybe very free leh even thou holding a full time job....issin't this called moonlighting?

i thot for a Co if you are holding a fulltime job, u cannot do other roles.....if get caught will go to court.. guess MP not the case ba...

That's part of employment contract.  Get HR clearance

Minister also consider holding 2 jobs le

1 minute ago, inlinesix said:

That's part of employment contract.  Get HR clearance

Minister also consider holding 2 jobs le

as far as my over 30 yrs of working live....HR will tell you dream on....

6 minutes ago, Mrmilktooth said:

So this is what they meant by side hustle. Get rich by 40… 😂

Creme de la creme already rich by 30

3 minutes ago, Mrmilktooth said:

@Benarsenal I remembered there wa someone with around 50 directorships… lol. 

Non-exec no issue.  Just need to attend Directors' meeting only.

1 minute ago, Spidey10 said:

as far as my over 30 yrs of working live....HR will tell you dream on....

Maybe your company HR is sticky lo.

or

Maybe HR thinks you can't handle more than 1 job.

😜

No side hustle including Grab hor (contractually)

Edited by inlinesix