The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market III

On 2/13/2025 at 10:53 AM, Enye said:

Me no sifu

but I waiting for the results release… hopefully positive for the share price and see if will declare any dividend soon

😬😅

Looking at how much it has ran up in recent days, market is probably expecting a good set of numbers. 

On 2/13/2025 at 4:31 PM, Voodooman said:

Looking at how much it has ran up in recent days, market is probably expecting a good set of numbers. 

Boss you huat liao …

ran up more than a dollar on your 100 lots 

😮💪

Edited by Enye

On 2/13/2025 at 7:07 PM, Enye said:

Boss you huat liao …

ran up more than a dollar on your 100 lots 

😮💪

I don't have $700k hiding under the pillow bro.😀

$600K is peanut

$700K is pillow

either peanut or pillow ... huat huat huat !

2025-02-14_103448.jpg

hstech ... deeprise .... deeprise ... deeprise !!!

On 2/14/2025 at 11:01 AM, Wt_know said:

Hopefully i make back U$35k on this.  Just nice year end holiday covered song song

huat ah!  Hahh

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/14/2025 at 10:35 AM, Wt_know said:

$600K is peanut

$700K is pillow

either peanut or pillow ... huat huat huat !

2025-02-14_103448.jpg

Dont worry, most people got many peanuts and pillows.  Not just a peanut or a pillow

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/14/2025 at 11:01 AM, Wt_know said:

One of my China bank counters quite near to historical high, maybe I should sell some soon take profit....

On 2/14/2025 at 1:29 PM, Volvobrick said:

One of my China bank counters quite near to historical high, maybe I should sell some soon take profit....

Yeah why not? Take some profits. 

On 2/17/2025 at 4:07 PM, Sdf4786k said:

anyone going in for aliBaba?

Ship sailed liao leh.... Up so much already. 

no ship no scare ...

spore darling is here ... lai lai lai

no $50 no talk 

:grin:

2025-02-17_170315.jpg

I am poised to pick up some more nice interest bearing or dividend paying assets over the next few weeks. 

With DOGE and Tariffs, US is now going to experience a natural state of deflation.   
The axing of billions of dollars in funding and the tens or hundreds of thousands of govt employees getting cut by the day will bring about significant reduced spending and curb the multiplier effect of money rotating in the economy.

Effective Rates will not be able to stay too high with this drastic move although it may take quite some months for the true effect to hit the streets.

This is sheer brilliance.  
Instead of a crisis which some people are worried about,  Get ready for a bull run especially in the Tech space and fixed income instruments. 

good luck and huat to the Bros here.  

@Throttle2 Let's wait for Trump's tariffs to be fully rolled out, which may impact most countries, as he intends to impose tariffs even on those having a VAT system. If so, this will offset any deflationary impact from laid off Federal workers. Inflation may remain at current levels for some time.

On 2/18/2025 at 9:07 AM, Nav14 said:

@Throttle2 Let's wait for Trump's tariffs to be fully rolled out, which may impact most countries, as he intends to impose tariffs even on those having a VAT system. If so, this will offset any deflationary impact from laid off Federal workers. Inflation may remain at current levels for some time.

Thats not new news.
when the tariffs come in , will consumers buy more?   No

so while it may seem inflationary upfront becos of price increase, the real longer term effect is the opposite. 

Thanks, i am moving ahead.

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/18/2025 at 9:44 AM, Throttle2 said:

Thats not new news.
when the tariffs come in , will consumers buy more?   No

so while it may seem inflationary upfront becos of price increase, the real longer term effect is the opposite. 

Thanks, i am moving ahead.

That means domestic spending will be curtailed, how is it good for the general US economy?

Agree it will be good for US Fixed Income (if locked in at current level for long dated papers) but not too sure about US equities.  Care to share your thoughts?

On 2/18/2025 at 10:36 AM, Voodooman said:

That means domestic spending will be curtailed, how is it good for the general US economy?

Agree it will be good for US Fixed Income (if locked in at current level for long dated papers) but not too sure about US equities.  Care to share your thoughts?

Curtailed domestic spending is what they need right now to put out the inflationary fire.  When that is curbed, a better balance can be achieved.
and a good economy is all about BALANCE.  

ie rates not so high not so low, inflation no so high, not so low. Everything not so high no so low. Balanced is best.

In SG, becos we are so small, it’s easily “directed” 😀

I always tell people, Investing isnt about the real state of the economy, its simply about the probability in which Markets stand or believe.  
although therein lies a strong link between the two, of course, and we know that

But making money from the markets aka investing, will always be more a behavioural science to me.  
whoever is ahead of that behaviour with good timing or even better leads the behaviour, wins.

Good luck, huat to all active in this thread….