Sengkang HDB blocks turn mouldy just after 5 years

Raubern

3 hours ago, Lala81 said:

? Hdb flats are much more consistently built nowadays albeit smaller. 

Its just that people Last time don't expect as much, or don't have social media to complain. 

Last time, before this BTO nonsense, HDB flats are functional. They were actually designed and built for people to live in.

A friend kinda pointed this out to me. You look at the older flats, the open spaces along the corridors, as well as the flat windows, they are facing out towards the external environment. That means they get plenty of light and ventilation. Some of them also use bricks in their construction, which is actually easier to maintain cos no need to clean as regularly as concrete or whatever HDB uses these days.

Nowadays the newer flats, all the corridors and flats face internal walls, so dark and depressing. No sunlight and feel so cramped. And most of them are white which means they get dirtier easier.

12 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

I live next to Kallang River for 17 years.

My block and neighbouring blocks never have moulding issues.

We got you covered! whahahahahaha..

image.thumb.png.a91abc654ce894a2f14bd3e60910dc07.png

1 minute ago, Ody_2004 said:

We got you covered! whahahahahaha..

image.thumb.png.a91abc654ce894a2f14bd3e60910dc07.png

See her face, i TL liao.

Went to Bukit Canberra, OYK has scheduled to visit his constituents.

Went to 6th Ave, Christopher de Souza has scheduled to visit his constituents.

44 minutes ago, Benarsenal said:

Last time, before this BTO nonsense, HDB flats are functional. They were actually designed and built for people to live in.

A friend kinda pointed this out to me. You look at the older flats, the open spaces along the corridors, as well as the flat windows, they are facing out towards the external environment. That means they get plenty of light and ventilation. Some of them also use bricks in their construction, which is actually easier to maintain cos no need to clean as regularly as concrete or whatever HDB uses these days.

Nowadays the newer flats, all the corridors and flats face internal walls, so dark and depressing. No sunlight and feel so cramped. And most of them are white which means they get dirtier easier.

Pros and cons man. Now almost all units living rooms and rooms are facing outwards and not facing each other units. Every hdb block is designed like that. And is usually north south facing. Unless specific blocks most don't face west sun etc. 

Downside is that communal corridor is often darker Cos there are 8-10 units on one floor on both sides of the corridor with all the exterior light monopolized within the units itself.

Point blocks are inefficient, low density. Hence u don't get that anymore. 

My old place the lift lobby needs to have one light on all the time. So I can understand what u mean. But with ten units on a floor, just LL lor. 

My in laws place built in 1989 has not even ten units on one floor. But the block size is at least 30% longer than my old home. 

5 hours ago, Scion said:

loll last time Genting's Amber Court was covered with red mould

until got so many stories about it being haunted 😂

the management did give the towers a new fresh coat of white paint recently

1857963356_ambercourt.jpg.c705ee5f511c349104890fd347cd3b09.jpg

Red mould? First hear mould got such colour le? Lol.

1 hour ago, Benarsenal said:

New BTO flats corridors and flats face internal walls and beome dark and depressing is no choice, since nowadays all newer built flats no more have units, their windows facing the corridor, so design wise maybe have to build in such way, so that all units are corner unit. 

46 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

See her face, i TL liao.

Went to Bukit Canberra, OYK has scheduled to visit his constituents.

Went to 6th Ave, Christopher de Souza has scheduled to visit his constituents.

You see which face TL ah? Before that, dont think your area is under her right?

46 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Pros and cons man. Now almost all units living rooms and rooms are facing outwards and not facing each other units. Every hdb block is designed like that. And is usually north south facing. Unless specific blocks most don't face west sun etc. 

Downside is that communal corridor is often darker Cos there are 8-10 units on one floor on both sides of the corridor with all the exterior light monopolized within the units itself.

Point blocks are inefficient, low density. Hence u don't get that anymore. 

My old place the lift lobby needs to have one light on all the time. So I can understand what u mean. But with ten units on a floor, just LL lor. 

My in laws place built in 1989 has not even ten units on one floor. But the block size is at least 30% longer than my old home. 

Maybe flats built in the late 80s to 90s, no more ten units or more on a floor. But if you see flats built in the 70s and early 80s, one floor at least ten units or even more. Then in new BTO, if you are lucky, one floor usually would not have more than 8 units. Those which have 10-12 units one floor, usually have mixture of 2 rm, 3rm, 4 rm and even 5 rm. Thats why have so many units per floor.

Edited by 13177

13 minutes ago, 13177 said:

You see which face TL ah? Before that, dont think your area is under her right?

The 1 that was parachute into my GRC

27 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Red mould? First hear mould got such colour le? Lol.

Should be algae that needs water and a little light. Mould grows in dark corners indoor.

There some very nicely newly built BTO in clementi ave 6. Functional and nicely done. As long as they don't get greedy by squeezing more, these flats are generally ok for a roof very your head.

Keep to basic and affordable. Of course not government affordable definition lah. 

Politics, stir ah stir. Haha

This Sengkang falls under wp or pap town council? Nobody comprain to the town council building management team, straight go to post in FB? Haha, why ah?

Ah ok, the AHTC one is called Project Manager, dunno what pap wan is called. Is it boh cho kang, never do work?

Who is the one in charge? Quickly bao toh, post picture and name. LoL

This started as a complaint from an innocent resident. Over the weekend, suddenly see a deluge of social media posts from more innocent residents showcasing how white and clean their estates are.

My main gripe is - can they pay more and find a better script writer? 

Edited by Jellandross

A small city state divided into little plots. To a foreigner, anywhere is still Singapore. All HDB flats built by same organisation but manage by novice. All these are the work of politicians for personal gain at the expense of the people. People, wake up and vote wisely lah and stop complaining. 

29 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

A small city state divided into little plots. To a foreigner, anywhere is still Singapore. All HDB flats built by same organisation but manage by novice. All these are the work of politicians for personal gain at the expense of the people. People, wake up and vote wisely lah and stop complaining. 

Current complaint is in OPPO township