China's BYD starts EV sales in Japan as it chases Tesla

steveluv

On 2/1/2023 at 9:45 AM, inlinesix said:

Model Y is sold for $250k with $22k depreciation.

BMW 735 (OMV: $102k) is sold for $550k (assume 27k disc) with $47k depreciation.

Merc S450 (OMV: $110k) is sold for $600k (assume 21k disc) with $51k depreciation.

Expand  

my friend told me that if want "kill" my radio control car...zhenghu will not give paper+body lui...errr dun noe how true is it :slow:

my Bus Mrt Walk best lah :yuush:

huat ah :grin:

On 2/1/2023 at 1:00 PM, Inlinefour said:

my friend told me that if want "kill" my radio control car...zhenghu will not give paper+body lui...errr dun noe how true is it :slow:

my Bus Mrt Walk best lah :yuush:

huat ah :grin:

Expand  

If ARF before rebate > $45k, still got PARF.

BYD Atto ARF before rebate is $42+k, ZERO PARF

On 2/1/2023 at 10:00 AM, Carbon82 said:

You are missing the point totally my friend. @Thaiyotakamli is comparing the built and quality of Tesla vs others with similar OMV, e.g. S Class and 7er.

It is apple-to-durian comparison if you are looking at computation of ARF, PARF, annual depreciation and such because the tax structure is totally different for EV vs ICE.

And for many, car purchase isn't just about dollars and cents or vs performance figures. Let's agree to disagree.

Back to BYD, they are one of the EV leader worldwide and has partnership with 2 of the largest / famous auto manufacturers: Toyota and Daimler. That says alot about them. 

Expand  

Agree and ppl so happy with arf rebate

when arf rebate is basically u get less at the end of 10 years which also means lower scrap value

On 2/1/2023 at 2:00 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Agree and ppl so happy with arf rebate

when arf rebate is basically u get less at the end of 10 years which also means lower scrap value

Expand  

That’s because AD don’t give you that $45k.

P2 OMV: $41k.

Depreciation: $23k

============= 

Model Y OMV = $92k

Depreciation = $22k

Edited by inlinesix

On 2/1/2023 at 2:25 PM, inlinesix said:

That’s because AD don’t give you that $45k.

P2 OMV: $41k.

Depreciation: $23k

============= 

Model Y OMV = $92k

Depreciation = $22k

Expand  

Interesting.

If OMV give as high as Tesla, I think ADs have to pay a lot more import tax to SG customs. And also, because of the traditional manufacturer to distributor business structure, the OMV we all see is not necessarily the actual transfer price from manufacturer to distributor. Other things such as incentives and financial support from manufacturer to push volume from time to time also come into play with regards to transfer prices from manufacturer to distributor. 

I guess Tesla maybe a bit different. Tesla Singapore don't have the pressure to be profitable as its really just a distribution point of Tesla Shanghai or Tesla HK (whichever Tesla Singapore actually reports to). So I'm guessing Tesla's profit is already in the selling price from Tesla Shanghai/HK to Tesla Singapore, that's probably why the OMVs are high. The rest such as ARF, COE etc are just additional local taxations to be borne by the customer. 

I'm just guessing also lah....

Just for comparison and general knowledge, over here in Thailand BYD and Tesla just launched recently.

BYD Atto 3 (top model with 480km range) is selling for 1.2 mil baht (S$47.8k)

Tesla Model Y has 3 models prices - 1.96 mil, 2.26 mil and 2.51 mil baht (S$78.1k ; S$90k ; S$100k)

%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%B2%E0%B8%84%E0%B8%B2-BYD

270898571_Screenshot2023-02-01at11_10_51PM.thumb.png.7a0ab4d89321daae975c48d8ca463eb0.png

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/byd-unveils-battery-system-that-charges-evs-in-5-minutes

BYD unveils battery system that charges EVs in 5 minutes

de9f6ae5e558790c6c2cc5bbd07fe01f70c63fd5

SHENZHEN – BYD has unveiled a new system for electric cars that the Chinese carmaker says will allow them to be charged almost as fast as it takes a regular car to refuel.

BYD’s new battery and charging system was capable of providing 470km of range in five minutes in tests on its new Han L sedan, chairman and founder Wang Chuanfu said on March 17. The manufacturer will start selling vehicles with the new technology next month.

Being able to charge a car in the time it takes a combustion engine vehicle to pull in and out of a gas station could convince drivers who aren’t willing to make lengthy stops to go electric. 

The new platform, which will underpin many of its future electric vehicles, could provide another boost for BYD, which has come from behind to rival US manufacturer Tesla as the world’s top EV seller.  Tesla’s China shipments plunged 49 per cent in February from a year earlier to just 30,688 vehicles, the lowest monthly figure since in July 2022.

BYD has committed to building more than 4,000 charging stations across China to serve the newly upgraded EVs. It did not disclose a specific timeline or cost to complete the rollout. However, the company earlier this month raised around US$5.6 billion in a share sale.

The speeds would be comfortably ahead of Tesla’s Superchargers, which can add up to 275km of range in 15 minutes. Tesla, however, has a much larger network of more than 65,000 Superchargers worldwide. Mercedes-Benz Group’s new entry-level CLA electric sedan unveiled last week can add 325km in 10 minutes of charging.

BYD’s new EV platform will allow cars to reach 100kmh in two seconds, Mr Wang said at the event at the company’s headquarters in Shenzhen.

This is BYD “elevating the game to another dimension”, Mr Xing Lei, an independent China autos analyst, said.

The first models to get the ultra-fast charging will be the Han L and the Tang L sport utility vehicle. They will start at 270,000 yuan (S$50,000) and 280,000 yuan, respectively, and will be sold from April.

BYD has had a stellar start to 2025. The company, which makes only hybrid and fully electric cars, sold more than 318,000 passenger vehicles in February, up 161 per cent from a year earlier.

It is the top carmaker in China, the world’s biggest car market, with a share approaching 15 per cent. BYD’s Hong Kong-listed shares are up about 45 per cent in 2025.

An advanced EV powertrain could further boost demand for BYD’s next-generation cars, said Ms Joanna Chen, a China autos analyst with Bloomberg Intelligence. “This could mark the beginning of a new wave of model roll-outs, propelling BYD’s battery-electric vehicle sales to catch up with hybrids after they fell behind in 2024,” she said.

BYD is also starting to set the pace in advanced driver-assistance technology. The company earlier in 2025 said that it is taking this to the masses by including features like lane-keeping and adaptive cruise control in some of its cheapest models.

BYD’s Super e-Platform may also pose a competitive threat to Contemporary Amperex Technology (CATL), currently the world’s largest manufacturer of EV batteries. Li Auto, for example, is using one of CATL’s latest-generation batteries to enable charging that gives 500km of range in 12 minutes. Bloomberg