Sogo 1st Gear January 11, 2023 Share January 11, 2023 (edited) Hi all, anyone here using this particular brand of Android player? They are marketing it as a head unit that was in competition EMMA winning setups. Anyone here using this particular brand, can share your experiences with it? Have you experienced any quirks, e.g. auto reboots, settings changing back to default, does not turn on and need to stick a pin in the RST (Reset) hole to manually reboot, etc? Edited January 11, 2023 by Sogo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 12, 2023 Share January 12, 2023 EMMA so must be gud right? Why don't you get one and tell us how good or not. Most of us here won't buy something just because got EMMA on it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 12, 2023 Share January 12, 2023 (edited) On 1/11/2023 at 1:11 PM, Sogo said: Hi all, anyone here using this particular brand of Android player? They are marketing it as a head unit that was in competition EMMA winning setups. Anyone here using this particular brand, can share your experiences with it? Have you experienced any quirks, e.g. auto reboots, settings changing back to default, does not turn on and need to stick a pin in the RST (Reset) hole to manually reboot, etc? Expand 😅Omg, what were you previously using? You should ask whether it supports steering wheel controls. Is the reverse cam reliable and sharp, whether it has self adjusting brightness, any other weird bugs, etc. Anyway I am using mainstream aftermarket headunit from pioneer. Good thing about mainstream is that if there are bugs I can download the latest firmware from the maker's website. I dunno whether such Android HU provide such support. Edited January 12, 2023 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 3rd Gear January 12, 2023 Share January 12, 2023 Went to google and saw a carousell ad and wow. Highest spec is $1k plus exclude installation and android panel. And its only 6+128GB Android 10. QLED screen, but not 2k resolution Up side is that its using the latest 8 core UIS 7862. My advise, go bolehland get the Skynavi maximum spec with 2k res screen. With panel, install, 360 cam, at bare minimum RM2k only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 3rd Gear January 12, 2023 Share January 12, 2023 On 1/12/2023 at 2:44 AM, Jamesc said: EMMA so must be gud right? Why don't you get one and tell us how good or not. Most of us here won't buy something just because got EMMA on it. Expand The only Emma in my heart is Emma Watson 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear January 12, 2023 Author Share January 12, 2023 On 1/12/2023 at 4:20 AM, Watwheels said: You should ask whether it supports steering wheel controls. Is the reverse cam reliable and sharp, whether it has self adjusting brightness, any other weird bugs, etc. Expand Pretty sure asking about “quirks” is close enough to“weird bugs” 😉 But no, for Android players, steering control, link to stock reverse camera etc are not dependent on the player itself, but rather, the canbus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear January 12, 2023 Author Share January 12, 2023 On 1/12/2023 at 2:44 AM, Jamesc said: EMMA so must be gud right? Why don't you get one and tell us how good or not. Most of us here won't buy something just because got EMMA on it. Expand Actually, for Android players, there are just a few particular types, and any player belonging to a specific type are all made by a single manufacturer … the different brands all get the base unit from this manufacturer and develop their own custom UI and then sell under their brand. I trust that some of y’all here would know this already 😉 I’m asking about this Machtig player because I like how their tuning UI looks … although personally I don’t believe that actual functionality can be much better (if any better at all) than any other player of the same type because it is still the same hardware. I have my doubts though … I am pretty certain this is a M’sia brand, despite the Germany flag on the box 😛 There is no corporate website on their products, only Facebook pages from … well … M’sia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 12, 2023 Share January 12, 2023 Absolutely right and this is why I only recommend Match (unfortunately they don't do head units) and I have never ever recommended Match sticks. On 1/12/2023 at 9:49 AM, Sogo said: Actually, for Android players, there are just a few particular types, and any player belonging to a specific type are all made by a single manufacturer … the different brands all get the base unit from this manufacturer and develop their own custom UI and then sell under their brand. I trust that some of y’all here would know this already 😉 I’m asking about this Machtig player because I like how their tuning UI looks … although personally I don’t believe that actual functionality can be much better (if any better at all) than any other player of the same type because it is still the same hardware. I have my doubts though … I am pretty certain this is a M’sia brand, despite the Germany flag on the box 😛 There is no corporate website on their products, only Facebook pages from … well … M’sia. Expand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear January 12, 2023 Author Share January 12, 2023 On 1/12/2023 at 11:34 AM, Jamesc said: Absolutely right and this is why I only recommend Match (unfortunately they don't do head units) and I have never ever recommended Match sticks. Expand I'll refrain from saying anything (too) negative, because I do not rule out the possibility of using their product? 🤐 Their player should be based on my ideal platform / base unit, I don't have any hangups about it being a M'sia brand if it is ... I am more concerned about the performance and stability of their custom UI, because they are, after all, supposed to be the developer of their custom UI ... and whether they provide support, updates, etc. Anyone using this brand care to share your experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 On 1/12/2023 at 9:43 AM, Sogo said: Pretty sure asking about “quirks” is close enough to“weird bugs” 😉 But no, for Android players, steering control, link to stock reverse camera etc are not dependent on the player itself, but rather, the canbus. Expand All modern vehicles use canbus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 14, 2023 Share January 14, 2023 Yup the UI, support, updates are all very important but if you are using your head unit to build a full sound system with external amps etc then you may want to use the speaker level outputs instead of the line level RCAs as all the tests on Youtube show the weakness of the RCA outputs and likely this android unit will be no different. If you are not using external amps then it doesn't matter. On 1/12/2023 at 3:39 PM, Sogo said: I'll refrain from saying anything (too) negative, because I do not rule out the possibility of using their product? 🤐 Their player should be based on my ideal platform / base unit, I don't have any hangups about it being a M'sia brand if it is ... I am more concerned about the performance and stability of their custom UI, because they are, after all, supposed to be the developer of their custom UI ... and whether they provide support, updates, etc. Anyone using this brand care to share your experience? Expand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear January 15, 2023 Author Share January 15, 2023 On 1/14/2023 at 3:41 AM, Jamesc said: Yup the UI, support, updates are all very important but if you are using your head unit to build a full sound system with external amps etc then you may want to use the speaker level outputs instead of the line level RCAs as all the tests on Youtube show the weakness of the RCA outputs and likely this android unit will be no different. If you are not using external amps then it doesn't matter. Expand I was actually looking at this player because I believe it is the same type as the T’Eyes (Teyes), i.e. the flat type with the cooling fan, and coaxial and optical - the plan is to connect to an external DSP. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 15, 2023 Share January 15, 2023 On 1/15/2023 at 6:18 AM, Sogo said: I was actually looking at this player because I believe it is the same type as the T’Eyes (Teyes), i.e. the flat type with the cooling fan, and coaxial and optical - the plan is to connect to an external DSP. Expand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 3rd Gear February 9, 2023 Share February 9, 2023 On 1/15/2023 at 6:18 AM, Sogo said: I was actually looking at this player because I believe it is the same type as the T’Eyes (Teyes), i.e. the flat type with the cooling fan, and coaxial and optical - the plan is to connect to an external DSP. Expand Teyes got many restriction. Their apps some need to pay subscription i think, on top of a whopping $500+ for the high end CC3. And not much UI customization can be done. I would suggest you get a Navifly/Mekede. Have support from the manufacturer as well as community in the android forums. Oh and last one. Get 8 core processor ya. [FYT model, not TS10] 4 core/6 core are things of the past. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear February 20, 2023 Author Share February 20, 2023 (edited) On 2/9/2023 at 2:50 AM, Mancypher said: Teyes got many restriction. Their apps some need to pay subscription i think, on top of a whopping $500+ for the high end CC3. And not much UI customization can be done. I would suggest you get a Navifly/Mekede. Have support from the manufacturer as well as community in the android forums. Oh and last one. Get 8 core processor ya. [FYT model, not TS10] 4 core/6 core are things of the past. Expand Paid extensions, but as long as your player is a legit T'Eyes and not another company's flashed to the T'Eyes firmware it's all good. I'm curious about this Machtig player because of their tuning UI, which does not look like what I'd seen with other players ... setting for tuning 2 way, for tuning 3 way, etc. Edited February 20, 2023 by Sogo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 3rd Gear February 21, 2023 Share February 21, 2023 On 2/20/2023 at 1:51 PM, Sogo said: Paid extensions, but as long as your player is a legit T'Eyes and not another company's flashed to the T'Eyes firmware it's all good. I'm curious about this Machtig player because of their tuning UI, which does not look like what I'd seen with other players ... setting for tuning 2 way, for tuning 3 way, etc. Expand 2-way, 3-way, you need proper ICE to take advantage. Else it will be just another function. Anyway, to each its own. If you think it is worth your money to spend it, go ahead. But do let us know with a review on how good it is. 😊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sogo 1st Gear February 21, 2023 Author Share February 21, 2023 On 2/21/2023 at 5:55 AM, Mancypher said: 2-way, 3-way, you need proper ICE to take advantage. Else it will be just another function. Anyway, to each its own. If you think it is worth your money to spend it, go ahead. But do let us know with a review on how good it is. 😊 Expand Well, the whole purpose of this thread is to try to find out more about it to know if it would be worth the money, somehow it became you think it is worth it you buy lor 😏 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mancypher 3rd Gear February 21, 2023 Share February 21, 2023 On 2/21/2023 at 7:55 AM, Sogo said: Well, the whole purpose of this thread is to try to find out more about it to know if it would be worth the money, somehow it became you think it is worth it you buy lor 😏 Expand Ok easy. To me, not worth to spend 1k for a Android player like Machtig. From what i see in a carousell ad, price is player only, exclude panel and installation. [BTW im talking only about maximum spec] Then, when you change car, need to dekit. If can fit next car, good means buy panel only and install. If cannot, have to sell off. Last, Android HU all same. Just brand and label by the China side, then sell in Aliexpress. So its down to specs wise at the end. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...