Raubern

there are many HDB flats along or near rivers or canals

but not all have such mouldy issue

so there should be another root cause... *cheap lousy paint?* 🙊

9 hours ago, Benarsenal said:

I find that the newer HDB flats, really can't compare to the older ones (90s and earlier). Very badly designed and built.

? Hdb flats are much more consistently built nowadays albeit smaller. 

Its just that people Last time don't expect as much, or don't have social media to complain. 

loll last time Genting's Amber Court was covered with red mould

until got so many stories about it being haunted 😂

the management did give the towers a new fresh coat of white paint recently

1857963356_ambercourt.jpg.c705ee5f511c349104890fd347cd3b09.jpg

5 minutes ago, Scion said:

there are many HDB flats along or near rivers or canals

but not all have such mouldy issue

so there should be another root cause... *cheap lousy paint?* 🙊

You can get such issues. But usually it's the high rainwater accumulation areas due to rainwater being channeled down the sides of the building. 

But yeah lah not to such a degree. 

My parents block directly face one of the largest canals in sg (sungei ulu pandan) also no issue. 

9 hours ago, Ender said:

Like some of those cheapo Genting hotel I stayed before.

Yalah macham turning into genting amber court, our famous spore gold standard everything well maintain reputation wlwlwlbbq 😁..

3 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

I think every 5 yrs need to repaint, 7yrs too long.

7 years according to the Building Maintenance and Strata Management (Lift, Escalator and Building Maintenance) Regulations 2016

Painting of external walls

3.—(1)  Every owner of any building, common property or limited common property must ensure that the external walls of the building, common property or limited common property, if painted, are painted —

(a)at intervals of not more than 7 years or such longer interval as the Commissioner, in any particular case, may determine; and

(b)to the satisfaction of the Commissioner.

The regulations is only applicable for external wall, more for aesthetic reason.

For interior wall, if the wall become mouldy, affecting the IAQ reading, it will have to be painted regardless of interval, as it is now a health and safety issue. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

? Hdb flats are much more consistently built nowadays albeit smaller. 

Its just that people Last time don't expect as much, or don't have social media to complain. 

and now no $500K no talk and expectation is to fetch $1M

so must look ghim ghim goot goot

but it's strange leh ... isn't HDB blocks "normally" get a fresh coat of paint every 5 years (u know)

If you look at the blocks, why some wall mouldy while others not? If it is purely paint issue, then all walls under the same environment should experience the same problem. 

From the pictures, it looks more like just the toilet external walls. To me it is more the waterproof for the wall problem. Then so e may ask why not all toilet walls? To all users splash against the side wall or usage is lower. My personal opinion only.

It is HDB duty to look into it. 

1 hour ago, Scion said:

Why didn't they painted it red...then could last very very long...😁

57 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

my area same thing but not oppo 🙈🙉🙊 

is the humidity lah 😝😝😝

Haha remind me of a friend he vote oppo hate ruling party so much but when theres gst rebate or chicken wing, he happily go accept

😆

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

You can get such issues. But usually it's the high rainwater accumulation areas due to rainwater being channeled down the sides of the building. 

But yeah lah not to such a degree. 

My parents block directly face one of the largest canals in sg (sungei ulu pandan) also no issue. 

Your parent's place is near but this is not exactly near (one whole freaking park in front of it), think it might be the paint.

image-2023-01-08-101236436.png

58 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

If you look at the blocks, why some wall mouldy while others not? If it is purely paint issue, then all walls under the same environment should experience the same problem. 

From the pictures, it looks more like just the toilet external walls. To me it is more the waterproof for the wall problem. Then so e may ask why not all toilet walls? To all users splash against the side wall or usage is lower. My personal opinion only.

It is HDB duty to look into it. 

Sounds like a possible cause, in addition block 338C which is furthest from the river is 1 of 2 blocks (the other is 338D) that is affected. 

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

and now no $500K no talk and expectation is to fetch $1M

so must look ghim ghim goot goot

but it's strange leh ... isn't HDB blocks "normally" get a fresh coat of paint every 5 years (u know)

7 years. More or less on the dot. 

I got my old place for 7 years 2 months from getting keys . It was repainted like within two months after I left. And to bright yellow... I already couldn't stand the original paint scheme but this one takes the cake. 

27 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Haha remind me of a friend he vote oppo hate ruling party so much but when theres gst rebate or chicken wing, he happily go accept

😆

actually the chix wing from nation budget not ruling party 🤐🤐🤐 

he did a good job 👍 

2 hours ago, Scion said:

Cheapo paint confirmed.