Google parent Alphabet is slashing 12,000 jobs: Sundar Pichai emails staff saying he takes ‘full responsibility for the decisions that led us here’

Windwaver

15 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

When i was laid off, i was also very chill. Took the two tumi bags in my office and left at the end of the day after saying good bye.  Some colleagues had boxes, hahahah, sobbing and asking why.  My scout motto prevailed. 

It's mainly folks who still have loans to service, that are most distraught about being laid off. Expenses can always be trimmed down if need be, but loan repayments are always a constant.

If have fully-paid up home, and no car loan, plus in good health, what is there to worry? As long as not too choosy about part time gigs to tide over in the interim while looking for the next permanent job.

19 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

It's mainly folks who still have loans to service, that are most distraught about being laid off. Expenses can always be trimmed down if need be, but loan repayments are always a constant.

If have fully-paid up home, and no car loan, plus in good health, what is there to worry? As long as not too choosy about part time gigs to tide over in the interim while looking for the next permanent job.

Exactly. But one can only be there if one truly prepares well for it.

how about you?

when i was retrenched at 42, i had no mortgage no loans, landed property, two cars, 50 Rolexes and millions of dollars in investments and cash and a CPF bal more than most people. 

muayhahahaha not including additional one years salary TAX FREE and stocks and shares which i can vest over next 5 yrs. 

Sibei shiok man….

i would go through it over and over and over again if given the chance.

retrench me!!!!!!! Please!!!!!!

Edited by Throttle2

16 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Exactly. But one can only be there if one truly prepares well for it.

how about you?

when i was retrenched at 42, i had no mortgage no loans, landed property, two cars, 50 Rolexes and millions of dollars in investments and cash and a CPF bal more than most people. 

muayhahahaha not including additional one years salary TAX FREE and stocks and shares which i can vest over next 5 yrs. 

Sibei shiok man….

i would go through it over and over and over again if given the chance.

retrench me!!!!!!! Please!!!!!!

Outstanding loans is even worse for those people with mouths to feed at home; for a free and single person still not so bad.

Edited by Sosaria

8 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Outstanding loans is even worse for those people with mouths to feed at home; for a free and single person still not so bad.

Yup correct, and i was sole bread winner with 2 young children at 42 when i was retrenched.    👌👌no problemo

M uayhahahahaa, would go through it again and again and again 

5 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Yup correct, and i was sole bread winner with 2 young children at 42 when i was retrenched.    👌👌no problemo

M uayhahahahaa, would go through it again and again and again 

Resigning feels too much like quitting. Retrenched is like it's not your fault but you actually get what you secretly wish for [laugh] once the time and circumstances are right.

Besides investments, which not everybody has sufficient liquid cash to gain substantially from it, it is also important to build up marketable skills and experience in doing some sideline work. The full-time job then becomes just one of two or more lines of income. 

I think this is no problem for IT guys, there's always a lot of freelance work.

Edited by Sosaria

2 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Resigning feels too much like quitting. Retrenched is like it's not your fault but you actually get what you secretly wish for [laugh] once the time and circumstances are right.

Besides investments, which not everybody has sufficient liquid cash to gain substantially from it, it is also important to build up marketable skills and experience in doing some sideline work. The full-time job then becomes just one of two or more lines of income. 

I think this is no problem for IT guys, there's always a lot of freelance work.

Resigning not financially shiok becos you give up hundreds of thousands of dollars in shares and options.

retrenchment is the best! 
please please retrench me at 55!

On 1/22/2023 at 6:58 PM, Throttle2 said:

Lanjiao lah simi full responsibility? 
muayhahhahah

go f**k yourself is full responsibility lah

come on!  So much bulls**t.

full responsibility so? Resign? Give up all bonuses and options?   

muayhahhahahahahaha

Like this, full responsibility meaning massive retrenchment to support a lavish lifestyle of the senior executives. And in case  anyone  is not aware, google has 8 privet jets for their senior executives  

...Microsoft held invite-only Sting concert for top executives before mass layoffs...

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/microsoft-held-invite-only-sting-concert-top-executives-mass-layoffs-report-3224331

Edited by Ct3833

Really everywhere, Microsoft CEO also CECA.

In a note to employees, CEO Satya Nadella attempted to address the divergent outlook for different parts of the business, adding the retrenchment exercise - its biggest since 2014 - would conclude by the end of March.

On 1/20/2023 at 10:39 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

All these CEO claim to take responsibility but they still never resign.

Say macam never say.

Meta, Salesforce, Google, Carousell.. CEO all same same.

Retrenchment continues despite company making best revenue after 11 years.

获11年来最大营收增幅照裁不误:IBM宣布将裁员3900人

https://news.mydrivers.com/1/887/887538.htm

Edited by Ct3833
  • Sad 1

Why Alphabet needs to retrench employees. 

根據路透社報導,2023 年 Sundar 的 PSU (Performance Stock Unit,績效獎勵股票) 佔收入的比重,將從 43% 提升到 60% 。也就是說,公司的股價表現,會大大地影響 Sundar 的總收入。

https://www.bnext.com.tw/article/73869/why-google-alphabet-ceo-sundar-pichai-layoff-from-sec-performance-stock-unit-view?