Lala81 Hypersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 The scale of the logistics would be mind boggling. On a cruise ship, in the military, the people go to the food, and the demand is controlled. U have to eat on the cruise/in the camp. I can skip a meal. But certainly I'm only a few percent of the relatively inelastic demand. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 2 minutes ago, Beregond said: Like that alot of restaurant that sell expensive n unhealthy food might close down. Doctor will lose business😅 Less ppl will buy insurance Its usually the more health conscious people who spend more on preventive things. To the poor, insurance and health seeking behaviors are costly. 可以用钱解决的, 通常不是最关键的问题。 I would say incalcating good habits is the main difference between a healthier or less healthy individual. If it starts young, then u have more of a runway for it to pay off. Not that I eat healthily, but at least I know the need for balance in other areas. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 3 hours ago, Davidklt said: Singaporeans would complain that the government give them dog food. I know of those under welfare schemes that refused to eat the free food because they are “bland and tasteless”.The food is otherwise healthy. Aiya, usually the so called healthy foods, majority are 'bland and tasteless' and also looks like from hospital la. Most people tastebud is on heavy side, and like foods which have flavorful taste. Lol. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 If bo ho jiak, will be wasteful to our tax payer. Most people will not eat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 Location ?? need any table wipers ?? Logistics?? @Mustank 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 (edited) I dunno about you @Lala81 but hospital meals these days are more tasty than what my MIL serves up. @Jamesc might have something to add. I have to say what is proposed is actually rather noble because the poorer really can't afford to eat healthy - which leads to health issues that in turn taxes the healthcare system. The problem is when the sandwich class starts taking advantage of this and gaming the system - like something I recall fuzzily in the past when people rock up in Mercedes Benzes to collect free textbooks. They don't have a sense of shame because the sense of survival is probably too great to realize there's people worse off than them. Edited January 4, 2023 by Macrosszero 7 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 6 hours ago, Wind30 said: I have an idea. If the government decide to give out free food, simple fare no choice, maybe rice and 2 veg with a little meat but healthy, less oil less salt, how much does it cost? Assuming they can leverage on empty HDB spaces, can they do it ta $2 per meal? If they can, imagine they can do 1million meals a day, it is 0.73billion a year which is still far less than the 70 billion we spent just fighting covid and saving that few lives. Isn't the health benefits of 1million healthy meals a day far more than whatever we spent now on healthcare? Won't healthy diet reduce deaths by a lot? I think between 'cheap' and 'healthy' you need to decide which to prioritise more. Most of Singaporean's cheap food options are because they can be cooked in bulk, easy and convenient to sell. Veggies typically can't really cook and keep in large quantities because they will spoil quickly. If you want to have bulk meals of cai fan it will be pretty inconvenient to prepare actually. Not impossible, just very troublesome. Therefore hard to keep prices low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 4, 2023 Author Share January 4, 2023 5 hours ago, Macrosszero said: I dunno about you @Lala81 but hospital meals these days are more tasty than what my MIL serves up. @Jamesc might have something to add. I have to say what is proposed is actually rather noble because the poorer really can't afford to eat healthy - which leads to health issues that in turn taxes the healthcare system. The problem is when the sandwich class starts taking advantage of this and gaming the system - like something I recall fuzzily in the past when people rock up in Mercedes Benzes to collect free textbooks. They don't have a sense of shame because the sense of survival is probably too great to realize there's people worse off than them. The best thing is we don’t mind the sandwich class taking adv of this, assuming we keep the cost down and the food healthy. The health benefits of the sandwich class eating this meal is worth that $2 spent by the gov I feel. look at what our gov is doing which is the easy way out of giving vouchers. The people then use the voucher and maybe spend $5 (plus soft drink) on a coffee shop meal. Not only it’s unhealthy it’s double the cost. What if gov can provide a $2 meal with plain water? U don’t have to do means testing, easy to implement. people say nobody want to eat, some say too many people want to eat. It does not matter, just start small and scale with the demand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 4, 2023 Author Share January 4, 2023 (edited) 3 hours ago, Benarsenal said: I think between 'cheap' and 'healthy' you need to decide which to prioritise more. Most of Singaporean's cheap food options are because they can be cooked in bulk, easy and convenient to sell. Veggies typically can't really cook and keep in large quantities because they will spoil quickly. If you want to have bulk meals of cai fan it will be pretty inconvenient to prepare actually. Not impossible, just very troublesome. Therefore hard to keep prices low. That’s when the economies of scale come in. My idea is very limited choice and I am pretty sure with research the most cost effective meal can be found. Just a 1-2 different meal everyday and rotate throughout the week. Plus I think gov can leverage on currently empty spaces so they have free rent. Edited January 4, 2023 by Wind30 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 There is the organization called willing hearts at telok kurau that distributes free food to the needy. Maybe TS should go volunteer there and get a better feel of the ground. they always need help. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 4, 2023 Author Share January 4, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mkl22 said: There is the organization called willing hearts at telok kurau that distributes free food to the needy. Maybe TS should go volunteer there and get a better feel of the ground. they always need help. ok this brings up another topic... all these "charity" organisations. Do you know who is the CEO of willing hearts? How much is her pay? I think it all started with NKF and TT dural. The public does not understand that CEOs needs to be paid well even for non-profit organisation so the gov way of doing things seems to be outsourcing such work. Gov just give tons of money out and "audit" those private charities. If they pay their CEO lots of money, hey not gov problem. If they illegally take away some money, not gov problem. It is the SAFE no risk way of helping people. This is something I have noticed of all gov decisions recently. Almost all decisions are chosen based on the path of the least risk. Like vaccine side effects, we are the only country in the world that advise people to stop exercising for 2 weeks after taking the vaccine... Are Singaporeans weaker? what is the health trade off for stopping exercise for 2 whole weeks? Gov don't care, they just want to cover their backside. People won't drop dead from 2 weeks of inactivity... To me, there are certain initiatives that is better done by Gov. 1) they can control the quality better 2) economies of scale 3) they have access to resources like space and thus much more efficient than private people. Edited January 4, 2023 by Wind30 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic January 4, 2023 Share January 4, 2023 Ask the question on this thread and gauge the response: ❤️ Living with covid - What Did You Makan Today? ❤️ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 9 hours ago, Macrosszero said: I dunno about you @Lala81 but hospital meals these days are more tasty than what my MIL serves up. @Jamesc might have something to add. I do agree with you. Have tasted some meals of TTSH and SGH in recent years. Overall, I think they are quite tasty. I will actually eat it but the portion is really small. And I would not take some of the food provided like the jelly desserts (which I understand that these might be the only calories patients are willing to consume). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 Giving voucher is not just to feed the poor but to stimulate the economy, to keep the small businesses like hawkers, going in tough times. The best way of course is for those vouchers to be distributed to those who really need them but I guess they did consider the discontent from those who are KS and don't receive it. Those households who are able to survive and have a big heart can donate these vouchers. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 9 hours ago, Macrosszero said: I dunno about you @Lala81 but hospital meals these days are more tasty than what my MIL serves up. @Jamesc might have something to add. I have to say what is proposed is actually rather noble because the poorer really can't afford to eat healthy - which leads to health issues that in turn taxes the healthcare system. The problem is when the sandwich class starts taking advantage of this and gaming the system - like something I recall fuzzily in the past when people rock up in Mercedes Benzes to collect free textbooks. They don't have a sense of shame because the sense of survival is probably too great to realize there's people worse off than them. I agreed with lala. I opted for bread and mlio only for all meals during my one night two day stays at sgh couple of year ago. 😁 Lost a kg of weight upon discharge. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 8 minutes ago, Kopites said: I agreed with lala. I opted for bread and mlio only for all meals during my one night two day stays at sgh couple of year ago. 😁 Lost a kg of weight upon discharge. so bad? I visited my MIL who was hospitalised there and I ate all her lunch and maybe another couple of meals except for the dessert. Quite ok tasting. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged January 5, 2023 Share January 5, 2023 Say is always easy, do then is difficult. Spoon-feeding has its pitfalls. U give free food, people will start questioning the taste, the quality of food. Like many said, hiam this and that. Why so tasteless, why govt so cheapo one. Aiya should just give us food vouchers ma. Or worse, eat this food always give me headaches, stomachache, maybe even cancer. That's not even including the loss to some businesses like many have said. U make some happy, u make others unhappy. Some mentioned about food wastage, which is very likely to happen. Plus the containers wastage, either in form of plastic or paper, unless everyone brings their own containers. On top of that, there are logistical costs too. What u give, u can't take away too. If one day, the govt takes it away due to severe deficits, will there be unhappiness? Free is not always good and good is usually not free. In your suggestion, the cons do outweigh the pros.. I've done a little share to help out at these food donation drives too and sometimes, what u see will touch your heart. There are Singaporeans who really need our help. E.g. Single mothers who have babies that are scrawny that you heart will ache for them. They need more than just a few free meals a day. I rather more money be channeled to help those who really need it. your post does reflect that u do have to go and help out, as many have suggested here. Don't fall under the trap of the very people you are critical of, directing from their ivory towers. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 5, 2023 Author Share January 5, 2023 29 minutes ago, Invigorated said: Say is always easy, do then is difficult. Spoon-feeding has its pitfalls. U give free food, people will start questioning the taste, the quality of food. Like many said, hiam this and that. Why so tasteless, why govt so cheapo one. Aiya should just give us food vouchers ma. Or worse, eat this food always give me headaches, stomachache, maybe even cancer. That's not even including the loss to some businesses like many have said. U make some happy, u make others unhappy. Some mentioned about food wastage, which is very likely to happen. Plus the containers wastage, either in form of plastic or paper, unless everyone brings their own containers. On top of that, there are logistical costs too. What u give, u can't take away too. If one day, the govt takes it away due to severe deficits, will there be unhappiness? Free is not always good and good is usually not free. In your suggestion, the cons do outweigh the pros.. I've done a little share to help out at these food donation drives too and sometimes, what u see will touch your heart. There are Singaporeans who really need our help. E.g. Single mothers who have babies that are scrawny that you heart will ache for them. They need more than just a few free meals a day. I rather more money be channeled to help those who really need it. your post does reflect that u do have to go and help out, as many have suggested here. Don't fall under the trap of the very people you are critical of, directing from their ivory towers. My thinking is dine in. So no food wastage. I don’t like the delivery kind where you just deliver and don’t know whether the food is consumed. Looks good for publicity it is totally voluntary. U dun like, dun eat, what is there to complain? motivation is more for healthy lifestyle vs helping the poor. Idea is reduce the barrier of eating heathily ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...