Education getting softer in Singapore and the GEP

Wind30

Change, is the only thing that doesn't change. If you don't or refuse to change, then change will change you. A fact that cannot change.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

3 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Change, is the only thing that doesn't change. If you don't or refuse to change, then change will change you. A fact that cannot change.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Phrased properly

”change IS the only CONSTANT”!! 😂😂

9 minutes ago, RadX said:

Phrased properly

”change IS the only CONSTANT”!! 😂😂

KNN, you know I no go to school what,  like that is the best I can do properly liao mah.  Mai CB hor. <_<[laugh]  [laugh]

42 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

KNN, you know I no go to school what,  like that is the best I can do properly liao mah.  Mai CB hor. <_<[laugh]  [laugh]

So…..

LEARN!😂😂

Hmm if the parents are not soft, the kid won't be soft one lah. Especially in the younger years.

My kid's composition for her end of year exam got something like 14/20. Which is subpar compared to her overall grade.
I looked at it, and i told her, your teacher is generous... I would have given you around 12/20 at most.
Went through it, tell her why she only got 12/20. what to improve etc.

After doing that, she got bit upset. Then my wife told me, so i go sayang her but told her, it's really not good. The only way is to improve it and rewrite it.  

Of course rewrite it, much better result. then praise her a bit, mark her higher mark lol 😄

Think median result is more beneficial to the teachers or school admin monitoring the class or cohort performance.

An individual should know whether he/she is under performing the class. Unless it's a scenario whereby the whole class is under performing the cohort, then the teacher in charge would already be aware. 

In this age of instant communication and social media like discord/IG etc, think no where to hide and 自欺 if the result is subpar. But of course parents may not have the full picture. 

22 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

I heard cases very good students also could not take it when their scores not top or below their own expectations and did the ultimate stupid thing. 

So better not stress our kids too much. Except for the ministars, top management not always were top students. It's a long marathon ahead for them. 

The only thing I find ridiculous is... the PSLE Assessment Level aka AL.

Education is not getting softer... not every parent can confidently do primary school maths... it's getting lost about what it's for.

Certificate not important but even Someone like Sim of Creative got looked down on cos not scholar. 

Our schools are best... yet foreign grads are better, more rounded.  

Every parent fear Student commit suicide... yet never see Nobel winners compared to "relax" countries. 

27 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Education is not getting softer... not every parent can confidently do primary school maths... it's getting lost about what it's for.

Certificate not important but even Someone like Sim of Creative got looked down on cos not scholar. 

Every parent fear Student commit suicide... yet never see Nobel winners compared to "relax" countries. 

That’s why we are losing our edge.

We have the best schools but not the best students.

In addition, we (society) are too skeptical about new things.

Without COVID, no adoption of e-wallet at hawker centres

7 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Paper qualifications don't correlate to success in careers.

Just learn to sar kah lah

image.thumb.png.02bfd07cbfd720ba55a1b92ac851392d.png

Agreed...sar kah course should be made an elective in skool...or even skillsfuture...😁

On 1/7/2023 at 8:17 PM, Wind30 said:

I just saw my daughter sec 2 report card and I find our education system getting quite ridiculous.

When I was in sec 2, my report card comes with the average, highest and even lowest score so you know where you stand. 835956891_IMG_7718Large.thumb.jpeg.72db39e5971fdb8b6572812e0f8446c4.jpeg

As you can see, different subjects has very different mean score. A score of 62 in literature is average but pretty bad for geography as exams are all different. I am surprised they even give the lowest score, just to rub it in on the poor kid I guess.

When my daughter was in sec 1 last year, the school only gave out the median score which is ok I guess. Although it is nice to have the highest for something to aim, I am ok with just the median so I know how my daughter is doing.

This year, they even removed the median score. how am I supposed to  know how my daughter is doing in her exams? 

I really think this "grades are useless" thing has gone waaaay too far. My son just completed Pri1 and 2 and I totally have no idea how he is doing in school because there is no exams.My daughter just finished sec2 and she have a bunch of grades but no median score so I have totally no idea how good/bad she is doing....

Are all schools like that? removing the median score so nobody has any benchmark?

Understand your pain but the highest earner (today) from my secondary school class was almost the worst student year after year during my time.

Life can be rather unpredictable so I guess seeing your kids grow up healthy is the greatest gift any parent can get 🙂

Maybe just keep a look out for any bad company along the way 🙂

giphy.gif?cid=6c09b952b3d8f609a01f1f1d05

When young need to work hard...old oredi lagi need to work hard if not harder...becos so hard to get up...including the rest of the body...grow old can go slow but don't go soft...i mean go soft on education...life long learning mah 😁

37 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Why feel so insecure. 

Life can only get more complex as generations pass. As long as your own kids' base is steady, just let things run their course lor. 

Depends on whether u want to nurture/"build" a f1 car or Toyota land cruiser or just even a Mitsubishi attrage. 

40 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

When young need to work hard...old oredi lagi need to work hard if not harder...becos so hard to get up...including the rest of the body...grow old can go slow but don't go soft...i mean go soft on education...life long learning mah 😁

image.thumb.png.f20fcb253c5abd1077776ab3d9f50cb7.png

I bot this bottle

image.thumb.png.7c1a7ab813f1e02b5a99b7aa89108b90.png

Edited by Jamesc

23 hours ago, Tianmo said:

I not "gifted" mah, and I simple mind do simple thing lor. 

But I always know that if I wanted an answer to something I don't know, ASK!

Ask and you shall get, is one of my motto. I don't need the gov to spoon  feed me everything, including some basic information and free healthy meals. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Ask and there’s a 50% chance you might get it.

Don’t ask is 0% chance.

😁

1 hour ago, mersaylee said:

Agreed...sar kah course should be made an elective in skool...or even skillsfuture...😁

Sar kah Already in the syllabus. 

They call it 😂 effective communication skills.

13 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Our education system now can produce tiktok siao lang too

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/19-year-old-student-broadcasts-heartbreak-and-single-status-board-mrt-train-none-it-true

Do they not know that the internet is forever and some HRs do social media check before hiring?

They don't care one.

They are unlikely to be the types to get office jobs. These are the types who will end up becoming 'influencer' (or rather, they call it now, 'content creator'), or failing which, do GrabFoodPanda.